Lian Li PC343 ATX Case

Introduction & Specifications

Introduction & Specifications
 
Lian Li PC-343 CaseLian Li is a name well known amongst the modding community and for good reason too. The have built up a reputation world wide for quality well engineered and designed aluminium PC cases. Their designs are sleek and subtle, never bold or brash like some other mainstream manufacturers.
 
Most will have heard of the V2000, the V1000 and the PC-7 cases that are available on the market today. But have you heard of the PC-343? I’ve looked for it on Lian Li’s website and there is no mention of it at all?
 
The guys over at Aqua-PC’s have sent us a PC-343B for review and state that its perfect for any enthusiast wanting to build a high end system with high end cooling and has plenty of room to house it all. Now that to me is a very bold claim, but is it well founded?

Information on the PC343 is limited on-line but here are the details Aqua-PC's advertise with the case:
 
 
• Dimensions - 515 x 458 x 460 mm
• Construction Material – Aluminum
• Weight – 8,15 kg
• Drive Bays - 18 x 5.25”
• Cooling - 2 x 80 mm, 3 x 120mm Exhausts
• Front Mounted Ports - 2 x USB, 1 x Firewire, 2 x Audio
• Motherboard - Up to full size ATX
 
 
Accessories
 
The PC343 is a modular case, which basically means it comes as a bare unit which you buy extra accessories for depending on its intended use. There are a wide variety of accessories available and we are lucky enough to have some to look at today as well. Aqua-PC's kindly sent us:
 
EX-33EX-33 Black HDD module £25.50 + VAT
This slots in to 3 drive bays and allows you to fit 3 HDD but also has a 120mm fan to help keep those Raptors cool.
 
 
 
Fan ModulePC-343 120mm Fan Module £17.30 + VAT
Also takes up 3 drive bays and allows installation of a front 120mm cooling fan. Aqua strangely sent us a silver module for the black case we have, but I’m guessing seeing as they have the exclusive in the UK for this that might be the reason why!
 

Rad MountPC-343 Rad top £12.77 + VAT
This is a replacement panel for the roof cut out and allows you to fit a 240mm rad like the Black Ice II.
 

FilterPC-343 PSU Filter Box £8.50 + VAT
Quite simply a shroud and filter for the psu, but stops the psu drawing in warm case air. The shroud seals the PSU fan off to draw cold air in through the perforations in the floor.
 
 
 
Fan BlindPC-343 120mm Fan Blind £4.50 + VAT
There are 3 120mm fan mounts on the back of the 343 so if you don’t want to use them all you will need one of these.
 


Fan BlindPC-343 Dual 80mm Fan blind £3.95 + VAT
Above the usual 120mm exhaust fan is 2 80mm fan mounts again if you don’t want to use these then this is a tidy way to hide them.
 
 
 
RadiatorDrive Bay Radiator Mounting Brackets £6.38 + VAT
This is a brilliant and cheap way to mount radiators in the drive bays.
 
 
There are other accessories available on the Aqua-PC's website - here are some that caught my eye....
 
PC-343 Top Window £9.00 + VAT
Another replacement panel for the roof but this time an acrylic window to show off your hardware.

PC-343 Windowed Side Panel £30.00 + VAT
A replacement side panel with an acrylic window, an easy way to show off all that prized hardware.

PC-343 Dual PSU plate £9.00 + VAT
Simply remove 6 bolts and slot this plate in to add another PSU in to your system.

PC-343 Perforated Bezel £5.00 + VAT
Perfect for that extra bit of air flow, matches the 120mm Fan mount and HDD mount if you like a matching look to your case.

PC-343 Optical Bezel £7.95 + VAT
Nice and clean looking optical bay cover to match the case.

PC-343 Fan Top £11.50 + VAT
Another Replacement roof panel for 2x 120mm fans if you need that extra bit of airflow for that overclocked quad or multi GPU set up.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-04-2008, 11:27:36

JN
"We take a look at the Lian Li PC-343B"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...081528100s.jpg

Lian LI PC343 Review by Tom Logan

06-04-2008, 11:34:25

Toxcity
Looks to be a fantastic case!

Very pleasurable read Jim.......Tom!?!

06-04-2008, 11:37:13

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
Looks to be a fantastic case!

Very pleasurable read Jim.
Not my review mate

06-04-2008, 11:51:49

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Not my review mate
Who's Tom Logan??

06-04-2008, 12:22:42

tinytomlogan
That would have to be me!

So what do you think for my 1st review on oc3d? Ive put poor old Jim through hell getting this done!

06-04-2008, 12:29:11

lasher
Excellent review.

Im sure will help many when making the decision between similar specced cases when it comes to cooling options and build quality.

Its amazing stuff that Nescafe isnt it

Keep up the good work and look forward to many more reviews.

06-04-2008, 12:33:25

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
That would have to be me!

So what do you think for my 1st review on oc3d? Ive put poor old Jim through hell getting this done!
Cool.

Good job mate

06-04-2008, 12:52:26

ionicle
damn good review

and a quality product

need to see more reviews of good stuff, not just mouse mats

06-04-2008, 16:43:23

tinytomlogan
Thanks guys, means alot I was nervous about what you would think.

Really enjoyed doing it actualy.

*hopes to get another?*

06-04-2008, 16:44:35

FarFarAway
That's a nice review mate, well written

06-04-2008, 17:35:02

Kerotan
Good review, but sheesh is that case expensive, by the time you'd bought all the accessories as well! I like the idea of interchangeable parts to suit user's custom needs but I think they could include a little more in the bundle tbh. I'm not sure about the PSU shroud either, I can't help but think it would affect the other components having all that hot air diverted elsewhere, as the PSU can generally take a bit of a beating compared to say, a GPU when it comes to having to shift hot air, but I guess provided there were enough exhaust fans it would make sense if you had a hot running PSU to seal it off.

06-04-2008, 18:23:38

tinytomlogan
Case is expensive mate your right, but if you need to build a rig to your own individual spec then its perfect. I suppose this rig just needs alot of planning and saving!

The psu shroud is a great idea sucking in cold air to the psu can only extend its life?

The case can have too much exhaust if you use all the fans so the psu not sucking air out isnt really an issue?

06-04-2008, 18:37:59

Kerotan
I guess if there is enough cold air coming through it would be an advantage, I was just unclear on how the shroud would work out from the picture, I couldn't visualise it. I guess with a case like that exhaust fan isn't really an issue lol, with all the fan bays occupied it would be nuts! I think it's up to the overall design of the case, some integrate the PSU as part of the cooling, others just seal it off in its own compartment so it's down to personal choice/needs really.

06-04-2008, 18:58:16

tinytomlogan
The shroud just seals off the psu fan, there are cooling vents directly below the psu so it can draw cool air in front underneath the case not warm air from with in the case.

I think a 360mm rad in the 'psu' drive bays, and 2x fan mounts and a hdd caddy in the 'mobo' drive bays would be perfect for this case.

Theres always the roof plate for a 240mm rad 2nd loop if needs be

07-04-2008, 04:19:53

-VK-
A very nice review, well done.

07-04-2008, 14:14:02

Aqua-Pc's
not a bad first review - but next time drink the coffee first

07-04-2008, 15:12:43

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Aqua-Pc's'
not a bad first review - but next time drink the coffee first
Point noted!

Thanks for the comment, was great fun to do actualy :hands:

Hope to make the next one better, Ive bought an expresso machine :sleep:

11-04-2008, 14:31:49

Hassan
Nice case, but I dont think that Ill need it tbh.

Great review to read like all the others

12-04-2008, 05:04:23

PV5150
Excellent first review Tom...Well done! The LiLi PC343 is a gorgeous looking chassis, but the initial outlay for it and the necessary accessories is certainly a sharp hit to the back pocket.

09-03-2010, 06:51:09

CHRISTINA100
Thought it might be of some interest to have a reference guide here for peeps, on the history of the Nvidia GPU

__________________

ASI...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.