Gigabyte 3D Aurora Case


Introduction Gigabyte 3D Aurora
Gigabyte is a company that needs no introduction. The Taiwanese manufacturer produces PC hardware ranging from motherboards, graphics cards, power supplies and cooling products - just to name a few. Gigabyte literally have their fingers in a lot of pies.
When it comes to purchasing a PC chassis, I usually find myself ogling over the many options available, and ultimately doing a lot of reading and research. Once I've narrowed the field down a little to say five potential prospects, then the scrutinizing really begins. A chassis should: provide adequate, if not exceptional cooling properties; not be back-breakingly heavy; provide sufficient room for the components to be used, and sufficient room for the installer to move when installing said components. I'd also add looks to that list, but looks are a personal and subjective quality.
Today I have been given the opportunity to review the Gigabyte 3D Aurora case, which admittedly is not the newest kid on the block, but does offer an amazing amount of features and quality for your money. Let's begin the review by taking a look at the Gigabyte 3D Aurora's specifications.
The specifications for the Gigabyte 3D Aurora were taken directly from Gigabyte's product page:

Case Type: Full Tower
Dimensions: 205 x 522 x 510 (W x H x D)

Front bezel Material: Aluminum

Color: Black

Side Panel: Elegant Vent Design

Body Material:1.0 mm Aluminum
Net Weight: 7.1 kg

5.25" drive bay (External): 5

3.5" drive bay (External): 2

3.5" drive bay (Internal): 5

Expansion Slot: 7

Motherboard: ATX / Micro ATX

System Fan (front): One 120 mm silent fan equipped with blue LEDs
System Fan (rear): Two 120 mm silent fans equipped with blue LEDs
I/O Ports: Two USB2.0 / One IEEE 1394 / One audio
Let's head over the page to see how the Gigabyte 3D Aurora should arrive at your doorstep.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-11-2008, 03:06:37

OC3D had the opportunity to review an oldie, but a goodie in the case department - the Gigabyte 3D Aurora

Check out the review hereQuote

05-11-2008, 05:00:48

Excellent review

I was gonna say how old the case is, but you've already mentioned that.Quote

05-11-2008, 07:11:05

nice review, on one of the pages, cant remember which, there is a spelling mistake, i think its suposed to be what, but its whtQuote

05-11-2008, 07:33:05

Thanks guys and I'm glad you enjoyed the review.

Typo fixed too thanks ionicle Quote

05-11-2008, 08:11:46

Nice review, it's a good case but I still prefer my Aurora 570 Even though it is a tank and I want something smaller Quote

05-11-2008, 19:04:02

Was going to get this earlier.

GJ as always PV.Quote

06-11-2008, 05:00:03

Yeah it's a nice case and certainly worthy of a look if you're in the market for a new one. Thanks for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the review Quote

09-12-2008, 15:42:47

Nice review, good pics too.

I've had one of these for a couple of years now and I decided to give it a good clean out inside.

Does anyone know if you can change the front filter? Mine's a little dusty and I think it's impairing the air flow across the HDDs and into the system causing some minor over-heating issues...

It looks like you should be able to get it out, but the LED wires have been glued in (during manufacture I presume) and the glue overlaps the corner of the filter holding it in. Before I get all Stanley knife on it thought I might find out if anyone knows if it can be replaced.Quote

10-12-2008, 04:08:43

Thank you mate for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the review. Regarding the dust filter question: it most certainly should be able to be removed and cleaned. If the glue has managed to get on the corner of the dust filter then simply use a pen knife to gently remove it.Quote

19-01-2009, 06:56:07

thanx for excellent review , i just wana ask i have the new GTX 260 core 216 ...will it fit inside the case ?and another question will this case be a future proof for the newer cards and maybe lengther cards ??? if u can send me a qucik reply and as i am stuck to buy this case or tehrmaltake aguila case ?? i change GPU cards every yearQuote

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.