Enermax Staray

Packaging & Externals

Packaging
 
Immediately the cost cutting is apparent with the Staray as it arrived in a brown box with minimal printed details, just enough to tell us whats inside and some basic specifications. An amazingly printed box is something that only reviewers really get to judge, as when buying online when has the box of your prospective case purchase actually been displayed or even been factored into your decision?
 
Packaging     Packaging
 
Inside the box you find the case protected by two polystyrene end caps and a thick plastic bag style coating. This is also where you find the brief user manual, a selection of screws and some Enermax branded velcro cable ties very similar to what Enermax ship with their power supplies.
 
Internal Packaging
 
Externals
 
First thing that strikes me with this case is how small it is even for a midtower. I have been spoilt of late with the size of the cases in for review, never the less this case is very compact and light. The side panel vents and the front panel came with a protective plastic coating to help protect the glossy plastic beneath.
 
First Look     First Look
 
We can see 4x 5.25"  optical bays at the front, and 2x 3.5" bays, one of these bays houses the 2x USB ports, microphone and headphone jacks. It also has a 'light' button and I will explain more about this later. To either side of the 3.5" bays you have the power and reset switches which both light up red, the reset switch flashes as a HDD activity light. Moving round to the back of the case we can see a standard ATX layout and 2 handy watercooling grommets.
 
Front Panel     Rear View
 
Its time to peel the Starays side panels off and take a perverted look under her clothes.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-10-2009, 22:41:44

tinytomlogan
How much case do you get for 35? We take a look at the Enermax Staray to find out.

Continue Reading

28-10-2009, 02:19:50

I Hunta x
looks good tom, gave it a quick read through now but ill give the vids a watch and a propper read through later,

28-10-2009, 03:39:22

tinytomlogan
Pretty good little case tbh dude, and much prettier than the antec 300 imho

28-10-2009, 03:59:40

I Hunta x
deff agree, is nicer to work with than the 300? if so think i have my new budget case for low end builds unless they want a simple case like the 300 that is

28-10-2009, 07:09:06

tinytomlogan
For 35 if you dont like the 300 then this is a good case, also hvae another review coming of a cheap case that may well topple the 300.

28-10-2009, 07:38:17

I Hunta x
i personaly love the 300 but some people want something a bit more flash without going ott, so this fits the bill tbh,

and any clues on what its going to be?

28-10-2009, 08:05:29

tinytomlogan
Nope you'll have to wait

28-10-2009, 08:13:52

zak4994
35 = epic.

Might actually get this TTLed (yes I have made a new verb).

28-10-2009, 08:52:32

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Nope you'll have to wait
D: fine _

28-10-2009, 15:31:06

jiffz
Yeah, that's my beast up there!

I'm happy I saw the vids before buying the rest of my parts as I can see the problems I could encounter with the HSF fitting. Good review though Tom, it's true it's a budget case, but I'm happy with it and suits my needs (1 GPU and 1 or 2 hard drives ) perfectly. I also like a light case as it doesn't stay in one place for long!

Another great review Tom

28-10-2009, 16:56:23

PeterStoba
Intel Core2Duo Q6600? 4GB Corsair XMAS3 PC3-12800 Ram @ 9-9-9-24 1.9v? Pretty sure it's XMS not Christmas

Good review though, although you say the side panels are difficult to fit?

I've used loads of the CM elite series and they were very easy to fit, unless Enermax have changed it for some reason.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.