Enermax Fulmo GT Review

Introduction and Specifications

  Enermax Fulmo GT

 

Introduction

I arrived home from work just before Christmas to be greeted by a "sorry we could not deliver your package" leaflet, informing me said package had been taken to the local post office where I could pick it up.  I wasn't actually expecting anything through the post, but my good lady was, (a small pressie for me by all accounts) and so she quickly announced she would take a quick trip to the village post office to pick up said little package.  Some 30 minutes later she re appeared hot and bothered and using the sort of words you would normally expect to hear from a sailors parrot. Turns out it wasn't the expected "little package" after all, but the Fulmo GT which had arrived courtesy of Enermax. Apparently it took her and the lady at the post office by a good 5 minutes to heft the box out of the post office and into the boot of the car.

So as you've probably gathered it's a big case.  Big enough to take on the largest twin CPU motherboards, including the mighty SR-2 and as many of the largest and most immense GPUs that money can buy.  The "GT" in the name does not imply that this is a "Grand tourer", and as such the perfect case to take for a long drive across Europe, rather that it is a "Giant Tower".  Measuring a staggering 640mm in height and 674mm deep there's enough room in this case for a party.  So if you've just won the lottery and have splurged on the best and biggest hardware money can buy, and are looking for somewhere big enough to put it, or perhaps if you are simply looking for a case with plenty of room for air or water-cooling options then perhaps the Fulmo GT might be worth a look.

 

Specifications

Model

ECA1092AG-BL

Type

ATX Full Tower ("Jumbo Tower")

Dimensions (mm)

D 674 x W 235 x H 640

Material

0,8mm SECC

Drive Bays ODD

4

Drive Bays HDD 2,5"/3,5"

10

M/B

Micro ATX to HPTX

Power Supply

2x ATX12V (optional)

I/O on top side

4x USB 3.0, 1x eSATA, HD/AC’97 Audio

Hot-swap Dock 2.5“/3.5“

Top side

Air Cooling - Front

pre-installed: 1x blue 18cm Vegas fan

Air Cooling - Left Side

pre-installed: 2x blue 18cm Vegas fans
optional: 2x 18cm fans

Air Cooling - Right Side

optional: 1x 9/12cm fan (max. 20mm depth)

Air Cooling - Top

pre-installed: 1x 23cm fan
optional: 1x 23cm fan

Air Cooling - Bottom

optional: 1x 23cm fan or 2x 12/14cm fans

Air Cooling - Rear

pre-installed: 1x 14cm fan

Air Cooling - Inside

optional: 2x 14cm fans (HDD Cooling)

Max. Length Graphics Cards

425mm

Max. CPU Cooler Height

190mm (170mm with side fans)

Expansion Slots

10x

Liquid Cooling Holes

7x

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-01-2012, 05:45:29

tinytomlogan


Thinking your Mobo has over indulged over the x-mas period? Needs to slim down a bit? With the new Enermax case it'll have plenty of room to run around and exercise in.

Continue Reading

11-01-2012, 05:56:59

Solidarity
To question the looks of this case simply because it resembles another would be a bit like saying "yeah his girlfriend is attractive, but she looks a little bit too much like Claudia Schiffer don't you think?"

This part of the review reminded me a lot of Jeremy Clarkson reviewing the Jag XK. Anyway, the first thing the case reminded me of was the CM690, only with rubber gromets inside.

11-01-2012, 06:03:48

SieB
Good review and it looks like a decent case.

I have a 690 II ADV sitting right next to me though and damn they are almost identical in looks. The Fulmo GT does improve on the looks though and it is obviously bigger and has better features and options.

11-01-2012, 06:32:11

sources95
Ive been waiting for tom to rip this case apart awsome review as per usual.

11-01-2012, 06:49:04

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by sources95 View Post

Ive been waiting for tom to rip this case apart awsome review as per usual.
G-dubs did this review dude not me

11-01-2012, 06:55:34

nothingspecial
Price is the killer for me. If it was around the 100 mark I could cope with modding the bits I didn't like, but at 180 it doesn't even get a look in.

From yet another 690II owner. And it's a white one, thanks to Snow Drift

11-01-2012, 08:47:10

sources95
oh crap my bad, great review G-dubs tom will you get one for review? Im tossing this up against the cosmos 2

11-01-2012, 09:10:39

sheroo
A nice humorous review. Too big for my needs. How much effort would it have taken to allow the front drive cage to be removed for a rad. How many drives do you need these days anyway?

11-01-2012, 09:31:41

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by sources95 View Post

oh crap my bad, great review G-dubs tom will you get one for review? Im tossing this up against the cosmos 2
It's already reviewed so Tom won't do it again. Great review Gary.

11-01-2012, 10:38:32

Lollipop
Don't like the looks.

11-01-2012, 11:58:29

daniSAUR
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

Good review and it looks like a decent case.

I have a 690 II ADV sitting right next to me though and damn they are almost identical in looks. The Fulmo GT does improve on the looks though and it is obviously bigger and has better features and options.
Snap. Had to double-take when I saw the first image. I was thinking to myself "this is a bit late for a CM690 II Adv. review.."

11-01-2012, 12:31:58

The_Lanbone
Slightly cheaper (and uglier imo) than the 800D I was looking at, but looks much easier to stuff a 360x60 and 240x60mm rad. Seems like this might be a better case for an h2o noob like me. I'll admit I may have skimmed a few parts of the review, but after drilling out the welds to remove the HDD cage can you fit a 240mm in the front vertically?

11-01-2012, 12:55:51

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by sources95 View Post

oh crap my bad, great review G-dubs tom will you get one for review? Im tossing this up against the cosmos 2
WTF would I want to review it seeing as it was me that sent it to G-dubs in the first place?

Read G-dubs review and dont be so disrespectful. if you have any questions ask them here for Gary.

11-01-2012, 12:58:49

AydST
nice review dude

11-01-2012, 13:31:34

thestepster
looks like a giant cm 690, and that name holy crap its epic bad!

11-01-2012, 14:22:38

G-Dubs
Thanks for all the feedback on the review guys. this is genuinly a good case. As I tried to put across in the review it can hardly be criticised for looking like the CM-690. A bit of me thinks Enermax have beaten Coolermaster to the punch. If Coolermaster had released this and called it the CM-890 what would we be thinking??? That said, it's not like CM haven't upped the ante with the CosmosII is it?

@ Lanbone. HDD cage is held in with rivets so a little beheading action and it's out. There is however an alternative as the inner surface of the HDD rack has stand offs for two 140mm fans. Unfortunately they're not spaced for rads, but it wouldn't take too much effort to drill new holes and re mount the standoffs spaced correctly for a 240 or 280 rad.

11-01-2012, 15:06:09

The_Lanbone
Hmm...very interesting. Thanks G-Dubs! I'll admit, I started reading the review, seemed like you didn't hate it right off the bat, then started skipping around for the key words about watercooling! This case has got my tiny little brain thinking again...my head hurts hahaha

11-01-2012, 16:51:47

crimson2404
Looks like the cm 690 ii

11-01-2012, 17:35:55

CocaCola
Nice reivew G-dubs. It really does look similar to the CM 690 2nd gen cases. The side fans look almost the exact replica of the Silverstone Air Penetrators. Maybe they OEM-ed those?

12-01-2012, 06:26:39

LloydWT
I knows it's been said already, but I read the review yesterday, came back to OC3D today, saw the photo and presumed it was a CM690II again. It's so similar it managed to trick me even after I knew.

16-01-2012, 13:09:29

bangboy
this case is the same of rosewill blackhawk-ultra, probably this is just an OEM design :-(

17-01-2012, 05:54:04

marsey99
do like!!

19-01-2012, 18:01:29

barkaway
Its an OEM of the Xigmatek Elysium... everyone should be able to see that;-)

OR they might all be OEMS of something else but who cares

20-01-2012, 15:16:15

barkaway
I like My CM 690II but im running out of space and i like the Xigmatek for all the space it got so when they make babies I like even more

20-01-2012, 20:22:57

Godsmack
It's difficult to chose between it and the CM Cosmos II

22-01-2012, 11:35:07

barkaway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsmack View Post

It's difficult to chose between it and the CM Cosmos II
If you look at the price it isnt

24-01-2012, 00:43:39

cfire
Its a Rosewill BlackHawk ultra and i think it would be nice to see them together.

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Rosewill-Blackhawk-Ultra-Case-Review/1444

24-01-2012, 01:40:17

I Hunta x
Why couldn't they include the grommet over the 2nd CPU socket hole with the Fulmo GT like in the identical rosewill case cfire mentioned? Also the rosewill version has push/pull over the HDD rack for some unknown reason

Minus the probably not to great rosewill fans i actually prefer it to the Fulmo a little, (cant see the anoying hex grid through the front as easy, no silver strips along the front)

and in the us there nearly identical price wise.

Anywere in the uk that any one knows of that stocks rosewill cases?

24-01-2012, 07:15:06

Commander Keen
Great review, but please oh please sort out the apostrophe usage.

But on other matters, just when I get my choice of a new case down to two possibles along comes another case to add to them!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.