Lian Li PC-B71

Packaging & Externals

Packaging 

The box is much larger than you may first expect, and is a fair indication at the size of the surprise it is concealing. The whole box is printed with the main feature being a photo of the B71 itself, to the left of the photo there is smaller pictures containing the main features of the case. The case inside is protected by polystyrene end caps and a thick plastic bag to help keep it safe whilst it is in transit. Our case, despite its size, arrived fine so the packaging works and given its size the box is somewhat lighter than you may first think.

Packaging

Externals 

Once you remove the packaging you can get your first look at the externals. The first thought that came to my mind was that its good to have a Lian Li to test finally. The Black Aluminium brush exterior, large plain side panels, clean and crisp lines seem to make me feel at home as it's details like these that, at least personally, I have come to love and expect. The front is dominated by the front grill, which in fact a door to the hot swap hard drive bay. More about that later. One feature I am pleased to see is the optical drive cover which used to be a £15 upgrade option on older Lian Li's. I for one hate the look of a DVD drive exposed at the front of my case, so not having to buy the bezel is a welcomed surprise.

 B71 Externals     B71 Externals 

Let's move over the page and take a look at the finer details of the B71. 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-01-2010, 03:18:56

tinytomlogan
In my first review of 2010 I take a look at the Lian Li PC-B71.

Continue Reading

18-01-2010, 04:12:17

Youngie1337
Been waiting for a review of this. Nice one, gonna watch. Will ninja edit this post.

18-01-2010, 05:02:52

w3bbo
I don't normally go for LianLI's but that does look a nice case (apart from the gash blue fans). Great review as always m8.

18-01-2010, 05:30:16

tinytomlogan
As ever though fans are a simple fix, we are hardly likely to keep the back stock black fans anyways are we

18-01-2010, 06:39:22

f0x.
Great review, seems a pleasant enough case stock, but lets see one with a 120.3 in the roof :P

18-01-2010, 06:58:47

Apans
Great Review Tom!

im abit conserned about the hot swap bays tho, as the green color of the back plate might get in the way when you're modding?

well love the review and the youtube videos! great id with the new "Lian Li B71 - What Mods Are Possible?" want to see more of those in the future.

Cheers //// Apans

19-01-2010, 05:27:27

FarFarAway
Hey Tom, nice review as usual mate

There's a couple of images missing the larger versions on page 4 and I want to look at em

19-01-2010, 06:09:27

tinytomlogan
The new uploader isnt the same as the old one, so Im unsure why the bigger pics are not there as we dont get to set them any more. Ill have to get my HTML cap on and go hunting

19-01-2010, 09:49:21

VonBlade
Image links fixed

19-01-2010, 12:02:12

alexhull24
Good review, great case!

On my next big rebuild (i.e. socket change, totally new system, happens every 4-5 years or so), I'll seriously consider this. Can't quite justify dropping 250 on a case right now when the P182SE does me fine.

I liked how you try to get across what good case cooling is. I never would have expected it to perform so well if I'm being honest. Perhaps I underestimated Lian Li, though I've been after one of their cases for a while, but ended up with two Antec cases instead, mainly due to price.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.