Gigabyte 3D Aurora Case

Test Setup and Results

Test Setup and Results
 
In order to test the Gigabyte 3D Aurora chassis I have used a standard set of hardware. The hardware has been listed below:
 
System specifications 
 
During testing I will be taking temperature measurements from the CPU, GPU and HDD areas of the chassis. To measure the system temperatures, I used Everest Ultimate Edition. Case temperatures were measured using a common household mercury thermometer. Idle temperatures were taken 20 minutes after the computer has been turned on to allow temperatures to acclimatise, and load temperatures were taken after playing Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare for an hour. Ambient temperature during testing was 25 deg Celsius.
 
Noise readings will be taken approximately 30cm's away from the chassis using a digital sound level meter. All fans have been connected to 4-pin molex connectors on the power supply instead of the motherboard in order to prevent the motherboard controlling fan speed by PWM.
 
Idle temperatures
 
Load Temperatures
 
Sound pressure levels chart 
 
Results Observations
 
The Gigabyte 3D Aurora performed quite well by maintaining reasonable temperatures across the board, in both idle and load testing. One area that the chassis fell down considerably, though, is that of the HDD cage. Due to the tool-less HDD mounts not having any form of vibration dampening material, HDD vibration was extremely noticeable. Running the sound meter during load testing returned a reading of 41.27dBA, which is very reasonable (Sound pressure level chart).
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-11-2008, 03:06:37

PV5150
OC3D had the opportunity to review an oldie, but a goodie in the case department - the Gigabyte 3D Aurora

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...081738790s.jpg

Check out the review here

05-11-2008, 05:00:48

Hassan
Excellent review

I was gonna say how old the case is, but you've already mentioned that.

05-11-2008, 07:11:05

ionicle
nice review, on one of the pages, cant remember which, there is a spelling mistake, i think its suposed to be what, but its wht

05-11-2008, 07:33:05

PV5150
Thanks guys and I'm glad you enjoyed the review.

Typo fixed too thanks ionicle

05-11-2008, 08:11:46

Brooksie
Nice review, it's a good case but I still prefer my Aurora 570 Even though it is a tank and I want something smaller

05-11-2008, 19:04:02

mVp24
Was going to get this earlier.

GJ as always PV.

06-11-2008, 05:00:03

PV5150
Yeah it's a nice case and certainly worthy of a look if you're in the market for a new one. Thanks for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the review

09-12-2008, 15:42:47

Big_Tim
Nice review, good pics too.

I've had one of these for a couple of years now and I decided to give it a good clean out inside.

Does anyone know if you can change the front filter? Mine's a little dusty and I think it's impairing the air flow across the HDDs and into the system causing some minor over-heating issues...

It looks like you should be able to get it out, but the LED wires have been glued in (during manufacture I presume) and the glue overlaps the corner of the filter holding it in. Before I get all Stanley knife on it thought I might find out if anyone knows if it can be replaced.

10-12-2008, 04:08:43

PV5150
Thank you mate for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the review. Regarding the dust filter question: it most certainly should be able to be removed and cleaned. If the glue has managed to get on the corner of the dust filter then simply use a pen knife to gently remove it.

19-01-2009, 06:56:07

aladdin74
thanx for excellent review , i just wana ask i have the new GTX 260 core 216 ...will it fit inside the case ?and another question will this case be a future proof for the newer cards and maybe lengther cards ??? if u can send me a qucik reply and as i am stuck to buy this case or tehrmaltake aguila case ?? i change GPU cards every year
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.