Lian Li PC343 ATX Case

Testing & Results

Temperature results

To ensure that we didn't give the PC-343 any unfair advantages, only the stock fans provided with the case were used during the testing. In addition to this, all fans were connected directly to a +12v molex to prevent any potential skew in the results from the motherboard trying to manage the fan speed.

Idle Temperatures

Temperature readings for the CPU and Case were taken using Asus' PC Probe, GPU was taken using ATITool and Hard Disk directly from S.M.A.R.T. While we fully understand that these results may not be entirely accurate when compared with a digital thermal probe, they serve perfectly well when results conducted with the same core hardware.
 
Load Temperatures

To test the airflow in the case the system was put under 100% load by running OCCT, Nvidia Stability test, HDtach (long Bench) were run simultaneously for 30 minutes. The case temperature rose by 12c over the 30 minutes testing, which is a very good result. The front fans and roof radiator mount gave the case very good airflow. The Q6600 and 8800gt were both belting out the heat in the tests and the case worked very well to keep the temperatures down.
 
 
Noise Opinions

Even with four 120mm fans running at 100% this case is still not over powering, its only the graphics card fan in this set up you can hear. Most surprisingly for me an everyday Raptor user is the HDD cage has silenced it. Even when testing the drives for temperature I couldn’t hear the Raptor or 750gb drives clunking away like they usually do. I had to take the side panel off at one point and put my ear to them to check everything was ok!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-04-2008, 11:27:36

JN
"We take a look at the Lian Li PC-343B"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...081528100s.jpg

Lian LI PC343 Review by Tom Logan

06-04-2008, 11:34:25

Toxcity
Looks to be a fantastic case!

Very pleasurable read Jim.......Tom!?!

06-04-2008, 11:37:13

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
Looks to be a fantastic case!

Very pleasurable read Jim.
Not my review mate

06-04-2008, 11:51:49

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Not my review mate
Who's Tom Logan??

06-04-2008, 12:22:42

tinytomlogan
That would have to be me!

So what do you think for my 1st review on oc3d? Ive put poor old Jim through hell getting this done!

06-04-2008, 12:29:11

lasher
Excellent review.

Im sure will help many when making the decision between similar specced cases when it comes to cooling options and build quality.

Its amazing stuff that Nescafe isnt it

Keep up the good work and look forward to many more reviews.

06-04-2008, 12:33:25

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
That would have to be me!

So what do you think for my 1st review on oc3d? Ive put poor old Jim through hell getting this done!
Cool.

Good job mate

06-04-2008, 12:52:26

ionicle
damn good review

and a quality product

need to see more reviews of good stuff, not just mouse mats

06-04-2008, 16:43:23

tinytomlogan
Thanks guys, means alot I was nervous about what you would think.

Really enjoyed doing it actualy.

*hopes to get another?*

06-04-2008, 16:44:35

FarFarAway
That's a nice review mate, well written

06-04-2008, 17:35:02

Kerotan
Good review, but sheesh is that case expensive, by the time you'd bought all the accessories as well! I like the idea of interchangeable parts to suit user's custom needs but I think they could include a little more in the bundle tbh. I'm not sure about the PSU shroud either, I can't help but think it would affect the other components having all that hot air diverted elsewhere, as the PSU can generally take a bit of a beating compared to say, a GPU when it comes to having to shift hot air, but I guess provided there were enough exhaust fans it would make sense if you had a hot running PSU to seal it off.

06-04-2008, 18:23:38

tinytomlogan
Case is expensive mate your right, but if you need to build a rig to your own individual spec then its perfect. I suppose this rig just needs alot of planning and saving!

The psu shroud is a great idea sucking in cold air to the psu can only extend its life?

The case can have too much exhaust if you use all the fans so the psu not sucking air out isnt really an issue?

06-04-2008, 18:37:59

Kerotan
I guess if there is enough cold air coming through it would be an advantage, I was just unclear on how the shroud would work out from the picture, I couldn't visualise it. I guess with a case like that exhaust fan isn't really an issue lol, with all the fan bays occupied it would be nuts! I think it's up to the overall design of the case, some integrate the PSU as part of the cooling, others just seal it off in its own compartment so it's down to personal choice/needs really.

06-04-2008, 18:58:16

tinytomlogan
The shroud just seals off the psu fan, there are cooling vents directly below the psu so it can draw cool air in front underneath the case not warm air from with in the case.

I think a 360mm rad in the 'psu' drive bays, and 2x fan mounts and a hdd caddy in the 'mobo' drive bays would be perfect for this case.

Theres always the roof plate for a 240mm rad 2nd loop if needs be

07-04-2008, 04:19:53

-VK-
A very nice review, well done.

07-04-2008, 14:14:02

Aqua-Pc's
not a bad first review - but next time drink the coffee first

07-04-2008, 15:12:43

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Aqua-Pc's'
not a bad first review - but next time drink the coffee first
Point noted!

Thanks for the comment, was great fun to do actualy :hands:

Hope to make the next one better, Ive bought an expresso machine :sleep:

11-04-2008, 14:31:49

Hassan
Nice case, but I dont think that Ill need it tbh.

Great review to read like all the others

12-04-2008, 05:04:23

PV5150
Excellent first review Tom...Well done! The LiLi PC343 is a gorgeous looking chassis, but the initial outlay for it and the necessary accessories is certainly a sharp hit to the back pocket.

09-03-2010, 06:51:09

CHRISTINA100
Thought it might be of some interest to have a reference guide here for peeps, on the history of the Nvidia GPU

__________________

ASI...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.