Lian Li PC343 ATX Case

Packaging & External Appearance

Packaging
 
The packaging for the 343 is a simple brown double walled cardboard box with a line drawing of the case and some basic manufacturer info. I was thankful for the cut out handles in the side as this wasn’t the easiest thing to move around, due to its size and the fact the suns out for a change I headed outside to take the photos.
 
Lian Li PC-343 Box Lian Li PC-343 Box Open

Once getting into the case we were met by another layer of card board with foam protection pads, on one side and some more foam on the reverse corners to keep the case in place. There is exactly the same style layer at the bottom of the box but with cut outs for the castors to sit into.
 
Lian Li PC-343 Box Open Lian Li PC-343 Box Open

We were actually very surprised, normally at this stage you would be met by some thick layers of polystyrene protecting the precious cargo from the couriers who like to play Rugby with our new purchases.

You will find that there is a 3 inch gap around the case from the outside of the box and just a simple plastic bag covering. The foam mentioned before is all that is holding the case in place, but nothing stopping anything puncturing the box and causing your case any damage. Still if the couriers look after the parcel all will be fine… Right?
 
 
External Appearance
 
When removing the 343 from the box the first thing that sprung to our minds was it is actually surprisingly light. We began to wonder how Lian Li have kept the weight on a case of this size down?

Typical to Lian Li’s styling this is a very smooth and understated case, the only thing that stands out is the 18 drive bays that dominate the front of the case. This looks to me like 2 mid tower cases with 9 drive bays each nailed together in a very posh manner. But is it that simple inside?

Staying with the simple clean touches in the centre of the front panel there is a chrome style ringed power and reset switch, between those are 2 LED’s indicating power and HDD activity. Further down the case there is a Firewire port, 2 USB connections plus head phone and microphone jacks.
 
Lian Li PC-343 Case Front Lian Li PC-343 Front
 
Moving round to the back of the case there are 3 - 120mm and 2 – 80mm fan mounts. The PSU is on the lower left side and the expected motherboard plate is to the right.
 
Lian Li PC-343 Rear Lian Li PC-343 Rear

When removing the side panels the reason for the low weight became apparent the materials used to make this case are much thinner than what you would expect from Lian Li. The doors are cleverly folded from a single sheet of 1mm aluminium (v2000 is 2mm) this includes all the rails for locating to the case.
 
Lian Li PC-343 Panel Lian Li PC-343 Panel
 
In their defence to keep the weight, manufacturing costs and shipping costs for the customer down thinner materials was an easy choice to make and has been carried out very well. Maybe I’ve just been spoiled with the v2000 which has a sturdy bomb proof feel to it.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-04-2008, 11:27:36

JN
"We take a look at the Lian Li PC-343B"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...081528100s.jpg

Lian LI PC343 Review by Tom Logan

06-04-2008, 11:34:25

Toxcity
Looks to be a fantastic case!

Very pleasurable read Jim.......Tom!?!

06-04-2008, 11:37:13

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
Looks to be a fantastic case!

Very pleasurable read Jim.
Not my review mate

06-04-2008, 11:51:49

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Not my review mate
Who's Tom Logan??

06-04-2008, 12:22:42

tinytomlogan
That would have to be me!

So what do you think for my 1st review on oc3d? Ive put poor old Jim through hell getting this done!

06-04-2008, 12:29:11

lasher
Excellent review.

Im sure will help many when making the decision between similar specced cases when it comes to cooling options and build quality.

Its amazing stuff that Nescafe isnt it

Keep up the good work and look forward to many more reviews.

06-04-2008, 12:33:25

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
That would have to be me!

So what do you think for my 1st review on oc3d? Ive put poor old Jim through hell getting this done!
Cool.

Good job mate

06-04-2008, 12:52:26

ionicle
damn good review

and a quality product

need to see more reviews of good stuff, not just mouse mats

06-04-2008, 16:43:23

tinytomlogan
Thanks guys, means alot I was nervous about what you would think.

Really enjoyed doing it actualy.

*hopes to get another?*

06-04-2008, 16:44:35

FarFarAway
That's a nice review mate, well written

06-04-2008, 17:35:02

Kerotan
Good review, but sheesh is that case expensive, by the time you'd bought all the accessories as well! I like the idea of interchangeable parts to suit user's custom needs but I think they could include a little more in the bundle tbh. I'm not sure about the PSU shroud either, I can't help but think it would affect the other components having all that hot air diverted elsewhere, as the PSU can generally take a bit of a beating compared to say, a GPU when it comes to having to shift hot air, but I guess provided there were enough exhaust fans it would make sense if you had a hot running PSU to seal it off.

06-04-2008, 18:23:38

tinytomlogan
Case is expensive mate your right, but if you need to build a rig to your own individual spec then its perfect. I suppose this rig just needs alot of planning and saving!

The psu shroud is a great idea sucking in cold air to the psu can only extend its life?

The case can have too much exhaust if you use all the fans so the psu not sucking air out isnt really an issue?

06-04-2008, 18:37:59

Kerotan
I guess if there is enough cold air coming through it would be an advantage, I was just unclear on how the shroud would work out from the picture, I couldn't visualise it. I guess with a case like that exhaust fan isn't really an issue lol, with all the fan bays occupied it would be nuts! I think it's up to the overall design of the case, some integrate the PSU as part of the cooling, others just seal it off in its own compartment so it's down to personal choice/needs really.

06-04-2008, 18:58:16

tinytomlogan
The shroud just seals off the psu fan, there are cooling vents directly below the psu so it can draw cool air in front underneath the case not warm air from with in the case.

I think a 360mm rad in the 'psu' drive bays, and 2x fan mounts and a hdd caddy in the 'mobo' drive bays would be perfect for this case.

Theres always the roof plate for a 240mm rad 2nd loop if needs be

07-04-2008, 04:19:53

-VK-
A very nice review, well done.

07-04-2008, 14:14:02

Aqua-Pc's
not a bad first review - but next time drink the coffee first

07-04-2008, 15:12:43

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Aqua-Pc's'
not a bad first review - but next time drink the coffee first
Point noted!

Thanks for the comment, was great fun to do actualy :hands:

Hope to make the next one better, Ive bought an expresso machine :sleep:

11-04-2008, 14:31:49

Hassan
Nice case, but I dont think that Ill need it tbh.

Great review to read like all the others

12-04-2008, 05:04:23

PV5150
Excellent first review Tom...Well done! The LiLi PC343 is a gorgeous looking chassis, but the initial outlay for it and the necessary accessories is certainly a sharp hit to the back pocket.

09-03-2010, 06:51:09

CHRISTINA100
Thought it might be of some interest to have a reference guide here for peeps, on the history of the Nvidia GPU

__________________

ASI...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.