Hiper Osiris ATX Case

Interior

Interior
 
Hiper have thoughtfully included some catches on the side panels which allow a tool-less entry to the internals of the case. The catches themselves are once more metal and although a little stiff to work at first, soon loosen up with a few uses. They are also robust enough that they should last some time and won't become tatty through over use. Two of these catches are on both panels and slide downwards releasing the door panels. While in the 'locked' position there is no fear of the panel coming away any more than if they were screwed to the case.
 
Hiper Osiris Side Panel Hiper Osiris Catch
 
With the side panel off you can better see the mesh/perspex window. This is one of the best ideas I have seen in case design for a long time and probably my favourite aspect of this case. On the outside, the mesh serves three fold. Firstly it will protect from those inevitable finger prints and secondly as there will be no finger prints, there won't be any scratches and swirl marks that usually become apparent after a few wipes of the perspex removing said fingerprints and dust but perhaps most importantly the mesh also serves to prevent EMI. The mesh is fine enough to allow light to pass through the case and acts like a tinted window from a distance which looks quite cool. Once more the finish is perfect with no ill fitting apparent. If you want even more ventilation then the perspex can be removed to leave just the mesh via tiny screws on the inside of the panel.
 
The front panel is easily removed by simply pulling at it from the hole in the bottom. It is affixed via push/pin style clips that while relatively easy to remove are solid enough to hold the front panel in place.
 
Hiper Osiris Mesh Window Hiper Osiris Front Removed
 
I was pleasantly surprised to see that the inside of the case is also black with the motherboard panel being silver. The paintwork once more is pristine with no blemishes that I could find. The pristine paintwork is however spoilt by a Hiper bar code type sticker and while it should be easy enough to remove it is one of those minor irritations that shouldn't be there.
 
The motherboard panel allows fitment of most form factors and the provided motherboard stand-offs screwed in easily and matched up to the motherboard holes precisely as you would expect. Sadly, the motherboard panel is not removable which is a real disappointment as this is a feature I am coming to depend on as I now change boards as often as graphics cards! I appreciate this is a sub £100 case but it cannot be that difficult to incorporate and would make this case so much easier to work with internally as I shall explain later in the review.
 
The drive bays are welded in place and are adorned with 'fins' that make the drive bay area look like some sort of huge heat sink. I am unsure if that was the purpose of the fins or if it is purely cosmetic but once again this also presented some fitting difficulties.
 
Hiper Osiris Inside Hiper Osiris Welding
 
Upon closer inspection of the case there are a few visible welds that while not exactly unsightly the do spoil the 'precision' feel of the case. I guess this is a price you are going to have to pay as the Hiper case is of a screw less design (in part) and as its a one piece frame it should stand the test of time and not develop those little squeaks and rattles after a year or so of use. I understand that alloy is notoriously hard to weld but it's the little details that can help the overall impression of the case and this is hopefully something Hiper will improve upon in the future. 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-05-2008, 04:27:38

JN
"It is said Osiris is the Lord of the Overworld. We investigate to see if the new case from Hiper is worthy of such a title or simply 'lording it up'."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...015138195s.jpg

Hiper Osiris ATX Case Review

Review by webbo.

20-05-2008, 08:45:19

BloomerzUK
I really like the look of this case.

My mate is looking for a sub 100 case, I may show him this review.

Nice review Webbo

20-05-2008, 09:53:22

ali_james
I like it, it looks good, aside from the hieroglyphs. Good price too.

Whats the cable routing like with the psu at the bottom? I find it a bit of a pain in my CM690 but can usually hide them behind the motherboard tray, is that possible with this case?

Nice review, cheers!

20-05-2008, 10:25:33

w3bbo
You can perhaps hide them under the HD rack or behind the drive bays but there is no room behind the motherboard tray. The window panel is meshed so it does go some way to concealing the wires you cant hide.

Despite this it is one great case and if it were a little bigger I would deffo have one as the build quality is top drawer and as I stated in the review, you are going to struggle to find anything better at that price point.

21-05-2008, 05:55:02

PV5150
What an awesome looking case for the price. Excellent review as always webbo

21-05-2008, 09:31:09

Hassan
A lot of people will disagree with me but for some strange reasons the case isn't asthetically pleasing for me.

BTW this is my point of view

21-05-2008, 10:06:25

ionicle
looks quite nice for a cheep as chips case

personally, not my taste

but ye

good reivew

23-05-2008, 13:59:09

Barracas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ali_james'
I like it, it looks good, aside from the hieroglyphs. Good price too.

Whats the cable routing like with the psu at the bottom? I find it a bit of a pain in my CM690 but can usually hide them behind the motherboard tray, is that possible with this case?

Nice review, cheers!
The cable routing is interesting they provided 5 Velcro straps with slits in the mobo tray to slip through. So you can tie all of your wires to the straps up and along the front side of the mobo. Any extra psu cables can be tied off and hid behind the psu with care. Nice case overall. No tools needed with the exception of the mobo screws.

23-05-2008, 17:09:08

w3bbo
There's not a chance in hell you can hide all of the cables around the back of the PSU I'm afraid unless you're using a 300w psu, there's barely a fingers width between it and the back panel. Anything above the psu can be kept tidy with the cable ties and some of the cables can be hidden under the HD rack but the majority will still be laying on the bottom of the case. It's not really Hipers fault as such as with a mid tower case space is always going to be an issue.

24-05-2008, 09:52:10

rick_man_allen
that case dose look nice =)

25-05-2008, 07:46:13

Pat123
Link is broken

25-05-2008, 10:36:08

Ham
No it's not...

25-05-2008, 19:09:24

Barracas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
There's not a chance in hell you can hide all of the cables around the back of the PSU I'm afraid unless you're using a 300w psu, there's barely a fingers width between it and the back panel. Anything above the psu can be kept tidy with the cable ties and some of the cables can be hidden under the HD rack but the majority will still be laying on the bottom of the case. It's not really Hipers fault as such as with a mid tower case space is always going to be an issue.
Actually I used an 880 watt Hiper PSU which is not modular. It doesn't completely conceal all of the cables but I was able to hide a majority of them. Working in a mid-tower is tight though.

25-05-2008, 19:10:44

Pat123
i swear it didnt work earlier today :S lol.. its fine now.. must have been something to do with the updates.

25-05-2008, 19:25:47

Silentsnake
I think its ugly :s but good review and like the interior

29-05-2008, 08:59:24

baadman25
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.