EK Supreme CPU Water Block

Testing

Testing

You can see from the pressure and flow testing that our assumptions on the EK Supreme being restrictive were spot on. Both the XSPC Delta and D-TEK FuZion clearly facilitate considerably better flow.

Pressure vs Flow chart

Looking at the figures another way. We can really see the dramatic pressure drop exhibited by both the Swiftech Storm and the EK Supreme.

Pressure Drop vs Flow

However, when it comes down to the business end of the performance testing we see a vastly different picture. Sure we knew that the Swiftech Storm G4 would be a little out of its league when it came to keeping an overclocked quad-core cool, but the  EK Supreme takes the lead over the D-TEK. Please bear in mind that this is a stock D-TEK FuZion without the assistance of performance nozzles, which ensures fairness when compared to the stock EK Supreme. It looks like we have a winner.

I did mount the EK Supreme horizontally and vertically on my motherboard, and the vertical mounting certainly gave a better performance on my quad-core. Horizontally mounted the EK Supreme bettered the FuZion by around 2 - 2.25 degrees C; vertically mounted the results below are even better.

#Note: During the overclocked testing for the EK Supreme my P5B Deluxe decided to turn up its toes and die. You've seen it before: fans and lights on but nobody's home kind of thing. I had managed to complete 2 mounts of the water block, but not a third so please be mindful of that when looking at the results.

EK Supreme

Looking at the ΔT chart, it becomes very plain to see that EK Water Blocks are definitely on to a winner. It will be interesting to see how much of a change there will be between the performance and high-flow plates for the EK Supreme when they become available.

Delta T chart

Well there you have it! The D-TEK FuZion has finally met its match on a level playing field. Once Eddy makes the alternative plates available for purchase we'll run some comparisons between them and the D-TEK nozzles, but for now let's head over the page to see what we've learnt from todays review...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-12-2007, 09:53:14

PV5150
OC3D has put the new EK Supreme through its paces in an effort to see if it can usurp the title of 'Cooling King' from the D-TEK FuZion.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...122228637s.jpg

I like my Supreme's with lots of anchovies and chillies.

14-12-2007, 10:09:41

Ham
Nice job as normal PVs.

Fantastic looking and performing block!

14-12-2007, 10:27:29

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback Ham Yeah the block is simply gorgeous...I can't wait until the plexi tops arrive

14-12-2007, 10:29:14

Brooksie
Nice review PV.. Great block

14-12-2007, 10:32:36

llwyd
Holy moly, didnt expect that much of it

Tempted to invest in one of these now

14-12-2007, 11:01:33

Yeungster
Ooooh this looks interesting now..

I really am looking forward to you Fuzion nozzle kit reviews now against the EK Supreme with different plates.

I assume the Swiftech 655 has enough power to deal with the restrictiveness of this block? I'm only cooling my cpu at the moment with a PA120.3 lol

14-12-2007, 11:27:26

BloomerzUK
99%, jeez. Move over Dtek.

14-12-2007, 12:29:37

Bungral
Ahhhhhhhh I was only searching for a review of this block last night.. I love you!!!

Ok perhaps not love but you are pretty good

I'll read this when I get back from Bloc Party tonight

14-12-2007, 13:54:57

Luigi
SOOO glad i waited and ordered one

14-12-2007, 15:10:40

NickS
Dammit, my Fuzion is now obsolete

14-12-2007, 15:42:46

Luigi
injectors?

14-12-2007, 15:44:37

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Dammit, my Fuzion is now obsolete
By a whole 1C ye

14-12-2007, 16:22:26

Rob*
Great review PV as always.

I'm looking forward to EK bringing out the new Accelerator plates for this block so we can have a heads up with the DTEK again but this time both with the aftermarket performance packs

They shall be heading your way shortly once they are in production

14-12-2007, 22:59:52

PV5150
Thanks all for the feedback on the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it

15-12-2007, 06:21:57

Luigi
well its good to see some hard evidence that shows how good this block is...

11-01-2008, 11:28:59

Sp33dFr34k
Wow, nice review!

I'm kinda curious how it performs in comparison with the Nozzle kit from D-Tek. Still thinking about buying the nozzle kit or the EK block...

11-01-2008, 13:04:13

FarFarAway
I believe you will be seeing this fairly shortly

12-01-2008, 06:34:43

Sp33dFr34k
Sure hope so

In the meantime I would like to get a nozzle kit as they're not that expensive, but they're kinda hard to get a hold of it seems.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.