Lian Li TYR PC-X500 Chassis

Introduction

Lian Li TYR PC-X500 ReviewIntroduction
 
Founded in 1983, Lian Li Industrial Co.Ltd. have gained an excellent reputation for the build quality, engineering and styling of their products. Stylish, outwardly simplistic designs and great functionality have made the Lian Li chassis a favourite with PC modders. You may have heard of the TYR PC-X2000, which is a behemoth of a chassis. The X2000 has a little brother, the TYR PC-X500, and it is this chassis that we shall be reviewing today. Lian Li have classed the chassis as a Super Mid Tower, and it's aimed at the gaming/HTPC PC builder. Our friends over at A-One Distribution have kindly supplied us with a review sample. 
 
So let's see what Lian Li have to say about the X500:
 
"In 2008, the new TYR series, with new style, new structure, and better quality! The whole internal has been anodized in black. There are also protection kit to protect user’s hand and cables. When come to users’ safety, all the detail counts.
 
The new TYR series, PC-X500 is the case which functionality and style converge. Open the side panel with the tool-less latch, the removable HDD cages, 2 x120mm silent intake fans with filter, 2 x 120mm silent exhaust fans, and top mounted multi-media I/O ports have been redesigned – because when it comes to your comfort, every detail counts."

Here are the X500's specifications from the Lian Li website:
 
Model: TYR PC-X500
Case Type: Super Mid Tower Case
Dimensions: 230 x 380 x 585 mm ( W, D, H)
Front bezel Material: Aluminum
Color: Black
Side Panel: Aluminum + Sound Insulation Material
Body Material: Aluminum
5.25" drive bay (Ext): 2
3.5" drive bay (Ext): 1
3.5" drive bay (Int): 4
Expansion Slot: 7
Motherboard: M-ATX, ATX
System Fan (Front): 2 x 120mm Fan ( 1020-1200-1500RPM, Factory set to mid speed)
System Fan (Rear): 2 x 120mm Fan ( 1020-1200-1500RPM, Factory set to mid speed)
I/O Ports: USB2.0 x 4, IEEE1394 x 1, E-SATA x1, HD+AC97 Audio
 
The X500 chassis features two separate thermal zones, with the first being the area where the drive bays and PSU are located. The second is where the motherboard and main components are housed. As with the X500's big brother, the 5.25" drive bays are side mounted, and we will discuss this further later on in the review. There are some unique touches to this case but are they enough to earn Lian Li's claimed title of 'The Ultimate Gaming/HTPC chassis? We shall see.
 
So without further ado, let's take a look at the packaging and contents on the next page.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-10-2008, 05:01:53

TopSecret
We have reviewed the Lian Li TYR PC-X500, the X2000's little brother. Does it offer the same sublime styling and features?


Read the review to find out

14-10-2008, 05:11:53

JN
That case looks simply gorgeous. Call me old fashioned though, but I'd rather have the DVD drives coming out the front.

Great review fella

14-10-2008, 05:22:38

TopSecret
Thanks mate, it does take some getting used to having to go round the side for the DVD's, keep going for the front without thinking

14-10-2008, 06:17:41

Bubba
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba

14-10-2008, 06:41:58

TopSecret
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bubba'
The Tyr cases, eventhough "fitted" for watercooling, is better suited for regular cooling (fans) than water. If you do want water theres allmost no room inside for pumps, radiators, reservoirs. Though, you don't have to cut holes for hoses if you've got an external kit anyway .

But I never buy anything but LianLi anymore.... All aluminium cases are easier to cut/modify and extremely lightweight.

Very good and balanced review btw.

-Bubba
Thanks

I am sorely tempted to try and get a 240mm rad in on a CPU only loop I recks it would go in the somewhere.

14-10-2008, 06:47:44

Bubba
Probably in the front.. What I was contemplating though were 4x120mm radiators, though I weren't entirely sure where to place the pump and reservoir.. With some serious graphics solutions like sli, trisli or quadsli, there's simply no room unless you ditch all harddrive cages and cdr's.. which you can if you use SSD disks and external CD-rom... but if it's worth it.... Then I rather go with some generic box like PC70A.. which is like the coolermaster stacker, just an empty box with loads of 5.25" drivebays and nothing fancy.

-Bubba

28-01-2010, 14:36:23

shas
if i had that case i would cut away that 3.5" drive bay and replace it with a 5.25" that 3.5" just ruins the look of the side

25-02-2010, 10:12:51

alanclanmurray
After reading your comments on liamli x500 case , I do agree , this is a great piece of engineering -----------BUT could someone please advise me , I only have one light showing on front (on/off) I have tried every thing , even getting a new Q connector , could the bulb have gone ? if so where can I get replacement.

Wrote to LamLi but no reply (have had this case about 3months)

Would also like to know how to connect three way fan controller switch ?

many thanks

alan

25-02-2010, 17:06:11

pazman4
Wow-that looks tastey, couldnt bring myself to spend this much on a case tho :s great review

26-02-2010, 07:46:16

w3bbo
This or the x2000 will be my next case tbh.

Great review as always m8.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.