Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review

Internal

Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review  



Up Close - Internal

When the side panels are removed by unscrewing the 4 small screws on each panel, the internal design of the Mini Cube may come as a bit of a shock. The all Aluminium design is always fantastic to look at, however the cut-outs are what draw attention more than anything else, the Cube Mini is a small case the packs a punch when it comes to features, its the first of its kind to support cable management (behind the motherboard) in a Mini-ITX case - a much needed feature that is impossible to ignore. The other small cut outs are a design feature to accommodate mounting internal drives, we'll explain how this works a little later.

Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review


The front panel connectors are bundled up neatly and tied together, conveniently all of the cables with the exception of the internal USB 3.0 cable - all manage to fit through the 'key-hole' cut outs which makes hiding them out of the way a doddle.

Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review


At the bottom of the case is a small vented area which can be used to mount a 2.5" drive. The power supply (if mounted fan down) is dust filtered. Located between the 2 area's is a small cut out of the motherboard tray - this is where PSU cables can be routed out, to be fed back into the case at the appropriate area.

Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review


Cable management is natively supported by the case and it is evident Cubitek haven't just throw it together. They have provided approximately 3cm of space behind the motherboard tray, which is more than adequate for routing cables. This space is also used by the drive mounting system as 3.5" and 2.5" drives can be mounted to the reverse side of the motherboard back tray.


Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review 

 

 

   

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-03-2013, 07:53:30

tinytomlogan
Today we will be looking at the Cubitek Mini Cube. A case that promises big things from a small package. OC3D take a look inside and see what the Mini Cube has to offer.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...125502306l.jpg


Continue Reading

04-03-2013, 08:00:14

paulstung
Ok , but iv'e been curious about the Magic cube .

04-03-2013, 09:10:55

F-alienware
Hmm. How can you rate a case without testing the cooling? Surely it needs a PC built into it and compared against other cases?

From what I can see it has hardly any cooling at all meaning it's just going to be a hot box.

Bit of a disappointing review really. Didn't even fit a GPU to it.

04-03-2013, 09:29:18

Greenback
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Hmm. How can you rate a case without testing the cooling? Surely it needs a PC built into it and compared against other cases?

From what I can see it has hardly any cooling at all meaning it's just going to be a hot box.

Bit of a disappointing review really. Didn't even fit a GPU to it.
in the conclusion

"For most users, the low power systems that are usually put together in these type of cases won't be too concerned with temperatures as generally the components won't get too warm"

04-03-2013, 09:41:03

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Hmm. How can you rate a case without testing the cooling? Surely it needs a PC built into it and compared against other cases?

From what I can see it has hardly any cooling at all meaning it's just going to be a hot box.

Bit of a disappointing review really. Didn't even fit a GPU to it.

Very seldomly do we with ITX mate. Other than do they fit. lol

We would have to change the board to a better one to do any decent heat temps. Unless we get sent one that stays Im not buying anything.

04-03-2013, 09:55:03

FTR.4500MHz
I really like this little case!

And if cooling wise it might not have the best options you can always mod some intake/exhaust fans into it...

Otherwise nice review as usual.

Cheers.

04-03-2013, 10:12:03

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Very seldomly do we with ITX mate. Other than do they fit. lol

We would have to change the board to a better one to do any decent heat temps. Unless we get sent one that stays Im not buying anything.
Yeah that makes sense. Problem is loads of people are moving to ITX now for powerful overclocked rigs.

I guess this case would be pretty useless for that. Quite surprised you've not been sent a ITX board for review though given that there are quite a few around now (Giga and Asrock make loads).

I went to PC world (gob spit) the other week and PCs are most definitely shrinking. The PC section looked completely pathetic.

04-03-2013, 10:31:30

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Yeah that makes sense. Problem is loads of people are moving to ITX now for powerful overclocked rigs.

I guess this case would be pretty useless for that. Quite surprised you've not been sent a ITX board for review though given that there are quite a few around now (Giga and Asrock make loads).

I went to PC world (gob spit) the other week and PCs are most definitely shrinking. The PC section looked completely pathetic.

Most review stuff is on rotation. We have not done much ITX for a while anyways. Most ITX stuff is generally low power low heat.

Its still a tiny market for enthusiasts and something we will get too but ATM Im not sending Ian a high end cpu and gpu to use 3 times a year. Makes no business sense at all. Especially as Haswell is out in a few months.....

Need to think business matey

04-03-2013, 10:45:50

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Most review stuff is on rotation. We have not done much ITX for a while anyways. Most ITX stuff is generally low power low heat.

Its still a tiny market for enthusiasts and something we will get too but ATM Im not sending Ian a high end cpu and gpu to use 3 times a year. Makes no business sense at all. Especially as Haswell is out in a few months.....

Need to think business matey
Fair enough.

04-04-2013, 04:03:03

Vlada011
Nice Little Case.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.