Lian Li PC-Q08 Mini ITX Case

Noise & Temperatures

Noise

With both chassis fans operating at full speed, they are indeed noticeable but could not be described as loud. There is a minimal amount of motor noise however the sound of airflow is audible. In the context of a conventional system, which may have a variety of 80-120mm fans, the chassis fans are unlikely to be the predominent noise contributors. However, one must consider that the sheer amount of holes in the case means that internal fan noise will not be muted particularly well. This is something to consider for those fitting graphics cards such as the GTX 480 or HD 5970.

We were also pleased to find that there was minimal vibration heard from the case. This would suggest that the rubber dampeners fitted to the screw mounts for Hard Disk Drives and Fans worked effectively. A lot of aluminium cases suffer from vibration noise however the PC-Q08 seems to be have held up very well.

Temperatures

For temperature testing purposes, we opted to run Prime95's Small FFTs test while the Graphics Card was put through its paces with Furmark.

Having ran each test for an extended period of time, we found our two core components to have reached load temperatures of 46*c and 68*c respectively. Compared to our open air testbeds, these temperatures are very reasonable; especially when placed in a small form factor chassis. With this in mind, we wouldn't hesitate to believe that the Lian Li PC-Q08 could cope with more power hungry and warm running equipment.

Let's wrap this one up.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-08-2010, 08:16:57

tinytomlogan
Lian Li may just have the most capable Mini ITX Case around with the release of the PC-Q08.

Continue Reading

24-08-2010, 08:30:39

F-alienware
Wow that's absolutely stunning. What a gorgeous wee case. No sacrifice on performance either !

Haha you could tuck that under your arm

24-08-2010, 09:40:32

SiLo
I hope to use one of these in the future for my planned ITX build. ITX and 5970 anyone? XD

24-08-2010, 10:28:31

Diablo
Great review, but I'm a little concerned that a long PSU (i.e. capable of powering a 5970) would hit the drive bays, resulting in no drive space at all as the lower ones would go to make room for the longer GPU.

24-08-2010, 10:45:17

tinytomlogan
A HX750w / 850w isnt that big dude

24-08-2010, 10:51:47

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diablo View Post

Great review, but I'm a little concerned that a long PSU (i.e. capable of powering a 5970) would hit the drive bays, resulting in no drive space at all as the lower ones would go to make room for the longer GPU.
Some power supplies may require the drive cages to be removed but do remember that there is also a 3.25" drive position underneath the 5.25" bay.

Modders may even be able to find areas in the case to mount drives elsewhere.

24-08-2010, 13:16:48

SiLo
Yeah I wouldn't take a 1000 watt psu just to run one. I'd probably get a seasonic or something, they are very quiet and run very cool.

24-08-2010, 13:57:23

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Wow that's absolutely stunning. What a gorgeous wee case. No sacrifice on performance either !

Haha you could tuck that under your arm
you could put your cute cat in it, it would be a great home for her.

24-08-2010, 19:30:38

Delusion77
I saw this and thought, ok next pc is Mitx. until i saw the PC v354, which is a much bigger mATX case, but i think it looks awesome.

Good review anyway.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.