Lian Li PC-B71

Installation

Installation 

With its single large main compartment it was very easy to fit our test system leaving the kit plenty of room for airflow. We purposely choose the Nexus HOC-9000 heatsink as it is quite difficult to fit in many cases. The B71 has a secondary hard drive cage right above the motherboard, but the Nexus cooler has about 2mm of clearance so it was tight but it squeezed in. The only other issue was with our full length PSU as the cut in the motherboard tray for cables was completely concealed. If you want an anally tidy cable install then you will have to break out the dremel.

Install

 

Install

The hard drives are cooled by two 140mm fans, the fans swing open on a lockable door, which would be handy for an office environment where security may be needed but I can't really see the need for a home PC, I'm sure I'd lose the keys myself! The fans have a switch inside where you can select low, medium or high fan speeds. I have had a look about for exact speeds but nothing is available. The best I can do is low is silent, medium is pretty quiet with a reasonable amount of air, and high is more than bare-able with good air movement that should help keep even the hottest system cool. The hard drive cage has many ventilation holes, and with my hand as the most sensitive flow meter available was easy to feel the fans airflow on all settings on the back side of the cage. The Lian Li flow design is far more free flowing the the Corsair 800D hot swap system.

  Hot Swap Instal

With our multi card system successfully installed with ease, I think it's time to move on to see how the case performs.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-01-2010, 03:18:56

tinytomlogan
In my first review of 2010 I take a look at the Lian Li PC-B71.

Continue Reading

18-01-2010, 04:12:17

Youngie1337
Been waiting for a review of this. Nice one, gonna watch. Will ninja edit this post.

18-01-2010, 05:02:52

w3bbo
I don't normally go for LianLI's but that does look a nice case (apart from the gash blue fans). Great review as always m8.

18-01-2010, 05:30:16

tinytomlogan
As ever though fans are a simple fix, we are hardly likely to keep the back stock black fans anyways are we

18-01-2010, 06:39:22

f0x.
Great review, seems a pleasant enough case stock, but lets see one with a 120.3 in the roof :P

18-01-2010, 06:58:47

Apans
Great Review Tom!

im abit conserned about the hot swap bays tho, as the green color of the back plate might get in the way when you're modding?

well love the review and the youtube videos! great id with the new "Lian Li B71 - What Mods Are Possible?" want to see more of those in the future.

Cheers //// Apans

19-01-2010, 05:27:27

FarFarAway
Hey Tom, nice review as usual mate

There's a couple of images missing the larger versions on page 4 and I want to look at em

19-01-2010, 06:09:27

tinytomlogan
The new uploader isnt the same as the old one, so Im unsure why the bigger pics are not there as we dont get to set them any more. Ill have to get my HTML cap on and go hunting

19-01-2010, 09:49:21

VonBlade
Image links fixed

19-01-2010, 12:02:12

alexhull24
Good review, great case!

On my next big rebuild (i.e. socket change, totally new system, happens every 4-5 years or so), I'll seriously consider this. Can't quite justify dropping 250 on a case right now when the P182SE does me fine.

I liked how you try to get across what good case cooling is. I never would have expected it to perform so well if I'm being honest. Perhaps I underestimated Lian Li, though I've been after one of their cases for a while, but ended up with two Antec cases instead, mainly due to price.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.