Eddie EK FC79 7800/7900 GPU Block

A closer Look - The Eddie EK GPU Block

The Block

The EK block is again 2 parts as in the Alphacool block. The contact area is solid copper machined to fit on the memory sinks and the GPU. The top is Acrylic and is very attractive to look at.

eddie ek gpu block

As you can see, the EK block has a bolt-on aluminium part to cool the power management chips. This is an excellent addition and is certainly needed with the newer cards such as the 7900GTX.

Closer into the block you can see the top of the GPU contact area. The block utilises 7 wave channels or "fins". EK say:

"The curves increase cooling surface and increases turbulence. The turbulence in channels reduces thickness of laminar flow which significantly increases cooling performance compared to straight fins."

Here you can see them:

eddie ek block


The finish on the contact area is not as shiny as I have seen on previous blocks, but the block itself is very flat. I took a couple of bits of glass and laid them on the cooler to test the contact area and the block has a very flat contact area.

The block before TIM:

eddie ek block

eddie ek gpu block

And after a quick clean:

eddie ek block

Onto installation...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-08-2006, 19:13:07

FarFarAway
We take a look at this high-end EK block and see how it does...

Check it here

http://www.overclock3d.net/thumb.php?id=2411

13-08-2006, 19:37:31

NickS
Rapes the alphacool man, Eddie blocks rawk. If they werent so darn expensive I'd consider one for my X1K.

13-08-2006, 19:39:05

AKtodaface
looks sick! its too bad my parts dont run hot enough to need water cooling lol

14-08-2006, 03:16:33

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Rapes the alphacool man, Eddie blocks rawk. If they werent so darn expensive I'd consider one for my X1K.
I don't know about rapes...but it is an awesome block

14-08-2006, 03:27:45

JN
The base looked a bit tarnished mate? Was this the camera's doing, or was the blocks base not protected with a layer of plastic?

14-08-2006, 04:11:32

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
The base looked a bit tarnished mate? Was this the camera's doing, or was the blocks base not protected with a layer of plastic?
The base wasn't scratched at all, it just had some ingrained marks from milling. There were no surface scratches at all - these were just "stains"

Shiny doesn't always mean flat

EDIT: No layer of plastic: but adequate protection was given to the block

14-08-2006, 05:58:51

PV5150
Nice review Kemp. Loved both performance and the look, although it certainly appeared as though the base was badly oxidised. Well done

14-08-2006, 06:08:04

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Nice review Kemp. Loved both performance and the look, although it certainly appeared as though the base was badly oxidised. Well done
Yeah but it was thoroughly cleaned with TIM so I don't think it was. Just milling marks. Seen it on other blocks and even though they're flat they still have marks.

Performance was awesome though so I couldn't possibly put this as a -'ive

14-08-2006, 06:40:52

PV5150
Yep agree totally. Further; you mentioned the plain packaging which is also refreshing. Some manufacturers are finally letting their products do the talking, instead of bombarding us with all the usual jargon and rhetoric on the outside packaging.

14-08-2006, 06:56:15

Dav0s
dont think u could have chosen a beter pic to sum it up ^^^

looks sexeh with the green fluid in the dark

14-08-2006, 06:57:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav0s
dont think u could have chosen a beter pic to sum it up ^^^

looks sexeh with the green fluid in the dark
Oh yes!

Damn sexy. A very nice block all in all

14-08-2006, 07:36:51

FragTek
Wow very nice block, and great review Kemp! Waterblocks are kind of a PITA to do reviews on unless you're planning on draining your loop for something else anyhow.

You should really test a DD full cover block and then do a shootout and sum-up review between the alpha, eddie, and dd blocks.

15-08-2006, 02:27:51

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
You should really test a DD full cover block and then do a shootout and sum-up review between the alpha, eddie, and dd blocks
Awesome suggestion Fraggles, that'd certainly be a droolworthy review worth reading

19-08-2006, 19:18:20

Mullet
Nice review mate...

Should be installing my EK Sli set-up this week....seeing that UV dye has raised doubts, was set on blue....but now leaning towards green!

20-08-2006, 06:55:32

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mullet'
seeing that UV dye has raised doubts, was set on blue....but now leaning towards green
Yeah the UV green looks lush fo' sho' I love it; actually I'm partial to Fraggles orange too in ye old 'fear and loathing'
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.