DimasTech Bench Table

Conclusion

 
Conclusion
 
At the start of this review I stated that this case is attempting to occupy a niche gap in the market, and form what I've seen over my time with it I can safely say that the DimasTech Bench table fills it nicely. Any enthusiast that swaps out parts on a regular basis, whether it be for benchmarking, reviewing or just people who love new hardware. I'm sure that many would agree that the standard tower case is not the most ideal of designs to cater for their needs - and that's where this case excels.
 
Able to accommodate nearly any kind of cooling solution and hardware combination there are very few things to pick with the DimasTech Bench Table. The largest flaw was the lack of a concise instruction manual, which after a little time with the case isn't a major issue and hopefully the guide on page two of this review should help anyone trying to assemble their set up.
 
The case can be obtained directly from DimasTech's site, although it would be far easier for us in the UK to head over to Chilled PC and order one form there. They come in at a very reasonable GBP129.99. While it is a fair whack of cash for what is essentially a basic case, but the way the bench table is designed,and  the overall quality of it makes it a worthwhile investment to anyone who regularly swaps out hardware. The only real competition for this case is the Antec Skeleton witch weighs in at roughly the same price and, in this reviewers opinion, doesn't look half as nice.
 
The Good
+ Practical
+ Looks Fantastic
+ Part swapping is a cinch
+ Available in various colours
 
The Mediocre
* Price isn't perfect, but far from OTT
 
The Bad
 - Zippo
 
 
Thanks go out to Chilled PC for providing the review sample.
 
Discuss in the forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-11-2008, 14:58:54

Ham
Fed up to tower cases cramping your style? Or just find them too much hassle because your swapping parts out ever other day? Today we take a look at the Dimas Bench Table, which could just be the answer to a lot of enthusiast's prayers.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...161426830s.jpg

Review

11-11-2008, 16:11:27

Mullet
Nice review there bud! Very versatile workstation for the enthusiast! Liking the pre-cut radiator panels and the colour combination also makes it look pretty distinctive.

11-11-2008, 17:05:44

Rastalovich
Tremendous review Ham, for an awesome piece of kit from my pov. (mess with things too much)

130... hmm, I think u judged it about right - it's not too expensive, and it's not exactly cheap, although it seems alot. But it's professional enough for u to make an excuse to buy it, cos if u seek one u usually have a reason or purpose. In that sense u can view it as an investment.

Construction is good, probably more finished than I imagined. Generally I would have thought less-flash (flash probably wrong word) and more practical-emphasis, but it does make it more appealing to the masses I would think. (to explain, I'd be happy with a plain silver-metallic )

Very versatile as expected.

I've always looked at these and wondered why they don't do a lid that u can just lift off, no screws, perhaps a catch to stop any vibration. I know in alot of respects it defeats the majority of the reasons why u would buy 1. But I think here of like in my case I'd buy 4 perhaps and whilst messing with one, the others mainly stay enclosed (with fan inlet vents and a cable hole).

Great stuff.

EDIT: With those great OC3D colors, they might think of providing 1 each to the regular reviewers on here I'm sure they'd get a fair share of promotion from it. Oh and lovely pink tubing m8

11-11-2008, 17:26:33

JN
These bench tables are simply a godsend. I went out and purchased mine a few months back - before we got the offer fo a review one, and it just makes everything so much easier.

one thing I've done on mine tho is swapped the motherboard standoff's for large rubber feet (so I dont need to have a screwdriver handy when doing a mobo swapout).

11-11-2008, 17:33:00

Rastalovich
Could you also opt for something like one of those grippy rubber mat things ? Buy a sheet and cut it in. I'd imagine the solder pins under the mobo would add to the grip.

11-11-2008, 17:39:10

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Could you also opt for something like one of those grippy rubber mat things ? Buy a sheet and cut it in. I'd imagine the solder pins under the mobo would add to the grip.
The only problem with a totally flat mat is that the graphics card/pci card blanking plates poke out a bit behind the motherboard, so you need to elivate the motherboard by about 15mm or you end up with a GPU half hanging out of the slot .

Grippy mat would be a good idea if you could strategically line the pci card blanking plates up with some of the holes in the case tho.

12-11-2008, 09:22:36

Jaster
Nice review, could do with one of these for our testing station.

One thing though, over in Taiwan we've seen case builder kits becoming very popular. Basically all components housing, hard drive racks, 5 1/4 inch bays, motherboard trays, of various styles and descriptions that basically latch on into any configuration you wish, kind of like a "meccanno" style case solution. This option is cheap, highly customizable and would suit the user better. I know its not mainstay in the UK, but when its mentioned on bbc's click program it made me wonder how long before we see these meccanno kits start popping up at the retailers. Just a thought. Check iclick out here Click 24 th Oct

12-11-2008, 11:49:31

AydST
been looking at these for a while.

Did have one test rig that was about 70 and you'd have been better off with a cardboard box, more hassle that it was worth, so 130 based on previous experience is well worth the money
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.