Lian Li PC-B71

Introduction

Lian Li

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lian Li PC-B71

Introduction

Lian Li was founded way back in 1983, but it wasn't until 10 years later that their first aluminium case was released. Lian Li have always been popular with system builders and enthusiasts looking for quality, this popularity has grown hand in hand with the case modding community which in recent years has grown tremendously. One of the mile stones for Lian Li was the release of the V2000, with its clean crisp lines it was sure to be a winner. Much of the V2000's success came from its popularity with 'modders', water cooling was becoming very popular and easier to source parts the space in the lower section of the case was a firm favourite to put a radiator an pump. The water cooling popularity of the V2000 even to some respect led to similar designs from Silver Stone with the TJ07. Today how ever we are lucky enough to be looking at the Lian Li PC-B71 full tower case, here are some specifications from the Lian Li website:  

Case Type : Full Tower Chassis                                                                                                                                                     Dimensions : 220mm x 595mm x 590mm (W,H,D)
Front bezel Material : Aluminium
Colour : Black
Side Panel : Aluminium
Body Material : Aluminium
5.25" drive bay (External) : 5 ( one for 3.5 inch converter)
3.5" drive bay (External) : 1
3.5" drive bay (Internal) : 10
Expansion Slot : 7
Motherboard : E-ATX, ATX, M-ATX
System Fan (Front) : 2 x 140mm blue LED fan (1200RPM)
System Fan (Top) :
System Fan (Rear) : 2 x 120mm Ball-Bearing Fan (1500RPM)
I/O Ports : USB2.0 x 4, IEEE1394 x 1, ESATA x 1, HD+AC97 Audio 

Without further ado let's head over the page to get our first look at the packaging and the case. 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-01-2010, 03:18:56

tinytomlogan
In my first review of 2010 I take a look at the Lian Li PC-B71.

Continue Reading

18-01-2010, 04:12:17

Youngie1337
Been waiting for a review of this. Nice one, gonna watch. Will ninja edit this post.

18-01-2010, 05:02:52

w3bbo
I don't normally go for LianLI's but that does look a nice case (apart from the gash blue fans). Great review as always m8.

18-01-2010, 05:30:16

tinytomlogan
As ever though fans are a simple fix, we are hardly likely to keep the back stock black fans anyways are we

18-01-2010, 06:39:22

f0x.
Great review, seems a pleasant enough case stock, but lets see one with a 120.3 in the roof :P

18-01-2010, 06:58:47

Apans
Great Review Tom!

im abit conserned about the hot swap bays tho, as the green color of the back plate might get in the way when you're modding?

well love the review and the youtube videos! great id with the new "Lian Li B71 - What Mods Are Possible?" want to see more of those in the future.

Cheers //// Apans

19-01-2010, 05:27:27

FarFarAway
Hey Tom, nice review as usual mate

There's a couple of images missing the larger versions on page 4 and I want to look at em

19-01-2010, 06:09:27

tinytomlogan
The new uploader isnt the same as the old one, so Im unsure why the bigger pics are not there as we dont get to set them any more. Ill have to get my HTML cap on and go hunting

19-01-2010, 09:49:21

VonBlade
Image links fixed

19-01-2010, 12:02:12

alexhull24
Good review, great case!

On my next big rebuild (i.e. socket change, totally new system, happens every 4-5 years or so), I'll seriously consider this. Can't quite justify dropping 250 on a case right now when the P182SE does me fine.

I liked how you try to get across what good case cooling is. I never would have expected it to perform so well if I'm being honest. Perhaps I underestimated Lian Li, though I've been after one of their cases for a while, but ended up with two Antec cases instead, mainly due to price.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.