Enermax Staray

Conclusion & Videos

Conclusion
 
Have to start by reminding you all this case can be purchased for under £35, so it was never going to be perfect. The way the side panels attach does feel very cheap, and space is somewhat limited. Other than that though I think this case is an absolute bargain. All the fan intakes have dust filters including the optional side panel fans. Even though the cabling was quite messy inside the thermal performance was quite respectable considering the amount of hardware we shoe-horned inside the tight spaces inside the case. The test gear really did feel like a well endowed gentleman trying to squeeze into something tight!
 
If you are looking for a budget case, maybe something small and light to take for a LAN event that can get battered in the back of the car without having to worry too much, then this is definitely a case that should be going on your sub £50 recommended list.
 
Videos
 
 
 
The Good
- Price
- Dust Filters
- Lightweight
- Compact Design
- Front LED Fan lighting options
 
Mediocre
- Full length GPUs can be an issue with Hard Drive Location
 
The Bad
- Side panel fitting is difficult and feels cheap.
 
Award 
 
We would like to thank Enermax for sending us the Staray for review, you can discuss this and many others in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-10-2009, 22:41:44

tinytomlogan
How much case do you get for 35? We take a look at the Enermax Staray to find out.

Continue Reading

28-10-2009, 02:19:50

I Hunta x
looks good tom, gave it a quick read through now but ill give the vids a watch and a propper read through later,

28-10-2009, 03:39:22

tinytomlogan
Pretty good little case tbh dude, and much prettier than the antec 300 imho

28-10-2009, 03:59:40

I Hunta x
deff agree, is nicer to work with than the 300? if so think i have my new budget case for low end builds unless they want a simple case like the 300 that is

28-10-2009, 07:09:06

tinytomlogan
For 35 if you dont like the 300 then this is a good case, also hvae another review coming of a cheap case that may well topple the 300.

28-10-2009, 07:38:17

I Hunta x
i personaly love the 300 but some people want something a bit more flash without going ott, so this fits the bill tbh,

and any clues on what its going to be?

28-10-2009, 08:05:29

tinytomlogan
Nope you'll have to wait

28-10-2009, 08:13:52

zak4994
35 = epic.

Might actually get this TTLed (yes I have made a new verb).

28-10-2009, 08:52:32

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Nope you'll have to wait
D: fine _

28-10-2009, 15:31:06

jiffz
Yeah, that's my beast up there!

I'm happy I saw the vids before buying the rest of my parts as I can see the problems I could encounter with the HSF fitting. Good review though Tom, it's true it's a budget case, but I'm happy with it and suits my needs (1 GPU and 1 or 2 hard drives ) perfectly. I also like a light case as it doesn't stay in one place for long!

Another great review Tom

28-10-2009, 16:56:23

PeterStoba
Intel Core2Duo Q6600? 4GB Corsair XMAS3 PC3-12800 Ram @ 9-9-9-24 1.9v? Pretty sure it's XMS not Christmas

Good review though, although you say the side panels are difficult to fit?

I've used loads of the CM elite series and they were very easy to fit, unless Enermax have changed it for some reason.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.