Lian Li TYR PC-X500 Chassis

External Impressions

External Impressions
 
So now we get to the nitty gritty of this review, the chassis itself. Simply put, the chassis oozes style. Every inch of the X500 is anodised black and it looks great. Clean, simplistic styling is what the chassis is all about. Everything on the case has a function, and nothing is added just to try and add some bling, apart from a silver line down the front panel, which leads neatly to the silver Lian Li logo. Some may find the style of the chassis to be plain or even boring, but this chassis is able to blend into most settings without standing out like a sore thumb. Looking at the chassis, and its finish, you just know it's going to be a pleasure to work on.
 
X500 - Front Side View X500 - Front View
 
X500 - Side View X500 - Rear View
 
As you can see from the photos, the 2x 5.25" and 1x 3.25" drive bays are side mounted and you can mount the drives either to the left or the right as the panels are identical on either side. The side of the chassis also features an air intake grille which runs nearly the length of the chassis. These grilles feed the two 120mm fans underneath the front panel. Considering the side panels are all one piece of aluminium, the finish on them is outstanding. Around the drive bays shows only the smallest of gaps, and the cuts are a great example of precision engineering. 
 
X500 - Top Panel X500 - Top Panel (Close up)
 
The top panel is just as well finished, with two simple black switches for the reset and power, which tie in with the theme of the case nicely. The peripheral slots are hidden by a lift up cover which is also in keeping with the case styling. There are four USB, one Firewire, and one E-SATA slots, plus the usual audio in/out 3.5mm jacks under the cover.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-10-2008, 05:01:53

TopSecret
We have reviewed the Lian Li TYR PC-X500, the X2000's little brother. Does it offer the same sublime styling and features?


Read the review to find out

14-10-2008, 05:11:53

JN
That case looks simply gorgeous. Call me old fashioned though, but I'd rather have the DVD drives coming out the front.

Great review fella

14-10-2008, 05:22:38

TopSecret
Thanks mate, it does take some getting used to having to go round the side for the DVD's, keep going for the front without thinking

14-10-2008, 06:17:41

Bubba
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba

14-10-2008, 06:41:58

TopSecret
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bubba'
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba
Thanks

I am sorely tempted to try and get a 240mm rad in on a CPU only loop I recks it would go in the somewhere.

14-10-2008, 06:47:44

Bubba
Probably in the front.. What I was contemplating though were 4x120mm radiators, though I weren't entirely sure where to place the pump and reservoir.. With some serious graphics solutions like sli, trisli or quadsli, there's simply no room unless you ditch all harddrive cages and cdr's.. which you can if you use SSD disks and external CD-rom... but if it's worth it.... Then I rather go with some generic box like PC70A.. which is like the coolermaster stacker, just an empty box with loads of 5.25" drivebays and nothing fancy.

-Bubba

28-01-2010, 14:36:23

shas
if i had that case i would cut away that 3.5" drive bay and replace it with a 5.25" that 3.5" just ruins the look of the side

25-02-2010, 10:12:51

alanclanmurray
After reading your comments on liamli x500 case , I do agree , this is a great piece of engineering -----------BUT could someone please advise me , I only have one light showing on front (on/off) I have tried every thing , even getting a new Q connector , could the bulb have gone ? if so where can I get replacement.

Wrote to LamLi but no reply (have had this case about 3months)

Would also like to know how to connect three way fan controller switch ?

many thanks

alan

25-02-2010, 17:06:11

pazman4
Wow-that looks tastey, couldnt bring myself to spend this much on a case tho :s great review

26-02-2010, 07:46:16

w3bbo
This or the x2000 will be my next case tbh.

Great review as always m8.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.