Lancool PC-K62 R Review

Conclusion

Lancool PC-K62 R Review

Conclusion

We'll start of with the feature that will make everyone that comes across the K62R give it a second look, the very red internals. The powder coat is very good quality, it's smooth and even with no unsightly orange peel that even professional modding shops in the UK seem to still think is acceptable. Adding that extra bit of quality is the subtle silver pearl over the base red, it's not as in your face as some pearls can be but is a great feature for those of us who appreciate the small details.

The tool free hard drive bays were very simple to use and very secure, as was the PSU mount simple and very effective. The K62R has more than ample cooling for even the hottest system and plenty of room to house it all also.
It's great that the case ships with both a windowed side panel and the plain panel, I can't see many people using both though and thing that is an area that could have cut the price down a little.

The Lian Li Blood Line is very apparent with the quality of the K62, its also great to see a colour other than black being used on the internals of a case. the red internals will probably be the main buying point when purchasing this case as this saves you at least £50 if you were to get it done by any of the aftermarket case modders.

If I had to find a fault it would be that there is not internal watercooling support. Saying that a midtower template doesnt have the acres of room that a full tower does and its far more important to have a handful properly executed features than lots of bodged additions.

Wrapping things up the K62R is very well made, has great cooling and a very striking interior. The externals of the case are very clean and understated and would happily fit in with any bedroom or office.  The mid towers available at this moment in time are all very good, never the less the K62R deserves to be on your shortlist of contenders.

Good
- Great Build Quality
- Many tool free features
- Great cooling
- Brilliant red powder coated internals
- Powdercoat even has a silver pearl!
- Clean Simplistic external design

Mediocre
- No internal water cooling support

Bad
- nadda, zip, nowt, nuffink

 

Thanks to Case King for the sample today, you can discuss this review and many others in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-04-2010, 05:40:25

tinytomlogan
The K62 R, has some rather welcome surprises. All of you that like red need to get some Kleenex ready.

Continue Reading

06-04-2010, 06:36:15

VonBlade
Surprisingly good looking. Sure it's darn red, but with a mobo on it if you want a Black and Red PC you're half way there already

06-04-2010, 07:10:36

Colossous
Yup - pretty good looking out of the box to be fair.

06-04-2010, 08:02:16

a8875624
£95 is a little steep for a steel mid tower case, but I suppose the tool-less interface almost makes up for it.

06-04-2010, 08:20:33

daniSAUR
If there were watercooling opportunities inside the case I'd say the £95 would be worth it. It's a pity, it's a lovely looking case!

Brilliant review as always.

06-04-2010, 08:52:17

tinytomlogan
What you all need to remember is there is only so much you can cram in to a small chassis. They could have made the top bigger for water but it would have been ugly.

This is a very well made case, and with the red rather than plain old black its worth EVERY penny. If it had water support it would be worth £20 more imho

06-04-2010, 10:06:50

killablade
Very nice case, my mate (NTXlaser) has the black version.

06-04-2010, 15:14:01

Diablo
Really nice looking case. Looks a really good paint job, and its not too overstated. Looks perfect for a LAN build or a smaller under the desk PC. Considering the Lian Li build quality £95 doesn't seem too unreasonable.

06-04-2010, 15:40:33

Makol
that is a very nice case, I really like the red interior. it's also nice they included a side panel with a window for people who want a window and don't want to mod the case for one.

06-04-2010, 16:52:43

delusion77
Iv worked with the K58 version of this case (less fans, nonpainted interior) and it was built very well and has a very attractive price, this 1 too. Would recommend these "dragonlord" series cases to any1 looking for lianli quality but for much less $$. (the fact its steel+plastic not full alu doesn't matter - its a steal!)

06-04-2010, 18:37:58

cl0ck_ed
The first word that came out of my mouth was WOW! that looks sick with the red internals!!! 95notes isn't too bad either.

06-04-2010, 21:40:42

huggy
Nice case, love the red

15-04-2010, 05:13:33

Dublin_Gunner
I have the black version of this case, and its excellent. Completely tool less, and keeps everything nice and cool. However, it does indeed have 2 rubberised holes for watercooling tubes in the rear.. So stating no watercooling support isn't exactly correct..

15-04-2010, 07:22:32

a8875624
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Dublin_Gunner'
I have the black version of this case, and its excellent. Completely tool less, and keeps everything nice and cool. However, it does indeed have 2 rubberised holes for watercooling tubes in the rear.. So stating no watercooling support isn't exactly correct..
I think what they meant was there are limitied internal water cooling oppurtunities

20-04-2010, 08:43:23

Jaster
I've seen these cases knocking around a few of the retailers we deal with, however did not realise they were a sub of Lian-Li ... just checked out there website, and I quote on one of the product pages "The fans on the top panel are mounted with Lian Liís new anti-vibration fan mounting system" ... got to be careful of that...most subs are set up due to tax evation lol ...

20-04-2010, 13:55:03

delusion77
Lancool uses Steel and plastic whereas LianLi uses alu

01-01-2011, 19:17:12

Squirrel-666
THREAD REVIVAL FTW lol

mediocre...no internal radiator support

..

i beg to differ a 280 stealth radiator will fit up top with fans mounted inside between the space between top of mobo and bottom of rad.

good review though tom i have the black version(being sprayed inside atm) and they are good cases

01-01-2011, 19:18:58

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squirrel-666 View Post

THREAD REVIVAL FTW lol

mediocre...no internal radiator support

..

i beg to differ a 280 stealth radiator will fit up top with fans mounted inside between the space between top of mobo and bottom of rad.

good review though tom i have the black version(being sprayed inside atm) and they are good cases
If I tried to be that specific Id get hundreds of people telling me their PA240 doesnt fit and Im wrong.

So I chose the easy option, that and the fact none of my rads would fit so I didnt know 100%

01-01-2011, 19:22:53

Squirrel-666
i see what you mean now mate its easier to say no support than saying yes rad support and then poeple saying wait rads dont fit lol think its a case of trial and error. this is how i did it and i have found that only stealth rads will fit (the HW Stealth GT 280mm)









. im just waiting for the case to get back from being sprayed inside.

should be back in 2weeks
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.