Gigabyte 3D Aurora Case

Installation

Installation
 
Installation of the test system into the Gigabyte 3D Aurora chassis was for the most part, a pleasant affair. The height of the chassis allowed additional room to move when installing the CPU heatsink and power supply, as well as routing the cables around the top of the motherboard.
 
PCI locking mechanism graphics card locked in place
 
The tool-less locking mechanism for the blanking plates at the rear of the chassis is probably the best implemented and well thought out of any currently available chassis. The locking mechanism holds everything firmly in place, even when you have multiple cards in the PCI or PCI-E slots on the motherboard.
 
HDD cage HDD cage_2
 
The HDD cage caused quite an amount of anguish when installing the test system today. Firstly, there isn't a hell of a lot of room between the edge of my ASUS Blitz Formula SE motherboard and the HDD cage. This made it incredibly difficult to install the IDE and SATA plugs. Even moving the front panel connector cables didn't seem to provide much additional leverage and room to move. So if you have a motherboard with side-orientated plugs, then it's certainly worth bearing this in mind. Secondly, as there aren't any cable routing holes in the motherboard tray, it means that routing something as simple as a SATA cable can lead to increased cable clutter - especially if you have a number of SATA drives to install.
 
Chassis with hardware installed
 
Gigabyte 3D Aurora front
 
With the system powered on, we can see that the 120mm fans emit a rather pleasant blue hue, both inside the chassis and out. The 120mm LED fans are quite bright, but not overpowering. Should a blue theme not be to your liking, a simple swap of the fans for a colour more suited to your tastes is easy enough.
  
Gigabyte 3D Aurora powered on
 
3D Aurora backlight
 
From the image above, we can see the 3D Aurora backlight projection in action. I was going to swap the standard 3D Aurora one out for something like 'OC3D is teh Shiz', or 'OC3D is t34 1337|\|355 11111', but I unfortunately ran out of time. :D
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-11-2008, 03:06:37

PV5150
OC3D had the opportunity to review an oldie, but a goodie in the case department - the Gigabyte 3D Aurora

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...081738790s.jpg

Check out the review here

05-11-2008, 05:00:48

Hassan
Excellent review

I was gonna say how old the case is, but you've already mentioned that.

05-11-2008, 07:11:05

ionicle
nice review, on one of the pages, cant remember which, there is a spelling mistake, i think its suposed to be what, but its wht

05-11-2008, 07:33:05

PV5150
Thanks guys and I'm glad you enjoyed the review.

Typo fixed too thanks ionicle

05-11-2008, 08:11:46

Brooksie
Nice review, it's a good case but I still prefer my Aurora 570 Even though it is a tank and I want something smaller

05-11-2008, 19:04:02

mVp24
Was going to get this earlier.

GJ as always PV.

06-11-2008, 05:00:03

PV5150
Yeah it's a nice case and certainly worthy of a look if you're in the market for a new one. Thanks for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the review

09-12-2008, 15:42:47

Big_Tim
Nice review, good pics too.

I've had one of these for a couple of years now and I decided to give it a good clean out inside.

Does anyone know if you can change the front filter? Mine's a little dusty and I think it's impairing the air flow across the HDDs and into the system causing some minor over-heating issues...

It looks like you should be able to get it out, but the LED wires have been glued in (during manufacture I presume) and the glue overlaps the corner of the filter holding it in. Before I get all Stanley knife on it thought I might find out if anyone knows if it can be replaced.

10-12-2008, 04:08:43

PV5150
Thank you mate for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the review. Regarding the dust filter question: it most certainly should be able to be removed and cleaned. If the glue has managed to get on the corner of the dust filter then simply use a pen knife to gently remove it.

19-01-2009, 06:56:07

aladdin74
thanx for excellent review , i just wana ask i have the new GTX 260 core 216 ...will it fit inside the case ?and another question will this case be a future proof for the newer cards and maybe lengther cards ??? if u can send me a qucik reply and as i am stuck to buy this case or tehrmaltake aguila case ?? i change GPU cards every year
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.