Gigabyte 3D Aurora Case


Conclusion Gigabyte 3D Aurora
So how well did the Gigabyte 3D Aurora perform in today's testing?
First and foremost I would like to say that it's so refreshing to see a chassis at this price-point with so many features, reasonably good looks and cooling performance to boot. The Gigabyte 3D Aurora isn't the newest kid on the block, but it's quite nice to take a step back and cast an eye over an older case.
Admittedly, the Gigabyte 3D Aurora may not be to everyone's liking, as I had reservations about the protruding bottom on the front fascia. But the longer I have spent with the chassis, the more it has grown on me. The case itself is very well constructed, and exceptionally light for its size. Sure it has some design flaws, which we've seen today. The HDD cage can create some issues when plugging in components and the rails would benefit from some sort of anti-vibration measures to keep HDD noise down. All things considered though, it performs quite well.
Pricing for the Gigabyte 3D Aurora comes in at an extremely reasonable £70.49 Inc VAT from After Hours Computers. For our Australian readers, Altech Computers has it for AUS$200 inc GST.
The Good
+ Lightweight
+ Well constructed
+ Plenty of storage capacity
+ Price
The Mediocre
* HDD mounts could be better designed
* HDD cage may cause issues with side-orientated ports
The Bad
- Nothing to report
Oc3D Recommended Award
OC3D would like to thank Altech Computers for supplying today's review sample.
Discuss this review in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-11-2008, 03:06:37

OC3D had the opportunity to review an oldie, but a goodie in the case department - the Gigabyte 3D Aurora

Check out the review hereQuote

05-11-2008, 05:00:48

Excellent review

I was gonna say how old the case is, but you've already mentioned that.Quote

05-11-2008, 07:11:05

nice review, on one of the pages, cant remember which, there is a spelling mistake, i think its suposed to be what, but its whtQuote

05-11-2008, 07:33:05

Thanks guys and I'm glad you enjoyed the review.

Typo fixed too thanks ionicle Quote

05-11-2008, 08:11:46

Nice review, it's a good case but I still prefer my Aurora 570 Even though it is a tank and I want something smaller Quote

05-11-2008, 19:04:02

Was going to get this earlier.

GJ as always PV.Quote

06-11-2008, 05:00:03

Yeah it's a nice case and certainly worthy of a look if you're in the market for a new one. Thanks for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the review Quote

09-12-2008, 15:42:47

Nice review, good pics too.

I've had one of these for a couple of years now and I decided to give it a good clean out inside.

Does anyone know if you can change the front filter? Mine's a little dusty and I think it's impairing the air flow across the HDDs and into the system causing some minor over-heating issues...

It looks like you should be able to get it out, but the LED wires have been glued in (during manufacture I presume) and the glue overlaps the corner of the filter holding it in. Before I get all Stanley knife on it thought I might find out if anyone knows if it can be replaced.Quote

10-12-2008, 04:08:43

Thank you mate for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the review. Regarding the dust filter question: it most certainly should be able to be removed and cleaned. If the glue has managed to get on the corner of the dust filter then simply use a pen knife to gently remove it.Quote

19-01-2009, 06:56:07

thanx for excellent review , i just wana ask i have the new GTX 260 core 216 ...will it fit inside the case ?and another question will this case be a future proof for the newer cards and maybe lengther cards ??? if u can send me a qucik reply and as i am stuck to buy this case or tehrmaltake aguila case ?? i change GPU cards every yearQuote

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.