Hiper Osiris ATX Case

Introduction

Introduction
 
header
 
Founded in 2001 in Milton Keynes UK, Hiper (High Performance Group) has now established itself as a leading manufacturer of PC components worldwide. They offer PSU's, media centers, case fans and other peripherals but today we are focussing our attention on their latest mid tower case - the Osiris.
 
hieroglyph
Osiris is a name all Palaeontologists will be familiar with but for those that don't indulge in scraping dust from ancient hieroglyphs, Osiris is the Lord of the Dead - King of the Overworld. His son, Anubis (also a case made by Hiper), was also named after an Egyptian God who was again associated with the afterlife. From ancient Egyptology it is said Anubis was replaced by Osiris, whose cult had become more significant and thus Anubis was said to have given way to Osiris out of respect. Hiper have continued the Egyption theme but gone backwards in terms of lineage as Osiris is the father (or brother depending on your source) of Anubis. Hiper however are keen to point out the Osiris is not a replacement for the Anubis but an addition to the case range currently available. Still with me? Good. Don't you just love marketing?
 
Despite its menacing name, I doubt very much reviewing this mid tower case will give me some evil God like curse but all the same I will trudge through the depths of the underworld and inspect the finer details of this sarcophagus in the name of OC3D. So if you can bare the irresistible Egyptian clichés and would like to know if the Osiris really is a God among cases - read on....
 
 
Accessories & Specifications
 
Along with the case itself, Hiper have thoughtfully included a little zip pouch which they call the 'Travel Pak'. I don't quite know where you would travel to with a set of screws but it's a thoughtful inclusion nonetheless. The Pak contains a host of fixings, some of which are quality anodised thumbscrews, to allow you to get straight on with your build without nipping out to the local DIY store to grab those screws that always tend to go missing during any PC build. Here's the list of fixings you get:
 
Osiris Specifications
 
Also included in the Pak are 6 Velcro style cable ties and an Osiris Keyring. The cable ties I can see a point to and will no doubt come in handy during the build but I honestly don't think I shall be sticking the keyring onto my car keys any time soon. With that said it is a nice metal keyring and not the plastic gimmicky types you sometimes come across so if you like your Egyptian Gods maybe this will appeal to you.
 
 Specs
 
Let's move on to take a look at the package itself. 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-05-2008, 04:27:38

JN
"It is said Osiris is the Lord of the Overworld. We investigate to see if the new case from Hiper is worthy of such a title or simply 'lording it up'."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...015138195s.jpg

Hiper Osiris ATX Case Review

Review by webbo.

20-05-2008, 08:45:19

BloomerzUK
I really like the look of this case.

My mate is looking for a sub 100 case, I may show him this review.

Nice review Webbo

20-05-2008, 09:53:22

ali_james
I like it, it looks good, aside from the hieroglyphs. Good price too.

Whats the cable routing like with the psu at the bottom? I find it a bit of a pain in my CM690 but can usually hide them behind the motherboard tray, is that possible with this case?

Nice review, cheers!

20-05-2008, 10:25:33

w3bbo
You can perhaps hide them under the HD rack or behind the drive bays but there is no room behind the motherboard tray. The window panel is meshed so it does go some way to concealing the wires you cant hide.

Despite this it is one great case and if it were a little bigger I would deffo have one as the build quality is top drawer and as I stated in the review, you are going to struggle to find anything better at that price point.

21-05-2008, 05:55:02

PV5150
What an awesome looking case for the price. Excellent review as always webbo

21-05-2008, 09:31:09

Hassan
A lot of people will disagree with me but for some strange reasons the case isn't asthetically pleasing for me.

BTW this is my point of view

21-05-2008, 10:06:25

ionicle
looks quite nice for a cheep as chips case

personally, not my taste

but ye

good reivew

23-05-2008, 13:59:09

Barracas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ali_james'
I like it, it looks good, aside from the hieroglyphs. Good price too.

Whats the cable routing like with the psu at the bottom? I find it a bit of a pain in my CM690 but can usually hide them behind the motherboard tray, is that possible with this case?

Nice review, cheers!
The cable routing is interesting they provided 5 Velcro straps with slits in the mobo tray to slip through. So you can tie all of your wires to the straps up and along the front side of the mobo. Any extra psu cables can be tied off and hid behind the psu with care. Nice case overall. No tools needed with the exception of the mobo screws.

23-05-2008, 17:09:08

w3bbo
There's not a chance in hell you can hide all of the cables around the back of the PSU I'm afraid unless you're using a 300w psu, there's barely a fingers width between it and the back panel. Anything above the psu can be kept tidy with the cable ties and some of the cables can be hidden under the HD rack but the majority will still be laying on the bottom of the case. It's not really Hipers fault as such as with a mid tower case space is always going to be an issue.

24-05-2008, 09:52:10

rick_man_allen
that case dose look nice =)

25-05-2008, 07:46:13

Pat123
Link is broken

25-05-2008, 10:36:08

Ham
No it's not...

25-05-2008, 19:09:24

Barracas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
There's not a chance in hell you can hide all of the cables around the back of the PSU I'm afraid unless you're using a 300w psu, there's barely a fingers width between it and the back panel. Anything above the psu can be kept tidy with the cable ties and some of the cables can be hidden under the HD rack but the majority will still be laying on the bottom of the case. It's not really Hipers fault as such as with a mid tower case space is always going to be an issue.
Actually I used an 880 watt Hiper PSU which is not modular. It doesn't completely conceal all of the cables but I was able to hide a majority of them. Working in a mid-tower is tight though.

25-05-2008, 19:10:44

Pat123
i swear it didnt work earlier today :S lol.. its fine now.. must have been something to do with the updates.

25-05-2008, 19:25:47

Silentsnake
I think its ugly :s but good review and like the interior

29-05-2008, 08:59:24

baadman25
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.