Lian Li TYR PC-X2000 Chassis

Conclusion

Final Conclusion

The X2000 is certainly a beast of a case. It commands attention and oozes simplistic style. When I look at the X2000, it reminds me of an Italian supercar, with it's sleek lines and the attention to small details that Lian Li have made. Having said that though, just like an Italian supercar, not everything is perfect.

The Gripes

When I was building the rig up for testing, I found that the options for cable management were very limited within the case. I also found the cables they used for the I/O panel on the top of the case to be quite ugly - a much better alternative would have been for Lian Li to use black or braided cable, so it would be more in keeping with the overall styling of the case. Whilst this is a fairly minor niggle, I was more concerned with the available options with the cable management.

I like to spend time getting all cables organised and tidy...not only does it look better but it improves airflow through the case. Although Lian Li provided a couple of tie wraps and clips, there just wasn't anywhere where you could route most of the cables out of view, except for the SATA data and power cables, as they can be very easily hidden behind the SATA cages. Whilst you can get a tidy finish, you cannot avoid most cables being bunched up in view. I do feel however that I could have achieved a tidier finish than I did if I had more time to devote to the task.

 

X2000 Cables X2000 Rear with system built

One other thing worth mentioning is the placement of the I/O panel and power/reset switches. As they are located on the top of the case, you are limited to where you can place the case and under the desk is certainly not an option. I am sure Lian Li could have placed the panel and switches on either case side, which would have still left a clean look on the front panel.

The Good

Now let's talk about why I fell in love with this case! As mentioned previously, the styling is nothing short of superb. The build quality is also of the Lian Li usual standard, which is outstanding. When building the system, I was impressed with just how easy it was. The hard drive cages work brilliantly and save alot of hassle. The removable motherboard tray makes fitting the motherboard a piece of cake, and the PSU fitting was equally as simple. Even though the cable management options are limited, Lian Li have provided the relevant cut-outs and placed a rigid plastic grommet on these holes to save your fingers from cuts and scrapes.

Lian Li provided four 140mm and two 80mm fans as their cooling solution, and they are quite effective at keeping temperatures down. There was a noticeable difference in temperatures when using the different fan speed selections, with CPU temperatures varying as much as six degrees celsius from low to high speed settings. The fan controller is a welcome addition, but as with the top I/O panel and switches, Lian Li could have placed it better on the case. The massive dust filter works very well and is also a welcome addition. Within a couple of days usage, there was a visible layer of dust on the filter's nylon mesh so I know it works well. There should be space available to include an internal watercooling loop within the X2000 and if I had more time I would have investigated this further.

All in all, I feel that the minor niggles are far outweighed by the good points with this case. Lian Li have succeeded in making an attractive case with some really great features. Although the style, price and size of this case means that not everyone will appreciate it, you simply cannot dispute the quality which shines through. If you are looking for a case which is something out of the ordinary, want excellent quality and you don't mind paying a premium for this, then the X2000 is a very worthy consideration.  The recommended retail price for the  the X2000 is £305.

The Good

+ Excellent build quality

+ Hot swappable hard drive bays

+ Attention to detail and finish

+ Stylish design

+ Easy to build PC inside

+ Good airflow with supplied fans

+ Dust filter

+ Weight

+ Anodised internally and externally

The Mediocre

* Cable Routing

* I/O & Switch placement

* Price limits the appeal

The Bad

- Internal cables don't tie in with overall style

- Fan controller placement

 

OC3D Recommended Award OC3D Innovation Award 

 

Our thanks to A One Distribution and Lian Li for providing us with this case for review.

 

Discuss this review in our forum

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-09-2008, 07:40:21

TopSecret
With sublime styling and some welcome features, the X2000 is the latest offering from Lian Li. Is it up to their usual standards?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...135622773s.jpg

Find out in our in-depth review.

23-09-2008, 07:54:51

Rastalovich
That just wreaks class tbh.

I think the minor niggles are perhaps something that can be overcome - but I do hear that for 305 u really shouldn`t have to, or there should be options included in the kit to assist u.

Ur damn lucky to get ur mits on that, it looks a pleasure to build in and work in.

The only thing I really don`t like are/is the i/o on/off section. The rest of the case features can be forgiven with the style and such, placing the things on the top is perhaps weird. However, I don`t think it`s designed to go under a desk, more to stand on it`s own in a room as a feature. A piece of furniture to comment upon. I`d imagine with it stood on the floor, the buttons/ports are very accessible.

Very nice review, I`d get them, not for the price they are atm tho.

23-09-2008, 08:06:31

Diablo
Looks brilliant, oozes style and great review. However, I have concerns about the lack of 5.25 bays. I personally have a dvd burner, blu-ray burner, fan controller (I know this isn't such an issue with this case), floppy disc drive, pico itx pc and a draw full of screws and bits.

Even if I got rid of the bay full of stuff and the fan controller, I'm still one bay over the limit. If I was going to spend 305 on a case, I would expect enough room to stick in more optical drives. What if you were to buy a 5.25 res?

Other than that though it looks great, but I can't help feeling that its targeted markets such as HTCP (too big) or performance (not enough expansion) have been missed.

23-09-2008, 10:15:09

Rastalovich
Do u think that if u can lash out 300+ on a case, u`d be able to buy a BR/DVD/RW single unit ?

23-09-2008, 10:27:53

Diablo
Granted you could (I have), but what if you like to be able to do direct read/writes from one disc to another.

My only point is that if I spent 300+ on a case, I'd want it as close to perfect as possible and having to make do with only 2 5.25" bays and a 3.5" isn't my cuppa. Perhaps they could have got rid of the 3.5 external for a third 5.25" (I seem to be the only person who still needs an fdd)

24-09-2008, 04:35:45

Socks
Morning guys, I love the look of this case but theres just too many things wrong with it.

A: They should have used black pcb boards for the sata section

B: Used black internal cables for the usb etc

C: Fan controller is in a completely ridiculous place, do something mad, touch screen it and make it flat with the case.

D: The price!!!!!!! DAMN!!! could go on holiday for that.

Nice case, not enough features for what they are asking rrp.

And im with you on that drive bay res, what if you do buy one (which most people do) then your screwed for placement of another bay. ( I only have 1 dvd drive and a fan controller and the fan controller is only there as I lost a bezel, ROFL)

But I do like the case, espcially the way they have coloured the inside which is one thing I think all companys should do.

24-09-2008, 05:04:30

Diablo
I wish I had hot swap bays, they do look like a great idea, only thing is you need to take the side panel off, it would have been better to stick holes in the side so you could connect or reconnect. Agree on the black PCB...that would look great.

24-09-2008, 05:23:57

BloomerzUK
Nice review.

Typo on last paragraph on last page: Lain Li

24-09-2008, 05:24:18

ionicle
gorgeous looking case

amazingly designed

reeks quality as the rest of ya have said

very good review, very thorough

shame bout the price

24-09-2008, 05:27:49

Diablo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BloomerzUK'
Nice review.

Typo on last paragraph on last page: Lain Li
Maybe we'll start seeing Lain Li cases, from the guys that brought you Ronex watches

24-09-2008, 06:54:03

TopSecret
Corrected the typo, thanks

When I reviewed the case, I was concerned about the lack of drive bays, but unless Lian Li (got it right this time) had made the case taller or wider then they would be struggling to get any in. I think Lian Li have used every bit of available space they could in the design. Also as this is partly being touted as a HTPC, there isn't really a great call for massive amounts of 5.25" drive bays. I have the Antec Fusion HTPC case and that has just one 5.25" drive bay and it works brilliantly. I do agree that Lian Li could have done some things differently and the scores given do reflect this.

I have been using the rig built up since Saturday now, and I am still loving using the case, flaws and all. I tried the rig in my lounge last night and it looks superb stood next to my LCD TV. I had a spare TV card and got it running under Vista Media Centre. As my LCD is black with a small silver bezel, the case tied in and looked really cool. Even the missus agreed, which is no small feat

24-09-2008, 07:17:39

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='stuartpb'
I tried the rig in my lounge last night and it looks superb stood next to my LCD TV.
That`s the purpose I think judging by the design. Not necessarily a work-horse pc or anything. Sure u could serve off it, arrange masses of storage. Then network off of it all over ur complex.

24-09-2008, 07:42:29

Diablo
Is it big enough for an Eatx board? If it is, then it would be pretty good for a server. But as a HTCP case, looking around, although it isn't small form factor, it seems to be the price a lot of other high end HTCP cases go for. If you could stealth it a bit (Maybe hide it behind a big speaker etc.) it would very good.

24-09-2008, 07:59:10

Rastalovich
Sure I`ve seen a pic on the LL site, on actually on that embedded video, with an eatx in it.

24-09-2008, 08:03:47

Diablo
On that basis, it would be a good choice for a water cooled server, quiet, not too big (compared with rack mount or blade) and really good quality. Plus the minor niggles wouldn't affect it.

24-09-2008, 08:09:14

TopSecret
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Diablo'
Is it big enough for an Eatx board? If it is, then it would be pretty good for a server. But as a HTCP case, looking around, although it isn't small form factor, it seems to be the price a lot of other high end HTCP cases go for. If you could stealth it a bit (Maybe hide it behind a big speaker etc.) it would very good.
Why would you want to stealth it? Part of the appeal is in it's styling. If you have a big enough LCD screen and matching AV equipment, then it looks the mutts nutts

24-09-2008, 08:11:45

Diablo
Sorry, I was thinking in terms of my setup, with all of the AV boxes in a neat pile on shelves, which wouldn't really fit this box. Then again that room has the last of the CRTs in the house, so with a huge TV it could look really stylish.

25-09-2008, 10:37:52

Mr. Smith
Gorgeous case, I'd rather have the X500, that is more my size... Nice review.

17-10-2008, 06:59:23

Lynx
Err.

That thing is HUGE.

As they have made all these different compartments, there's no where to hide most of the mobo's cabling!

Bad design, they should have though it though.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.