Eddie EK FC79 7800/7900 GPU Block

Introduction, Packaging and Package

Introduction

Full cover GPU blocks are becoming more and more popular. Along with all the usual contenders from Danger Den and Alphacool, Eddie released their full cover block. Hugely popular among enthusiasts, the Eddie Ek full block is a great looker and a great performer.

I am taking a look at the Eddie EK full cover block for the 7900 series to see why it's so popular and if the hype is to be believed.


Packaging

The packaging leaves me with little to say in all honesty. It's in a plain white box with the Eddie Ek label on it, showing which card series the block you've bought is compatible with.

Whilst this is plain and uninsteresting: it really does not matter as the online stores show what the block actually looks like. There is no marketing rubbish and no useless pictures. This reviewer has seen this in the past with the Crystalfontz LCD and it's a refreshing change in all honesty.

eddie ek block

The block came packaged up in bubble wrap and had plenty of packaging to keep it safe during transit. This is in contrast to the Alphacool block, which came with little protection for the contact area.

eddie ek block inside

The package that comes with the Eddie Ek block is pretty decent. It came with the block, screws and fixings, instructions and 1/4" G4 to 1/2" Barb fitments (not pictured). There is no thermal paste with the block but EK (rightly) assume that enthusiasts will choose their own TIM solution.

eddie ek block

The instructions with the block are clear and easy to follow and also supplied is a diagram with easy to follow labels. This manual was even better than the Alphacool manual and you should have no problems following it. EK also supply spacer fitments that shorten the thread and allow fitting of the barbs without hindering the flow.

Next we look at the block itself...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-08-2006, 19:13:07

FarFarAway
We take a look at this high-end EK block and see how it does...

Check it here

http://www.overclock3d.net/thumb.php?id=2411

13-08-2006, 19:37:31

NickS
Rapes the alphacool man, Eddie blocks rawk. If they werent so darn expensive I'd consider one for my X1K.

13-08-2006, 19:39:05

AKtodaface
looks sick! its too bad my parts dont run hot enough to need water cooling lol

14-08-2006, 03:16:33

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Rapes the alphacool man, Eddie blocks rawk. If they werent so darn expensive I'd consider one for my X1K.
I don't know about rapes...but it is an awesome block

14-08-2006, 03:27:45

JN
The base looked a bit tarnished mate? Was this the camera's doing, or was the blocks base not protected with a layer of plastic?

14-08-2006, 04:11:32

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
The base looked a bit tarnished mate? Was this the camera's doing, or was the blocks base not protected with a layer of plastic?
The base wasn't scratched at all, it just had some ingrained marks from milling. There were no surface scratches at all - these were just "stains"

Shiny doesn't always mean flat

EDIT: No layer of plastic: but adequate protection was given to the block

14-08-2006, 05:58:51

PV5150
Nice review Kemp. Loved both performance and the look, although it certainly appeared as though the base was badly oxidised. Well done

14-08-2006, 06:08:04

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Nice review Kemp. Loved both performance and the look, although it certainly appeared as though the base was badly oxidised. Well done
Yeah but it was thoroughly cleaned with TIM so I don't think it was. Just milling marks. Seen it on other blocks and even though they're flat they still have marks.

Performance was awesome though so I couldn't possibly put this as a -'ive

14-08-2006, 06:40:52

PV5150
Yep agree totally. Further; you mentioned the plain packaging which is also refreshing. Some manufacturers are finally letting their products do the talking, instead of bombarding us with all the usual jargon and rhetoric on the outside packaging.

14-08-2006, 06:56:15

Dav0s
dont think u could have chosen a beter pic to sum it up ^^^

looks sexeh with the green fluid in the dark

14-08-2006, 06:57:12

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav0s
dont think u could have chosen a beter pic to sum it up ^^^

looks sexeh with the green fluid in the dark
Oh yes!

Damn sexy. A very nice block all in all

14-08-2006, 07:36:51

FragTek
Wow very nice block, and great review Kemp! Waterblocks are kind of a PITA to do reviews on unless you're planning on draining your loop for something else anyhow.

You should really test a DD full cover block and then do a shootout and sum-up review between the alpha, eddie, and dd blocks.

15-08-2006, 02:27:51

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
You should really test a DD full cover block and then do a shootout and sum-up review between the alpha, eddie, and dd blocks
Awesome suggestion Fraggles, that'd certainly be a droolworthy review worth reading

19-08-2006, 19:18:20

Mullet
Nice review mate...

Should be installing my EK Sli set-up this week....seeing that UV dye has raised doubts, was set on blue....but now leaning towards green!

20-08-2006, 06:55:32

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mullet'
seeing that UV dye has raised doubts, was set on blue....but now leaning towards green
Yeah the UV green looks lush fo' sho' I love it; actually I'm partial to Fraggles orange too in ye old 'fear and loathing'
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.