Enermax ETS-T40 CPU Cooler

Introduction and Tech-Spec

 Enermax ETS-T40

 

Introduction

From the very bad pun on the home page you've probably already worked out that the enigmatically named Enermax ETS-T40 sports one of Enermax's  excellent Apollish fans.  Nothing quite like getting a tick in the "Positives" box right at the get go.  The model reviewed here is more accurately referred to as the ETS-T40 TA model and forms part of a range of 3 fans in the ETS-T40 range, each having subtle differences.  In brief the differences are as follows.  The TB model has copper heat-pipes and is fitted with a TB silence PWM fan.  The TA (reviewed here) has Nickel plated copper heat-pipes and has a PWM TB Apollish fan.  The VD model goes back to the copper heat-pipes and comes with the full fat PWM TB Vegas fan.  The ETS-T40 is no monster so we're not expecting a record breaking set of temps from it, but lets see just how well it can hold it's own.

 

Tech-Spec

The ETS-T40 is purported by Enermax to include several patented design technologies all aimed at improving airflow and thus cooling characteristics.  As these technologies are best explained by Enermax themselves the following has been taken from the Enermax site

Vortex Generator Flow (VGF) - patented

Vortex generators are applied in aviation industry. They make sure that the air stream is lead as close as possible along the airplane’s wings. During the CPU cooler development, the Enermax engineers recognized the potential of this technology to optimize the air stream inside the heat sink: Small spoilers on the fins, the so-called Vortex generators, conduct the air close along the heat pipes. Much more fresh air can be transferred to the back of the heat pipes.

Enermax ETS-T40

Stack Effect Flow (SEF) - patented
The Stack Effect is a natural, physical phenomenon: Warm air is rising up because of its lower density and leaves a low pressure behind that in turn pulls cool air. Four openings in the middle of the heat sink make use of this effect. They interrupt the air stream so that the warm air gains space to escape. The heat dissipation can be accelerated.

Enermax ETS-T40

Vacuum Effect Flow
Also the third innovation makes use of a physical effect. The best example to explain this effect is a moving car: It pushes air aside as it goes down the road and leaves a low pressure. Air from the sides will be sucked in to compensate the difference in pressure. According to that, the CPU cooler sides are not fully closed, so that cool air can be sucked into the heat sink.

 Enermax ETS-T40

 

Key features of all three models

Models

ETS-T40-TB

ETS-T40-TA

ETS-T40-VD

Compatible Sockets

Intel® LGA 775/1155/1156/1366
AMD® AM2/AM2+/AM3/AM3+

Overall Dimensions (mm)

L 139 x W 93 x H 160

Heat Sink Dimensions (mm)

L 139 x W 70 x H 160

Number / Thickness of Heat Pipes

4 x Ø 6mm

Thermal Resistance (°C/W)

0.09

Weight (without fan)

610g

Material

Copper Heat Pipes / Aluminium Fins

Nickel-plated Heat Sink

no

yes

no

Thermal Grease

Dow Corning® TC-5121

Fan

   

Fan Dimensions (mm)

120 x 120 x 25

Bearing Type

Twister Bearing Technology (patented)

Fan Speed (RPM)

800 – 1,800

Air Flow (m3/h)

63.83 – 147.30

56.51 – 129.09

56.51 – 129.09

Air Flow (CFM)

37.57 – 86.70

33.26 – 75.98

33.26 – 75.98

Static Pressure (mm-H2O)

0.72 – 2.41

0.97 – 2.28

0.97 – 2.28

Noise Level (dB(A))

10-21

16-26

16-26

Rated Voltage (V)

12

MTBF

100,000 hours

LED

no

Patented circular LED light
with 12 blue diodes

Patented circular LED light with
18 blue and 18 red diodes /
11 LED modes

Fan connector

4P PWM

Fan Mounting

Metal brackets

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-11-2011, 05:22:45

tinytomlogan


A new range of coolers from Enermax. Lets see if their performance is as "Apollished" as that of their fans.

Continue Reading

21-11-2011, 05:59:23

yassarikhan786
Excellent review Gary .

I really like the looks of this cooler and it would be interesting to see how it performs on the Sandy Bridge line.

21-11-2011, 06:22:12

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 View Post

Excellent review Gary .

I really like the looks of this cooler and it would be interesting to see how it performs on the Sandy Bridge line.
Well since sandy bridge run alot cooler it will do well. This seems great cooler for mid to high which is sandys price range and area.

21-11-2011, 06:35:46

dugdiamond
not bad for a single tower/single fan cooler

21-11-2011, 06:36:50

SieB
Seems a decent budget cooler, I'd rather go for the Dark Rock Advanced at that price though.

21-11-2011, 09:02:10

G-Dubs
Cheers for the feedback on the reviews guys. I've still got my L plates on but learning fast. I was really impressed with this cooler, both in its performance and the quality of the build. Granted the BeQuiet models look sexier but then it's back to the Holy Trinity isn't it. If you're thinking about this cooler then it's also worth looking at the Thermolab Trinity, it offers very similar performance and and if you shop about most likely a smidge cheaper.

21-11-2011, 09:16:15

Fez
good job on the review mate i like the idea of the small fins on the top to combat hanging heat behind the pipes

21-11-2011, 11:41:29

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post

Cheers for the feedback on the reviews guys. I've still got my L plates on but learning fast. I was really impressed with this cooler, both in its performance and the quality of the build. Granted the BeQuiet models look sexier but then it's back to the Holy Trinity isn't it. If you're thinking about this cooler then it's also worth looking at the Thermolab Trinity, it offers very similar performance and and if you shop about most likely a smidge cheaper.
How does it compare with the likes of cheaper coolers like the Hyper 212+? Is the 10+ worth it to go with this cooler for people who want a cooler that won't restrict the RAM slots?

21-11-2011, 12:04:37

Korg
Nice review! Performance don't look to impressive but it looks nice.

21-11-2011, 15:14:35

CocaCola
It's definitely a decent cooler to think about if budget comes to mind. I think the Cooler Master Hyper 212+ is still a much better alternative in terms of pricing. It would be great if the be quiet! coolers had a similar mounting system. You won't get grey hairs from trying to mount the cooler properly.

I wonder how this cooler will perform side by side to the ETS-T40-TB version where it uses the T.B.Silence fan?

22-11-2011, 16:35:58

G-Dubs
TB fan performance I would think much the same give or take. I've actually got a TB fan around somewhere so if I get time I'll strap it on and have a look.

Re 212+, I'm currently reviewing the successor to it, the 212 EVO so be sure to watch the reviews section for the results.

22-11-2011, 17:02:09

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post

TB fan performance I would think much the same give or take. I've actually got a TB fan around somewhere so if I get time I'll strap it on and have a look.

Re 212+, I'm currently reviewing the successor to it, the 212 EVO so be sure to watch the reviews section for the results.
Nice .

22-11-2011, 20:03:20

CocaCola
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post

TB fan performance I would think much the same give or take. I've actually got a TB fan around somewhere so if I get time I'll strap it on and have a look.

Re 212+, I'm currently reviewing the successor to it, the 212 EVO so be sure to watch the reviews section for the results.
That would be really neat. Would be nice to know if there's any differences between the 2 fans. I have tried the T.B.Silence fan and it's not that bad. I'd say it's much quieter than the Apollish fans.

Can't wait to see how the 212 Evo will be. The fan seems to be an upgrade over the original fan from the 212 +.

23-11-2011, 05:43:24

Solidarity
At least i wasn't the only one thinking about this vs 212+. It does however appear to be a good cooler.

25-11-2011, 05:33:37

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacob622 View Post

thanks for sharing such useful information with us as i want to buy new fan...or coolar please give me the tips how to buy and which brand produce good service!!!!!!!!

Kamagra
SUSPECTED SPAM - Linking to Viagra Pills, lol.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.