Hiper Osiris ATX Case

Performance

Performance

Test Specification

  • Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.6ghz
  • Gigabyte 965p DS3
  • ATI 3870x2
  • Seagate barracuda 500gb 7200.11 32mb cache
  • Silverstone Strider 1000w
  • Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU HSF

 

To see how effective the Osiris is at keeping you components cool I ran a series of benchmarks including 3dMark06 (looped 3 times), Prime 95 version 25.6 (2 hours) and HD Tach to heat up the case as much as possible and then recorded the results via Everest Ultimate ver 4. To ensure equality I only tested the case in in it's current condition with minimal cable tidying using the provided cable ties. The three provided 120mm fans were used via molex connectors (full 12v power) and the CPU HSF was set to 100% (auto disabled) via bios. Here are my findings :

 

Idle Result

Load Result

 

Not a bad result at all. I was impressed with the GPU result as in my previous case the temp was hitting 80c after a single 3dmark run. No surprise that the hard disk temp didn't really move much, testament to the attached fan on the intake and the exhaust fans were doing well, ridding the case of heat from the CPU HSF.

During the above Load testing I took some temperature readings with a thermal probe to see where the hotspots were. While I understand that this isn't the most scientific approach as temps can vary depending on ambient temps and hardware used it will at least give an indication of how good/bad the airflow in the case is. I found the area around the NB to be hot (29c) which due to the CPU HSF blowing back to front and not downward is to be expected. The PSU area was surprisingly cool but the inferno was the area around the 3870x2 memory heat sinks (44c). This however is cooler than my current case which is testament to the Osiris's airflow/cooling capabilities. It is worth bearing in mind that only one hard disk was installed in the hard drive rack so optimal airflow is passing through the case during this investigation. With four hard drives installed and therefore a lot more restriction, you would expect these temps to increase slightly.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-05-2008, 04:27:38

JN
"It is said Osiris is the Lord of the Overworld. We investigate to see if the new case from Hiper is worthy of such a title or simply 'lording it up'."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...015138195s.jpg

Hiper Osiris ATX Case Review

Review by webbo.

20-05-2008, 08:45:19

BloomerzUK
I really like the look of this case.

My mate is looking for a sub 100 case, I may show him this review.

Nice review Webbo

20-05-2008, 09:53:22

ali_james
I like it, it looks good, aside from the hieroglyphs. Good price too.

Whats the cable routing like with the psu at the bottom? I find it a bit of a pain in my CM690 but can usually hide them behind the motherboard tray, is that possible with this case?

Nice review, cheers!

20-05-2008, 10:25:33

w3bbo
You can perhaps hide them under the HD rack or behind the drive bays but there is no room behind the motherboard tray. The window panel is meshed so it does go some way to concealing the wires you cant hide.

Despite this it is one great case and if it were a little bigger I would deffo have one as the build quality is top drawer and as I stated in the review, you are going to struggle to find anything better at that price point.

21-05-2008, 05:55:02

PV5150
What an awesome looking case for the price. Excellent review as always webbo

21-05-2008, 09:31:09

Hassan
A lot of people will disagree with me but for some strange reasons the case isn't asthetically pleasing for me.

BTW this is my point of view

21-05-2008, 10:06:25

ionicle
looks quite nice for a cheep as chips case

personally, not my taste

but ye

good reivew

23-05-2008, 13:59:09

Barracas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ali_james'
I like it, it looks good, aside from the hieroglyphs. Good price too.

Whats the cable routing like with the psu at the bottom? I find it a bit of a pain in my CM690 but can usually hide them behind the motherboard tray, is that possible with this case?

Nice review, cheers!
The cable routing is interesting they provided 5 Velcro straps with slits in the mobo tray to slip through. So you can tie all of your wires to the straps up and along the front side of the mobo. Any extra psu cables can be tied off and hid behind the psu with care. Nice case overall. No tools needed with the exception of the mobo screws.

23-05-2008, 17:09:08

w3bbo
There's not a chance in hell you can hide all of the cables around the back of the PSU I'm afraid unless you're using a 300w psu, there's barely a fingers width between it and the back panel. Anything above the psu can be kept tidy with the cable ties and some of the cables can be hidden under the HD rack but the majority will still be laying on the bottom of the case. It's not really Hipers fault as such as with a mid tower case space is always going to be an issue.

24-05-2008, 09:52:10

rick_man_allen
that case dose look nice =)

25-05-2008, 07:46:13

Pat123
Link is broken

25-05-2008, 10:36:08

Ham
No it's not...

25-05-2008, 19:09:24

Barracas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
There's not a chance in hell you can hide all of the cables around the back of the PSU I'm afraid unless you're using a 300w psu, there's barely a fingers width between it and the back panel. Anything above the psu can be kept tidy with the cable ties and some of the cables can be hidden under the HD rack but the majority will still be laying on the bottom of the case. It's not really Hipers fault as such as with a mid tower case space is always going to be an issue.
Actually I used an 880 watt Hiper PSU which is not modular. It doesn't completely conceal all of the cables but I was able to hide a majority of them. Working in a mid-tower is tight though.

25-05-2008, 19:10:44

Pat123
i swear it didnt work earlier today :S lol.. its fine now.. must have been something to do with the updates.

25-05-2008, 19:25:47

Silentsnake
I think its ugly :s but good review and like the interior

29-05-2008, 08:59:24

baadman25
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.