Enermax Staray

Internals

Internals
 
Removing the side panel it becomes very apparent where Enermax have saved some money as the the way the door fits the case is very basic and flimsy, with only small notches on the sides of the doors to fix them to the case, no rails or any form of locking mechanism to make it feel secure. This actually makes the doors quite difficult and fiddly to fit. A closer look inside bring on a severe case of deja vu, the case feels very similar to another one. After 10 minutes moving my head from side to side like a confused puppy I realise why, the base chassis is exactly the same as the Cooler Master Elite 330.
 
Internals     Internals
 
Removing the front panel I was pleasantly surprised to see that all of the mesh optical, 3.5" and 120mm fan grills have  removable dust filters. The 4x optical bays, 2x external 3.5" bays and 5x internal 3.5" bays all feature tool less fittings, a simple twist of the red dial releases and locks the mounts. Peering through the hard drive bay you can see the 120mm Enermax Apollish red LED fan, the front 'light' switch enables you to not only enable/disable the LEDs on the fan but set it to chase mode where the LEDs rotate around the fan. Unfortunately the case does not come with any exhaust fan, I would have personally preferred a lesser front fan and Enermax have used the savings on supplying an exhaust fan.
 
Front Fan Filters     Appolish Fan
 
Taking another look at the side panel you can see the small locating notches I spoke about earlier, but also the mounts for the 120mm and 140mm that you can fit if you wish. If you decide to use these as intakes to help feed your GPUs with fresh cool air then the grill also features a dust filter like the front of the case.
 
Side Panel
 
Its time to head over the page for installation and testing. 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-10-2009, 22:41:44

tinytomlogan
How much case do you get for 35? We take a look at the Enermax Staray to find out.

Continue Reading

28-10-2009, 02:19:50

I Hunta x
looks good tom, gave it a quick read through now but ill give the vids a watch and a propper read through later,

28-10-2009, 03:39:22

tinytomlogan
Pretty good little case tbh dude, and much prettier than the antec 300 imho

28-10-2009, 03:59:40

I Hunta x
deff agree, is nicer to work with than the 300? if so think i have my new budget case for low end builds unless they want a simple case like the 300 that is

28-10-2009, 07:09:06

tinytomlogan
For 35 if you dont like the 300 then this is a good case, also hvae another review coming of a cheap case that may well topple the 300.

28-10-2009, 07:38:17

I Hunta x
i personaly love the 300 but some people want something a bit more flash without going ott, so this fits the bill tbh,

and any clues on what its going to be?

28-10-2009, 08:05:29

tinytomlogan
Nope you'll have to wait

28-10-2009, 08:13:52

zak4994
35 = epic.

Might actually get this TTLed (yes I have made a new verb).

28-10-2009, 08:52:32

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Nope you'll have to wait
D: fine _

28-10-2009, 15:31:06

jiffz
Yeah, that's my beast up there!

I'm happy I saw the vids before buying the rest of my parts as I can see the problems I could encounter with the HSF fitting. Good review though Tom, it's true it's a budget case, but I'm happy with it and suits my needs (1 GPU and 1 or 2 hard drives ) perfectly. I also like a light case as it doesn't stay in one place for long!

Another great review Tom

28-10-2009, 16:56:23

PeterStoba
Intel Core2Duo Q6600? 4GB Corsair XMAS3 PC3-12800 Ram @ 9-9-9-24 1.9v? Pretty sure it's XMS not Christmas

Good review though, although you say the side panels are difficult to fit?

I've used loads of the CM elite series and they were very easy to fit, unless Enermax have changed it for some reason.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.