Lancool PC-K62 R Review

Initial Impressions

Lancool PC-K62 R Review

Initial Impressions

Lets start at the top and work our way down because on the roof is one of the most prominent features of the externals of the case. There is a large slatted grill the covers the majority of the roof which is cleverly concealing 2x140mm fans, moving towards the front of the case there is a very understated I/O panel with the 2x USB, power and reset plus a mic and headphone jack. Moving round to the front there is a simple clean slatted meshed panel all featuring handy dust filters.

Lancool PC-K62 R Review     Lancool PC-K62 R Review

Lancool PC-K62 R Review     Lancool PC-K62 R Review

So far the case has been clean, simple and somewhat understated. Moving round the back of the case you get a first glimpse at this case party piece. Removing the side panel  brings forth a colourful assault on your eyes, all of the internals of the case are powder coated in a bright vivid red, being somewhat of a connoisseur when it comes to the finer touches I noticed that it is not just plain red, there is actually a subtle silver pearl over the red giving those of us who love our details something to bore our friends with!

Lancool PC-K62 R Review     Lancool PC-K62 R Review

Lancool PC-K62 R Review     Lancool PC-K62 R Review

The case comes with all the fans included, 2x 140mm in the roof, and 2x smoked 120mm fans with red LED's one in the front and one in the rear. Talking of the rear, those of you familiar with Lian Li's will recognise the tool free PCI locking mechanism. There is a large CPU socket cut out and a selection of cable management holes. Glancing at the front you will find 5x optical bays, 2 of which have tool free mounting brackets. The hard drive mounts have an interesting locking feature, you simply loosen the thumb screw that allows the locking rail to be slid up and this allows the hard drive cages to be removed. Whilst talking of the hard drive cages these are also tool less, you quite simple click the drives securely into place.

Lancool PC-K62 R Review     Lancool PC-K62 R Review

Continuing the tool less theme the PSU fitting also received some love for those among you scare of screw drivers. You place your PSU above the dust filtered vents in the floor and simply clip your PSU into place with a very simple bracket. As a means of testing I stood the case on its nose, and the my heavy Corsair HX1000w didn't budge proving that its a very capable means of fitting. Last but not least the K62R ships with a second side panel fitted with a large window, I'm unsure why you get the plain and a windowed panel but having the choice could be very handy.

Lancool PC-K62 R Review     Lancool PC-K62 R Review

As usual we run all our case fans @ 12v, at this voltage the case is audible but its not loud very much less unbearable. Ive had the pleasure of sitting beside the K62 for the last week, even with the fans at 12v its not bothered me at all. The cooling in the case has kept our test equipment at very good temperatures, the GPU's never went above 72c but the 2x 140mm fans in the roof definitely helped keep the Q6000 below 50c. All in all cooling wise the case is very capable. Turning the fans back down to silent meant all I could hear was the pair of GPU's, the reduced airflow meant a 54c CPU and 75c GPU's so even in silent mode it cools very well.

Let's march on to the conclusion.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-04-2010, 05:40:25

tinytomlogan
The K62 R, has some rather welcome surprises. All of you that like red need to get some Kleenex ready.

Continue Reading

06-04-2010, 06:36:15

VonBlade
Surprisingly good looking. Sure it's darn red, but with a mobo on it if you want a Black and Red PC you're half way there already

06-04-2010, 07:10:36

Colossous
Yup - pretty good looking out of the box to be fair.

06-04-2010, 08:02:16

a8875624
£95 is a little steep for a steel mid tower case, but I suppose the tool-less interface almost makes up for it.

06-04-2010, 08:20:33

daniSAUR
If there were watercooling opportunities inside the case I'd say the £95 would be worth it. It's a pity, it's a lovely looking case!

Brilliant review as always.

06-04-2010, 08:52:17

tinytomlogan
What you all need to remember is there is only so much you can cram in to a small chassis. They could have made the top bigger for water but it would have been ugly.

This is a very well made case, and with the red rather than plain old black its worth EVERY penny. If it had water support it would be worth £20 more imho

06-04-2010, 10:06:50

killablade
Very nice case, my mate (NTXlaser) has the black version.

06-04-2010, 15:14:01

Diablo
Really nice looking case. Looks a really good paint job, and its not too overstated. Looks perfect for a LAN build or a smaller under the desk PC. Considering the Lian Li build quality £95 doesn't seem too unreasonable.

06-04-2010, 15:40:33

Makol
that is a very nice case, I really like the red interior. it's also nice they included a side panel with a window for people who want a window and don't want to mod the case for one.

06-04-2010, 16:52:43

delusion77
Iv worked with the K58 version of this case (less fans, nonpainted interior) and it was built very well and has a very attractive price, this 1 too. Would recommend these "dragonlord" series cases to any1 looking for lianli quality but for much less $$. (the fact its steel+plastic not full alu doesn't matter - its a steal!)

06-04-2010, 18:37:58

cl0ck_ed
The first word that came out of my mouth was WOW! that looks sick with the red internals!!! 95notes isn't too bad either.

06-04-2010, 21:40:42

huggy
Nice case, love the red

15-04-2010, 05:13:33

Dublin_Gunner
I have the black version of this case, and its excellent. Completely tool less, and keeps everything nice and cool. However, it does indeed have 2 rubberised holes for watercooling tubes in the rear.. So stating no watercooling support isn't exactly correct..

15-04-2010, 07:22:32

a8875624
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Dublin_Gunner'
I have the black version of this case, and its excellent. Completely tool less, and keeps everything nice and cool. However, it does indeed have 2 rubberised holes for watercooling tubes in the rear.. So stating no watercooling support isn't exactly correct..
I think what they meant was there are limitied internal water cooling oppurtunities

20-04-2010, 08:43:23

Jaster
I've seen these cases knocking around a few of the retailers we deal with, however did not realise they were a sub of Lian-Li ... just checked out there website, and I quote on one of the product pages "The fans on the top panel are mounted with Lian Liís new anti-vibration fan mounting system" ... got to be careful of that...most subs are set up due to tax evation lol ...

20-04-2010, 13:55:03

delusion77
Lancool uses Steel and plastic whereas LianLi uses alu

01-01-2011, 19:17:12

Squirrel-666
THREAD REVIVAL FTW lol

mediocre...no internal radiator support

..

i beg to differ a 280 stealth radiator will fit up top with fans mounted inside between the space between top of mobo and bottom of rad.

good review though tom i have the black version(being sprayed inside atm) and they are good cases

01-01-2011, 19:18:58

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squirrel-666 View Post

THREAD REVIVAL FTW lol

mediocre...no internal radiator support

..

i beg to differ a 280 stealth radiator will fit up top with fans mounted inside between the space between top of mobo and bottom of rad.

good review though tom i have the black version(being sprayed inside atm) and they are good cases
If I tried to be that specific Id get hundreds of people telling me their PA240 doesnt fit and Im wrong.

So I chose the easy option, that and the fact none of my rads would fit so I didnt know 100%

01-01-2011, 19:22:53

Squirrel-666
i see what you mean now mate its easier to say no support than saying yes rad support and then poeple saying wait rads dont fit lol think its a case of trial and error. this is how i did it and i have found that only stealth rads will fit (the HW Stealth GT 280mm)









. im just waiting for the case to get back from being sprayed inside.

should be back in 2weeks
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.