DimasTech Bench Table

Assembly

 Putting The Pieces Together
 
This part of the review is normally taken up by a thorough look at the externals and internals of a case. But seeing as this came in a DIY format, I'm going to put in a quick guide to assembling the case to try and prevent people from making the same mistakes I did.
 
To start with a little tool list:
 
* 7mm Spanner
* 13mm Spanner
* 2 x Philips Head screwdriver (Medium & Small)
* Flat Head Screwdriver
* Hammer
* Drift
 
Almost everyone should have access to the basic tool list that I included above. Assembling the case without them, while possible, might prove awfully fiddly. So assuming everything is unpacked and the tools are ready and waiting, it's time to begin.
 
1: Install the drive and PSU Mounts
 
Using the longer bolts, a washer and nut, simply screw them into the holes on the base where you want them. Make sure you install the mounts with the lip of the tray facing down, as you can see in the first image. The second shows which mount holes are for what.
 
Drive_Bolt Base
 
2: Install the Feet
 
The feet of the case screw into the bottom lip of the outer shell. They use the larger of the nuts and washers that are supplied in the package.
 
Foot
 
3: Install the motherboard stand-offs
 
Using the thin screws in the pack, insert them through the holes in the outer shell and screw the stand-off over the top. Bare in mind that there are mounts for both mATX and ATX here, so make sure that you screw in the ones you need. Screwing in one of the wrong mounts has the potential to cause a short.
 
Standoffs
 
4: Install the Switches
 
Now these were a real pain. Here I knocked them in using the hammer and drift because the holes were made ever so slightly smaller by the powder coating. Installing them by hand is probably possible, but one good thwack with a hammer and they were in. It's important to use the drift as it will prevent damage to the button. Once they're in, press on the locking washer and do up the nut by hand. This can be very fiddly due to the very thin nut. If you're having too much trouble tightening them up, you should be able to forfeit the locking washer.
 
Switches
 
5: Install the PCI bracket
 
Once again using the longer of the screws, install the PCI bracket. I'd recommend not to do it up fully at this stage, as you might need to adjust it when installing the expansion cards.
 
PCI_Bracket
 
5: Install the base into the outer shell.
 
I would strongly advise you to Install the PSU, drives and any other components needed on the lower level before installing it as this will save a fair amount of hassle later.
 
Drives_Mounted
 
Slide in the base but be sure to avoid the screw thread that is protruding out from the case feet by simply lifting the tray 1/2" every time. Watch out for the screws holding in the hardware mounts as well. Once the tray is in place, line up the holes in the base with the mounting holes on the outer shell and then bolt them together.
 
Base_Installed Base_Screw
 
Now the DimasTech Bench Table is finished and ready for torturing some poor, unsuspecting hardware!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-11-2008, 14:58:54

Ham
Fed up to tower cases cramping your style? Or just find them too much hassle because your swapping parts out ever other day? Today we take a look at the Dimas Bench Table, which could just be the answer to a lot of enthusiast's prayers.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...161426830s.jpg

Review

11-11-2008, 16:11:27

Mullet
Nice review there bud! Very versatile workstation for the enthusiast! Liking the pre-cut radiator panels and the colour combination also makes it look pretty distinctive.

11-11-2008, 17:05:44

Rastalovich
Tremendous review Ham, for an awesome piece of kit from my pov. (mess with things too much)

130... hmm, I think u judged it about right - it's not too expensive, and it's not exactly cheap, although it seems alot. But it's professional enough for u to make an excuse to buy it, cos if u seek one u usually have a reason or purpose. In that sense u can view it as an investment.

Construction is good, probably more finished than I imagined. Generally I would have thought less-flash (flash probably wrong word) and more practical-emphasis, but it does make it more appealing to the masses I would think. (to explain, I'd be happy with a plain silver-metallic )

Very versatile as expected.

I've always looked at these and wondered why they don't do a lid that u can just lift off, no screws, perhaps a catch to stop any vibration. I know in alot of respects it defeats the majority of the reasons why u would buy 1. But I think here of like in my case I'd buy 4 perhaps and whilst messing with one, the others mainly stay enclosed (with fan inlet vents and a cable hole).

Great stuff.

EDIT: With those great OC3D colors, they might think of providing 1 each to the regular reviewers on here I'm sure they'd get a fair share of promotion from it. Oh and lovely pink tubing m8

11-11-2008, 17:26:33

JN
These bench tables are simply a godsend. I went out and purchased mine a few months back - before we got the offer fo a review one, and it just makes everything so much easier.

one thing I've done on mine tho is swapped the motherboard standoff's for large rubber feet (so I dont need to have a screwdriver handy when doing a mobo swapout).

11-11-2008, 17:33:00

Rastalovich
Could you also opt for something like one of those grippy rubber mat things ? Buy a sheet and cut it in. I'd imagine the solder pins under the mobo would add to the grip.

11-11-2008, 17:39:10

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Could you also opt for something like one of those grippy rubber mat things ? Buy a sheet and cut it in. I'd imagine the solder pins under the mobo would add to the grip.
The only problem with a totally flat mat is that the graphics card/pci card blanking plates poke out a bit behind the motherboard, so you need to elivate the motherboard by about 15mm or you end up with a GPU half hanging out of the slot .

Grippy mat would be a good idea if you could strategically line the pci card blanking plates up with some of the holes in the case tho.

12-11-2008, 09:22:36

Jaster
Nice review, could do with one of these for our testing station.

One thing though, over in Taiwan we've seen case builder kits becoming very popular. Basically all components housing, hard drive racks, 5 1/4 inch bays, motherboard trays, of various styles and descriptions that basically latch on into any configuration you wish, kind of like a "meccanno" style case solution. This option is cheap, highly customizable and would suit the user better. I know its not mainstay in the UK, but when its mentioned on bbc's click program it made me wonder how long before we see these meccanno kits start popping up at the retailers. Just a thought. Check iclick out here Click 24 th Oct

12-11-2008, 11:49:31

AydST
been looking at these for a while.

Did have one test rig that was about 70 and you'd have been better off with a cardboard box, more hassle that it was worth, so 130 based on previous experience is well worth the money
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.