Enermax Staray

Introduction

Introduction
 
Enermax is a brand name well known by many for its range of top quality power supplies and more recently its Cluster and Appolish fans. Something many will be surprised to hear is Enermax has its own range of cases as well, one of which the Staray we have here for review today. Available for under £35 from many UK stores could this be the bargain case you have been looking for, or looking to avoid? OC3D break out the test system to try and find out. Here is the Staray specifications shamelessly copied from the Enermax Website:
 
 
 
Model description Staray
Model ECA3170
Colour Black / blue Apollish front fan (ECA3170-BL)
Black / red Apollisch front fan (ECA3170-BR)
Type ATX Midi Tower Case
Dimensions D485mm x W185mm x H420mm
Material SECC
Drive Bays 5,25“ 4x (external)
Drive Bays 3,5“ 7x = 1x (external) + 6x (internal)
Expansion slots 7x
M/B ATX / Micro ATX
Front I/O 2x USB 2.0, HD/AC97 Audio I/O
Fan slots Front 1x 12 / 9 / 8 cm
Fan slots Back 1x 12 / 9 / 8 cm
Fan slots Side 2x 12 / 14 cm 
Openings for water cooling 2x
 
Specification Diagram
 
 So without further ado lets head over the page for our first look at the case.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-10-2009, 22:41:44

tinytomlogan
How much case do you get for 35? We take a look at the Enermax Staray to find out.

Continue Reading

28-10-2009, 02:19:50

I Hunta x
looks good tom, gave it a quick read through now but ill give the vids a watch and a propper read through later,

28-10-2009, 03:39:22

tinytomlogan
Pretty good little case tbh dude, and much prettier than the antec 300 imho

28-10-2009, 03:59:40

I Hunta x
deff agree, is nicer to work with than the 300? if so think i have my new budget case for low end builds unless they want a simple case like the 300 that is

28-10-2009, 07:09:06

tinytomlogan
For 35 if you dont like the 300 then this is a good case, also hvae another review coming of a cheap case that may well topple the 300.

28-10-2009, 07:38:17

I Hunta x
i personaly love the 300 but some people want something a bit more flash without going ott, so this fits the bill tbh,

and any clues on what its going to be?

28-10-2009, 08:05:29

tinytomlogan
Nope you'll have to wait

28-10-2009, 08:13:52

zak4994
35 = epic.

Might actually get this TTLed (yes I have made a new verb).

28-10-2009, 08:52:32

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Nope you'll have to wait
D: fine _

28-10-2009, 15:31:06

jiffz
Yeah, that's my beast up there!

I'm happy I saw the vids before buying the rest of my parts as I can see the problems I could encounter with the HSF fitting. Good review though Tom, it's true it's a budget case, but I'm happy with it and suits my needs (1 GPU and 1 or 2 hard drives ) perfectly. I also like a light case as it doesn't stay in one place for long!

Another great review Tom

28-10-2009, 16:56:23

PeterStoba
Intel Core2Duo Q6600? 4GB Corsair XMAS3 PC3-12800 Ram @ 9-9-9-24 1.9v? Pretty sure it's XMS not Christmas

Good review though, although you say the side panels are difficult to fit?

I've used loads of the CM elite series and they were very easy to fit, unless Enermax have changed it for some reason.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.