In Win Maelstrom Review

Conclusion & Video

In Win Maelstrom Review

Conclusion

The Maelstrom first arrived with us a good few weeks ago, it got built pretty much straight away and found its way to the office desk for testing. That's where the story of the Maelstrom stalled. I paused.... and I forgot about it.
That might sound bad but there is a very good reason.

Its very quiet but still keeps everything as cool as some of the more mainstream cases. It even out-performs a few of them too.

The powder coated internals add to the cases quality feel and it's also one of the features that help you think you should have paid a lot more. This coupled with the room inside, the great temperatures, low noise and packed full of the small details that make a big difference like the rubber fan grommets and sound deadening foam.

So for £86.99 the case actually comes in at quite the bargain as long as you are not looking for internal watercooling support. It ticks all the boxes and a few other besides as well.

I would happily recomend the In Win Maelstrom over the mainstream easy choices in the £70 to £100 bracket, and a fair few more expensive ones as well.

Video

 

 

We would like to thanks Case King for the sample today, discuss your thoughts in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-03-2010, 07:03:50

tinytomlogan
Looking for something different? Hate following the pack like a sheep? Then the In Win Maelstrom could be just what you are looking for.

Continue Reading

30-03-2010, 08:11:42

ToeJam
looks like a decent case to me, though it has to be for the price if it wants to be competing with the bigboys ;-)

30-03-2010, 09:27:56

killablade
I really don't like the looks of this thing

30-03-2010, 09:37:51

|Classified
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='killablade'
I really don't like the looks of this thing
nd that.. its just too strange imho

30-03-2010, 09:43:07

tinytomlogan
Its a real nice case actualy. It grows on you.

30-03-2010, 11:02:08

alexhull24
Not love at first sight for me either. It seems to deliver a lot of nice features for the money though, however garish.

30-03-2010, 12:44:20

Ghosthud1
the case is not ugly......its just different, not a case i would buy but its cooling is impressive and it has black internals soo not all bad!

hopefully they will do a nice flat front with no goofy handles etc.

30-03-2010, 13:22:37

cl0ck_ed
A 240 rad would fit in the top easy. Really nice to see that they have taken noise into account when designing a high airflow case. Its just the front of the case that may not be to everyone likings. Nice review Tom. +++

30-03-2010, 16:43:20

hindmann
those handles are a bit on the funky side, i agree. my guess is if u could remove them easily it would improve its overall reception...

me i dont mind them too much.

30-03-2010, 18:19:29

ppuff
I saw this case not too long ago and forgot the name. All I could remember was it had green handles on the front. Thanks for the reminder and the review.

30-03-2010, 18:20:51

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ppuff'
I saw this case not too long ago and forgot the name. All I could remember was it had green handles on the front. Thanks for the reminder and the review.
Haha, I LIKE!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.