Lian Li PC-Q08 Mini ITX Case

Internal Design

 

 

Internal Design


With both side panels open, the Lian Li PC-Q08 offers a much easier component installation than its cube based competitors. That said, this isn't surprising when the case itself is one of the largest Mini ITX/DTX chassis' in terms of volume.

Lian Li PC-Q08 Mini ITX Case     Lian Li PC-Q08 Mini ITX Case

Lian Li PC-Q08 Mini ITX Case

Inside you will find the front panel and I/O cables tucked and folded away. The I/O cables are suitably braided, while the Audio and USB cables are covered in thicker shrouding. An adapter is included to convert the external USB cable into an internal USB connector.

A major aspect of the PC-Q08 that I wanted to cover was its level of customisation. Nothing inside the case is welded together; it is entirely modular. For all intents and purposes, if you wished to strip out all fans and drive bays, then by all means do so.

Lian Li PC-Q08 Mini ITX Case     Lian Li PC-Q08 Mini ITX Case

Need to accomodate for a 120mm Radiator or an all in one kit such as the Corsair H50/H70? No problem, just remove the triple slot drive cage and/or the lower dual slot cages with a couple of twists of a screwdriver. Perhaps you have a RAID setup to retain and you want to fit a 12" Radeon HD 5970 graphics card? Lian Li have thought about this too as the lower twin HDD cage can be removed to make way for larger expansion cards.

     Lian Li PC-Q08 Mini ITX CaseLian Li PC-Q08 Mini ITX Case

In theory, this case is the perfect recipe for success but how well will it really perform when we begin to fill it with components? Let's find out.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-08-2010, 08:16:57

tinytomlogan
Lian Li may just have the most capable Mini ITX Case around with the release of the PC-Q08.

Continue Reading

24-08-2010, 08:30:39

F-alienware
Wow that's absolutely stunning. What a gorgeous wee case. No sacrifice on performance either !

Haha you could tuck that under your arm

24-08-2010, 09:40:32

SiLo
I hope to use one of these in the future for my planned ITX build. ITX and 5970 anyone? XD

24-08-2010, 10:28:31

Diablo
Great review, but I'm a little concerned that a long PSU (i.e. capable of powering a 5970) would hit the drive bays, resulting in no drive space at all as the lower ones would go to make room for the longer GPU.

24-08-2010, 10:45:17

tinytomlogan
A HX750w / 850w isnt that big dude

24-08-2010, 10:51:47

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diablo View Post

Great review, but I'm a little concerned that a long PSU (i.e. capable of powering a 5970) would hit the drive bays, resulting in no drive space at all as the lower ones would go to make room for the longer GPU.
Some power supplies may require the drive cages to be removed but do remember that there is also a 3.25" drive position underneath the 5.25" bay.

Modders may even be able to find areas in the case to mount drives elsewhere.

24-08-2010, 13:16:48

SiLo
Yeah I wouldn't take a 1000 watt psu just to run one. I'd probably get a seasonic or something, they are very quiet and run very cool.

24-08-2010, 13:57:23

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Wow that's absolutely stunning. What a gorgeous wee case. No sacrifice on performance either !

Haha you could tuck that under your arm
you could put your cute cat in it, it would be a great home for her.

24-08-2010, 19:30:38

Delusion77
I saw this and thought, ok next pc is Mitx. until i saw the PC v354, which is a much bigger mATX case, but i think it looks awesome.

Good review anyway.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.