Lancool PC-K62 R Review

Introduction

Lancool PC-K62 R Review

Introduction

Lancool is not a name that immediately springs to mind in the UK hardware scene, a lesser known fact is that Lancool is actually a subsidiary of Lian Li. Where as every case that is released under the Lian Li banner will be all aluminium the Lancools are steel. Steel generally means a lower price case, and the Lancools generally are a fair bit cheaper than its rival Lian Li model.

An introduction is probably the most difficult part of the review to write, trying to find some waffle about the company or the product without giving too much away is hard. At the end of the day we are all here to find out if Lancool can build a budget case but still meeting the standards we expect from a Lian Li.

The K62 is exclusively available from Case King one of the largest etailers and distributors in Europe.

Here are some specifications I took from the Case King website for those among you that want to read them.

ModelPC-K62R1 
Case TypeAdvance Mid Tower 
Dimensions 214mm x 496mm x 498 mm (W, H, D)  
Front bezel MaterialPlastic  
ColorRed 
Side PanelSECC Steel  
Body MaterialSECC Steel  
Net Weight 9.55kg  
5.25" drive bay (External)
3.5" drive bay (External) 
3.5" drive bay (Internal)
Expansion Slot
MotherboardATX / M-ATX  
System Fan (Front)140mm Red LED Fan x 1 
System Fan (Top)140mm Fan x 2 
System Fan (Rear)120mm Red LED Fan x 1 
I/O PortsUSB2.0 x 2 / HD+AC97 Audio  


Lets whip over the page for a look.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-04-2010, 05:40:25

tinytomlogan
The K62 R, has some rather welcome surprises. All of you that like red need to get some Kleenex ready.

Continue Reading

06-04-2010, 06:36:15

VonBlade
Surprisingly good looking. Sure it's darn red, but with a mobo on it if you want a Black and Red PC you're half way there already

06-04-2010, 07:10:36

Colossous
Yup - pretty good looking out of the box to be fair.

06-04-2010, 08:02:16

a8875624
£95 is a little steep for a steel mid tower case, but I suppose the tool-less interface almost makes up for it.

06-04-2010, 08:20:33

daniSAUR
If there were watercooling opportunities inside the case I'd say the £95 would be worth it. It's a pity, it's a lovely looking case!

Brilliant review as always.

06-04-2010, 08:52:17

tinytomlogan
What you all need to remember is there is only so much you can cram in to a small chassis. They could have made the top bigger for water but it would have been ugly.

This is a very well made case, and with the red rather than plain old black its worth EVERY penny. If it had water support it would be worth £20 more imho

06-04-2010, 10:06:50

killablade
Very nice case, my mate (NTXlaser) has the black version.

06-04-2010, 15:14:01

Diablo
Really nice looking case. Looks a really good paint job, and its not too overstated. Looks perfect for a LAN build or a smaller under the desk PC. Considering the Lian Li build quality £95 doesn't seem too unreasonable.

06-04-2010, 15:40:33

Makol
that is a very nice case, I really like the red interior. it's also nice they included a side panel with a window for people who want a window and don't want to mod the case for one.

06-04-2010, 16:52:43

delusion77
Iv worked with the K58 version of this case (less fans, nonpainted interior) and it was built very well and has a very attractive price, this 1 too. Would recommend these "dragonlord" series cases to any1 looking for lianli quality but for much less $$. (the fact its steel+plastic not full alu doesn't matter - its a steal!)

06-04-2010, 18:37:58

cl0ck_ed
The first word that came out of my mouth was WOW! that looks sick with the red internals!!! 95notes isn't too bad either.

06-04-2010, 21:40:42

huggy
Nice case, love the red

15-04-2010, 05:13:33

Dublin_Gunner
I have the black version of this case, and its excellent. Completely tool less, and keeps everything nice and cool. However, it does indeed have 2 rubberised holes for watercooling tubes in the rear.. So stating no watercooling support isn't exactly correct..

15-04-2010, 07:22:32

a8875624
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Dublin_Gunner'
I have the black version of this case, and its excellent. Completely tool less, and keeps everything nice and cool. However, it does indeed have 2 rubberised holes for watercooling tubes in the rear.. So stating no watercooling support isn't exactly correct..
I think what they meant was there are limitied internal water cooling oppurtunities

20-04-2010, 08:43:23

Jaster
I've seen these cases knocking around a few of the retailers we deal with, however did not realise they were a sub of Lian-Li ... just checked out there website, and I quote on one of the product pages "The fans on the top panel are mounted with Lian Liís new anti-vibration fan mounting system" ... got to be careful of that...most subs are set up due to tax evation lol ...

20-04-2010, 13:55:03

delusion77
Lancool uses Steel and plastic whereas LianLi uses alu

01-01-2011, 19:17:12

Squirrel-666
THREAD REVIVAL FTW lol

mediocre...no internal radiator support

..

i beg to differ a 280 stealth radiator will fit up top with fans mounted inside between the space between top of mobo and bottom of rad.

good review though tom i have the black version(being sprayed inside atm) and they are good cases

01-01-2011, 19:18:58

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squirrel-666 View Post

THREAD REVIVAL FTW lol

mediocre...no internal radiator support

..

i beg to differ a 280 stealth radiator will fit up top with fans mounted inside between the space between top of mobo and bottom of rad.

good review though tom i have the black version(being sprayed inside atm) and they are good cases
If I tried to be that specific Id get hundreds of people telling me their PA240 doesnt fit and Im wrong.

So I chose the easy option, that and the fact none of my rads would fit so I didnt know 100%

01-01-2011, 19:22:53

Squirrel-666
i see what you mean now mate its easier to say no support than saying yes rad support and then poeple saying wait rads dont fit lol think its a case of trial and error. this is how i did it and i have found that only stealth rads will fit (the HW Stealth GT 280mm)









. im just waiting for the case to get back from being sprayed inside.

should be back in 2weeks
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.