Lian Li PC-A51 Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

Lian Li PC-51A


We don't get to see that many cases from Lian Li, but when we do it's always a treat.  You see Lian Li are one of those manufacturers that often do things just a little bit differently.  Let's put it this way, you couldn't exactly accuse then of churning out OEM boxes with a different fascia stuck on the front could you on.  That said, different isn't always better, and in straying away from the norm, perhaps to proffer a solution to a problem, there's always the risk of introducing other issues into the mix.  On the face of it, the PC-A51 has a lot going for it.  At just  393mm tall it's still able to accept full size ATX motherboards as well as M-ATX.  GPUs up to 400mm, PSUs up to 160mm, and any CPU cooler up to 175mm will be fine.  It also looks suspiciously like it might have native water cooling support in the roof.  Now we've whetted your appetite, let's a look at the full spec.


Technical Specification

 Model PC-A51
 Body Material Aluminium
 Dimensions 230x393x489 (WxHxD)
 Colour Silver, Black, Internal Black, Internal Red
 Motherboard ATX, Micro-ATX
 5.25" drive bay (External) 1 with Cover (C-02-1)
 HDD bay 3.5"/2.5" HDD x5 + 2.5" HDD x1(base)
 Expansion Slot 7
 System Fan (Front) 140mm Fan
 System Fan (Rear) 120mm Fan
 System Fan (Top) 140mm or 120mm Fan x2 (Optional)
 I/O Ports USB3.0 x 4, HD Audio
Maximum Compatibility VGA Card length: 280mm – 400mm(Max) 
 PSU length: 160mm 
 CPU cooler height:175mm
 240mm or 280mm Radiator
 Cable Management Space: height 30mm
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-06-2014, 07:15:36


Lian Li do things differently, and the new PC-A51 is no exception. Who's for rear to front airflow and a front mounted PSU

Continue Reading

17-06-2014, 07:20:22

Sounds strange, but if it works...

Link missing btw

17-06-2014, 07:22:05

Originally Posted by YouWhat View Post
Sounds strange, but if it works...

Link missing btw

I was in the process of putting it live.....

17-06-2014, 07:33:39

Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
I was in the process of putting it live.....
Sorry jumped on it too quick...

17-06-2014, 07:37:32

Originally Posted by YouWhat View Post
Sorry jumped on it too quick...
I need a forum post before the front end stuff can go live.....

17-06-2014, 08:01:21

Lian Li stuff has grown on me so much and tbh while this case isn't exactly what I need...
Must. Not. Buy. hnnnng D:

17-06-2014, 08:54:37

I'm just happy that they've finally started painting the case interiour black and added proper cable management

17-06-2014, 10:29:44

Very nice case, I would have considered it if I had not bought the H440. Their placement of the Power supply would make me worry a bit about buying the GPU. Would probably have to fit everything I wanted in the case and then decide on the GPU options.

Also this case seems to me that it would be really hard to fit in a custom water cooling loop. I think this one is AIO only.


17-06-2014, 13:21:06

I'd been eying this case for a while after I saw Lian Li announce it. If I hadn't bought a Define R4, I'd probably be getting this instead.

My problem with a lot of ATX cases is that they're just too big, there's loads of empty space inside them that just doesn't need to be there, particularly if you don't care about watercooling (like me). Putting the PSU in the front is kind of cool because it means the case can be shorter so you don't have all that wasted space at the bottom. But I can see the issue that Gary describes in the review with the graphics card being right up against the PSU connections being a problem then, maybe if they inverted the motherboard tray instead?

Nonetheless, it's nice to see those like Lian Li pushing the boundaries of PC cases. They'd get boring very fast instead!

17-06-2014, 13:50:08

Nice to see Lian Li getting back into the mainstream again. +1 for the Black interior.

04-07-2014, 15:06:13

Just ordered one, really like the size and quality of it. Nice review as well, tipped me towards buying it.

08-03-2015, 23:52:51

Got one of these for some time now and as mentioned in the review, exactly the same issues I had encountered with the PSU and GPU meeting up in addition to the massive concentration of wires.

I am planning to reduce the amount of wires used though via removing all Internal HDDs and relying on an mSATA SSD for the OS. I was also thinking about moving to the SFF PSU that Silverstone released but, my current PSU (AX750) is still pretty recent and fully functionally so shelved those plans.

The issue I do have at the moment is that the cooling profile seems to be bizarre, not sure if it is the fans, or how they are currently connected (all into my mobo at various ports, kind of sucks as I am using the PWR_FAN port due to the location for one of them:P) which to that end, getting some Noctua NF-12 fans to see if they will have any impact on cooling performance.

A fan controller would be nice but I would have to re-introduce a MOLEX power cable back into the case so going to avoid if I can.

The only two others thing I am considering, as mentioned in the review, is a motherboard that lets me use the top PCI-E slot for graphics so I can claim some room near the PSU back or considering a mini GPU card.

The whole reverse fan thing is still odd to me but, going to install some extra fans in the roof and maybe the bottom to see what happens. (hopefully I remember the fans are inverted and any extra fans need to be installed with that fact taken into account) As for water cooling, something for the future!

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.