Lian Li TYR PC-X500 Chassis

Packaging & Contents

Packaging
 
The X500 comes in a sturdy box with the front and back emblazoned with photos of the X500 in all its glory. There are little insets with photos of all the chassis' features with a little text explaining them. On the sides of the box, you get a glimpse of the innards of the chassis with some more text.
 
X500 Packaging box front X500 Packaging box side
 
All the information printed on the box is clear and concise and the packaging is strong enough to ensure the case doesn't get damaged in transit. So far so good then, so let's take a look at the contents within the box.
 
 
Contents
 
The chassis is well packed within the box, and placed in a plastic bag. Lian Li have used two foam inserts within the box, to keep the chassis from moving around. All the usual screws and accessories are located in a cardboard box, which is tie wrapped into the chassis to ensure it doesn't get bounced about. Within this box you will find:
 
A buzzer with motherboard header
12x Motherboard stand-offs, 30x screws and a screw driver
2x Clamps& 3x Cable ties for cable management 
18x Thumb screws and rubber washers for HDD's , 6x PSU & 8x CD fixing screws 
8x Spare thumb screws  
2x SATA cables
A plastic box for keeping spare screws etc.  
 
X500 Accessories  
 
There was also an installation pamphlet with easy to follow instructions, and decent enough diagrams. All in all, there were no nasty surprises with the packaging and it was more than adequate for the job in hand. There are plenty of screws etc. with which to use in your build and the provision of anodised black thumbscrews ensures that the style of the chassis is carried throughout.
 
Next, we move onto the chassis itself. Let's now take a look at the externals of the chassis.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-10-2008, 05:01:53

TopSecret
We have reviewed the Lian Li TYR PC-X500, the X2000's little brother. Does it offer the same sublime styling and features?


Read the review to find out

14-10-2008, 05:11:53

JN
That case looks simply gorgeous. Call me old fashioned though, but I'd rather have the DVD drives coming out the front.

Great review fella

14-10-2008, 05:22:38

TopSecret
Thanks mate, it does take some getting used to having to go round the side for the DVD's, keep going for the front without thinking

14-10-2008, 06:17:41

Bubba
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba

14-10-2008, 06:41:58

TopSecret
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bubba'
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba
Thanks

I am sorely tempted to try and get a 240mm rad in on a CPU only loop I recks it would go in the somewhere.

14-10-2008, 06:47:44

Bubba
Probably in the front.. What I was contemplating though were 4x120mm radiators, though I weren't entirely sure where to place the pump and reservoir.. With some serious graphics solutions like sli, trisli or quadsli, there's simply no room unless you ditch all harddrive cages and cdr's.. which you can if you use SSD disks and external CD-rom... but if it's worth it.... Then I rather go with some generic box like PC70A.. which is like the coolermaster stacker, just an empty box with loads of 5.25" drivebays and nothing fancy.

-Bubba

28-01-2010, 14:36:23

shas
if i had that case i would cut away that 3.5" drive bay and replace it with a 5.25" that 3.5" just ruins the look of the side

25-02-2010, 10:12:51

alanclanmurray
After reading your comments on liamli x500 case , I do agree , this is a great piece of engineering -----------BUT could someone please advise me , I only have one light showing on front (on/off) I have tried every thing , even getting a new Q connector , could the bulb have gone ? if so where can I get replacement.

Wrote to LamLi but no reply (have had this case about 3months)

Would also like to know how to connect three way fan controller switch ?

many thanks

alan

25-02-2010, 17:06:11

pazman4
Wow-that looks tastey, couldnt bring myself to spend this much on a case tho :s great review

26-02-2010, 07:46:16

w3bbo
This or the x2000 will be my next case tbh.

Great review as always m8.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.