Lian Li TYR PC-X2000 Chassis

Internal Impressions - A Closer Look

Internal Impressions - A closer look

SATA Hard Drive Hot Swap Bays

The X2000 features six hard drive bays, with two three bay hot swap boards. The boards take care of your drives SATA and power connections, and you connect the cables from the motherboard and PSU to the rear of the boards. A welcome bonus to this setup is the fact that you can power three drives from just the one molex connector on the board. Access to the rear of the boards is gained from the right hand side of the case, when the side panel is removed. Fixing the drives in the bay is achieved by attaching the supplied handles to the drive and then slotting it into an empty bay - all you then do to lock it is push down two clips. This system works brilliantly. Not only does it allow you to swap out hard drives quickly and painlessly, it provides an easy way to keep drive cables in check.

 

X2000 SATA Hot Swap Drive Cages X2000 Rear of SATA BoardX2000 Hard Drive fitted with rail X2000 Hard drive fitted in place

 

Cooling

The X2000 comes equipped with three 140mm fans to the front, and one 140mm to the rear. In addition to this, there are two 80mm fans at the rear. The three front fans act as air intake's, and blow air into the main chamber and the hard drive compartment. The 140mm fan at the rear is positioned in line with the CPU and acts as an exhaust for the hot air. The two 80mm fans are positioned in line with the drive bay and exhaust hot air from there. All fans are fitted with grilles and this gives the case a finished feel. In addition to the fitted fans, the PSU bay has a slotted floor, which will allow hot air created in the main chamber to be exhausted through the PSU fans. We will discuss how effective this cooling setup is in our testing results page.

 

X2000 Front 1400mm Fans X2000 Rear Fans

 
Optical/ Floppy Drive Bays
 
As already mentioned, the optical and floppy drive bays are placed in the top of the case, but are orientated so that the drives are sideways on. There are two 5.25"  and one 3.5" bay. The drive fronts can be facing either left or right due to the side panel cut-outs and the bay's design. Fitting the drives is a simple affair and Lian Li have provided screws which allow you to just slot the drives in. If you are using an IDE optical drive, fitting could prove a little harder than a SATA drive, due to the cable being larger and having to pass it through a hole in the 3.5" bay floor.  We would have liked to have seen Lian Li provide the Aluminium drive bezels with the case, so the drives can be stealthed, but they are available to purchase as an optional extra. Considering the cost of this case though, it would have been prudent to provide them as standard.
 
 
 X2000 Optical/Floppy Drive Bays X2000 Drive Bay With Bezels Removed
 X2000 DVD Screws Fitted X2000 DVD Fitted
 
 
PSU Bay
 
The PSU is housed next to the optical drive bays and it sits on two rubber strips that are stuck to the bay floor. The floor has a grille cut into it so hot air can be exhausted from the main compartment through the PSU fans. Fitting the PSU is quick and easy. The PSU cables are then passed through a pre-cut hole into the main chamber.
 
 
X2000 PSU Bay X2000 PSU Fitted
 
 
Next we will discuss testing the X2000 for noise output and cooling ability.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-09-2008, 07:40:21

TopSecret
With sublime styling and some welcome features, the X2000 is the latest offering from Lian Li. Is it up to their usual standards?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...135622773s.jpg

Find out in our in-depth review.

23-09-2008, 07:54:51

Rastalovich
That just wreaks class tbh.

I think the minor niggles are perhaps something that can be overcome - but I do hear that for 305 u really shouldn`t have to, or there should be options included in the kit to assist u.

Ur damn lucky to get ur mits on that, it looks a pleasure to build in and work in.

The only thing I really don`t like are/is the i/o on/off section. The rest of the case features can be forgiven with the style and such, placing the things on the top is perhaps weird. However, I don`t think it`s designed to go under a desk, more to stand on it`s own in a room as a feature. A piece of furniture to comment upon. I`d imagine with it stood on the floor, the buttons/ports are very accessible.

Very nice review, I`d get them, not for the price they are atm tho.

23-09-2008, 08:06:31

Diablo
Looks brilliant, oozes style and great review. However, I have concerns about the lack of 5.25 bays. I personally have a dvd burner, blu-ray burner, fan controller (I know this isn't such an issue with this case), floppy disc drive, pico itx pc and a draw full of screws and bits.

Even if I got rid of the bay full of stuff and the fan controller, I'm still one bay over the limit. If I was going to spend 305 on a case, I would expect enough room to stick in more optical drives. What if you were to buy a 5.25 res?

Other than that though it looks great, but I can't help feeling that its targeted markets such as HTCP (too big) or performance (not enough expansion) have been missed.

23-09-2008, 10:15:09

Rastalovich
Do u think that if u can lash out 300+ on a case, u`d be able to buy a BR/DVD/RW single unit ?

23-09-2008, 10:27:53

Diablo
Granted you could (I have), but what if you like to be able to do direct read/writes from one disc to another.

My only point is that if I spent 300+ on a case, I'd want it as close to perfect as possible and having to make do with only 2 5.25" bays and a 3.5" isn't my cuppa. Perhaps they could have got rid of the 3.5 external for a third 5.25" (I seem to be the only person who still needs an fdd)

24-09-2008, 04:35:45

Socks
Morning guys, I love the look of this case but theres just too many things wrong with it.

A: They should have used black pcb boards for the sata section

B: Used black internal cables for the usb etc

C: Fan controller is in a completely ridiculous place, do something mad, touch screen it and make it flat with the case.

D: The price!!!!!!! DAMN!!! could go on holiday for that.

Nice case, not enough features for what they are asking rrp.

And im with you on that drive bay res, what if you do buy one (which most people do) then your screwed for placement of another bay. ( I only have 1 dvd drive and a fan controller and the fan controller is only there as I lost a bezel, ROFL)

But I do like the case, espcially the way they have coloured the inside which is one thing I think all companys should do.

24-09-2008, 05:04:30

Diablo
I wish I had hot swap bays, they do look like a great idea, only thing is you need to take the side panel off, it would have been better to stick holes in the side so you could connect or reconnect. Agree on the black PCB...that would look great.

24-09-2008, 05:23:57

BloomerzUK
Nice review.

Typo on last paragraph on last page: Lain Li

24-09-2008, 05:24:18

ionicle
gorgeous looking case

amazingly designed

reeks quality as the rest of ya have said

very good review, very thorough

shame bout the price

24-09-2008, 05:27:49

Diablo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BloomerzUK'
Nice review.

Typo on last paragraph on last page: Lain Li
Maybe we'll start seeing Lain Li cases, from the guys that brought you Ronex watches

24-09-2008, 06:54:03

TopSecret
Corrected the typo, thanks

When I reviewed the case, I was concerned about the lack of drive bays, but unless Lian Li (got it right this time) had made the case taller or wider then they would be struggling to get any in. I think Lian Li have used every bit of available space they could in the design. Also as this is partly being touted as a HTPC, there isn't really a great call for massive amounts of 5.25" drive bays. I have the Antec Fusion HTPC case and that has just one 5.25" drive bay and it works brilliantly. I do agree that Lian Li could have done some things differently and the scores given do reflect this.

I have been using the rig built up since Saturday now, and I am still loving using the case, flaws and all. I tried the rig in my lounge last night and it looks superb stood next to my LCD TV. I had a spare TV card and got it running under Vista Media Centre. As my LCD is black with a small silver bezel, the case tied in and looked really cool. Even the missus agreed, which is no small feat

24-09-2008, 07:17:39

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='stuartpb'
I tried the rig in my lounge last night and it looks superb stood next to my LCD TV.
That`s the purpose I think judging by the design. Not necessarily a work-horse pc or anything. Sure u could serve off it, arrange masses of storage. Then network off of it all over ur complex.

24-09-2008, 07:42:29

Diablo
Is it big enough for an Eatx board? If it is, then it would be pretty good for a server. But as a HTCP case, looking around, although it isn't small form factor, it seems to be the price a lot of other high end HTCP cases go for. If you could stealth it a bit (Maybe hide it behind a big speaker etc.) it would very good.

24-09-2008, 07:59:10

Rastalovich
Sure I`ve seen a pic on the LL site, on actually on that embedded video, with an eatx in it.

24-09-2008, 08:03:47

Diablo
On that basis, it would be a good choice for a water cooled server, quiet, not too big (compared with rack mount or blade) and really good quality. Plus the minor niggles wouldn't affect it.

24-09-2008, 08:09:14

TopSecret
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Diablo'
Is it big enough for an Eatx board? If it is, then it would be pretty good for a server. But as a HTCP case, looking around, although it isn't small form factor, it seems to be the price a lot of other high end HTCP cases go for. If you could stealth it a bit (Maybe hide it behind a big speaker etc.) it would very good.
Why would you want to stealth it? Part of the appeal is in it's styling. If you have a big enough LCD screen and matching AV equipment, then it looks the mutts nutts

24-09-2008, 08:11:45

Diablo
Sorry, I was thinking in terms of my setup, with all of the AV boxes in a neat pile on shelves, which wouldn't really fit this box. Then again that room has the last of the CRTs in the house, so with a huge TV it could look really stylish.

25-09-2008, 10:37:52

Mr. Smith
Gorgeous case, I'd rather have the X500, that is more my size... Nice review.

17-10-2008, 06:59:23

Lynx
Err.

That thing is HUGE.

As they have made all these different compartments, there's no where to hide most of the mobo's cabling!

Bad design, they should have though it though.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.