EK Supreme CPU Water Block

Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Final Thoughts and Conclusion

So how well did the EK Supreme perform in todays review?

There's simply no denying that the EK Supreme is an absolutely gorgeous pice of kit, and something that we've come to expect from cooling hardware coming out of EK Water Blocks. The lower profile; engraved Delrin top and shiny chromed mounting plate all add up to a winner in my books. However, the motherboard compatibility of the EK Supreme slightly detracted from the experience. Although, in defense of EK with regards to the compatibility problems, many overclocking enthusiasts tend to do away with manufacturer solutions, and instead opt for their own custom cooling.

Performance-wise the EK Supreme is certainly very capable, as was demonstrated in our performance testing today. The EK Supreme clearly beats the stock D-TEK FuZion pound for pound. However, with the availability of jet nozzles for the FuZion this lead may be significantly reduced. In the near future I will be re-running the tests with a nozzled FuZion to see how things pan out.

The restrictive nature of the EK Supreme also warrants a mention here simply because you will need to have a considerably powerful pump if you're going to run with a loop setup above and beyond the typical. For example: CPU; GPU (x2), and NB blocks may bring your flow to a halt if running an underpowered pump.

The pricing of the EK Supreme is the absolute kicker here though. With the D-TEK FuZion coming in at around £37.99 Incl. VAT, the EK Supreme comes in considerably further below that at £34.99 Incl. VAT from our friends at WaterCooling UK

Let's have a look at the performance break-down:
 
The Good
• Performance (beats a stock FuZion)
• Looks
• Price
• Universal compatibility
• Low profile
 
The Mediocre
• Restrictive
 
The Bad
• Nix, nada and zip
 
I have decided to award the EK Supreme the Overclock3D 'Best in Class' award for its performance today in beating the stock FuZion. Whilst people may argue with this result it is based purely on the results of a level playing field. The EK Supreme has also earnt the 'Value for Money' award based on its excellent price.
 
Best in class award Recommended award
 
Overclock3D would like to thank WaterCooling UK for providing the review sample.
 
Discuss in our forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-12-2007, 09:53:14

PV5150
OC3D has put the new EK Supreme through its paces in an effort to see if it can usurp the title of 'Cooling King' from the D-TEK FuZion.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...122228637s.jpg

I like my Supreme's with lots of anchovies and chillies.

14-12-2007, 10:09:41

Ham
Nice job as normal PVs.

Fantastic looking and performing block!

14-12-2007, 10:27:29

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback Ham Yeah the block is simply gorgeous...I can't wait until the plexi tops arrive

14-12-2007, 10:29:14

Brooksie
Nice review PV.. Great block

14-12-2007, 10:32:36

llwyd
Holy moly, didnt expect that much of it

Tempted to invest in one of these now

14-12-2007, 11:01:33

Yeungster
Ooooh this looks interesting now..

I really am looking forward to you Fuzion nozzle kit reviews now against the EK Supreme with different plates.

I assume the Swiftech 655 has enough power to deal with the restrictiveness of this block? I'm only cooling my cpu at the moment with a PA120.3 lol

14-12-2007, 11:27:26

BloomerzUK
99%, jeez. Move over Dtek.

14-12-2007, 12:29:37

Bungral
Ahhhhhhhh I was only searching for a review of this block last night.. I love you!!!

Ok perhaps not love but you are pretty good

I'll read this when I get back from Bloc Party tonight

14-12-2007, 13:54:57

Luigi
SOOO glad i waited and ordered one

14-12-2007, 15:10:40

NickS
Dammit, my Fuzion is now obsolete

14-12-2007, 15:42:46

Luigi
injectors?

14-12-2007, 15:44:37

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Dammit, my Fuzion is now obsolete
By a whole 1C ye

14-12-2007, 16:22:26

Rob*
Great review PV as always.

I'm looking forward to EK bringing out the new Accelerator plates for this block so we can have a heads up with the DTEK again but this time both with the aftermarket performance packs

They shall be heading your way shortly once they are in production

14-12-2007, 22:59:52

PV5150
Thanks all for the feedback on the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it

15-12-2007, 06:21:57

Luigi
well its good to see some hard evidence that shows how good this block is...

11-01-2008, 11:28:59

Sp33dFr34k
Wow, nice review!

I'm kinda curious how it performs in comparison with the Nozzle kit from D-Tek. Still thinking about buying the nozzle kit or the EK block...

11-01-2008, 13:04:13

FarFarAway
I believe you will be seeing this fairly shortly

12-01-2008, 06:34:43

Sp33dFr34k
Sure hope so

In the meantime I would like to get a nozzle kit as they're not that expensive, but they're kinda hard to get a hold of it seems.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.