Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review

External

Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review  



Up Close - External

In the introduction we mentioned that Cubitek have adopted the 'Less is More' approach to the design of a few of their cases, the Mini Cube is no exception. The front and side panels are brushed black aluminium which adds to its elegance and subtleness of the case and it could be easily mistaken for another electrical item, such as a sub woofer. The company logo located at the bottom of the front panel is the only giveaway that this is a PC case.

Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review


Situated on the front panel itself are the usual power and reset buttons in addition to power & hard drive activity lights.

Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review


Located at the top of the case are; 2x USB 2.0 ports, 2x USB 3.0 ports and the input jacks for stereo output and mic input.

Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review


Towards the side of the case, we get to see how nice the brushed aluminium looks. Not only does this help towards the weight of the case, as it weighs next to nothing. The stylish effect is always stunning to look at.

Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review     Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review


The rear of the case has a slightly different styling to the rest of the case as Cubitek have chosen to keep the rear panel plain Aluminium. This doesn't take anything away from the aesthetics of the case as most of the time the rear panel is never in view. Cooling is provided by a stamped out area where an 80mm or 90mm fan can be fitted and additional venting is added by 2 vented blanking plates which can be removed (via thumb screw) to fit a dual width graphics card or a single width card with an additional PCI component (should your motherboard support it).

Cubitek Mini Cube Case Review

   

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-03-2013, 07:53:30

tinytomlogan
Today we will be looking at the Cubitek Mini Cube. A case that promises big things from a small package. OC3D take a look inside and see what the Mini Cube has to offer.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...125502306l.jpg


Continue Reading

04-03-2013, 08:00:14

paulstung
Ok , but iv'e been curious about the Magic cube .

04-03-2013, 09:10:55

F-alienware
Hmm. How can you rate a case without testing the cooling? Surely it needs a PC built into it and compared against other cases?

From what I can see it has hardly any cooling at all meaning it's just going to be a hot box.

Bit of a disappointing review really. Didn't even fit a GPU to it.

04-03-2013, 09:29:18

Greenback
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Hmm. How can you rate a case without testing the cooling? Surely it needs a PC built into it and compared against other cases?

From what I can see it has hardly any cooling at all meaning it's just going to be a hot box.

Bit of a disappointing review really. Didn't even fit a GPU to it.
in the conclusion

"For most users, the low power systems that are usually put together in these type of cases won't be too concerned with temperatures as generally the components won't get too warm"

04-03-2013, 09:41:03

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Hmm. How can you rate a case without testing the cooling? Surely it needs a PC built into it and compared against other cases?

From what I can see it has hardly any cooling at all meaning it's just going to be a hot box.

Bit of a disappointing review really. Didn't even fit a GPU to it.

Very seldomly do we with ITX mate. Other than do they fit. lol

We would have to change the board to a better one to do any decent heat temps. Unless we get sent one that stays Im not buying anything.

04-03-2013, 09:55:03

FTR.4500MHz
I really like this little case!

And if cooling wise it might not have the best options you can always mod some intake/exhaust fans into it...

Otherwise nice review as usual.

Cheers.

04-03-2013, 10:12:03

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Very seldomly do we with ITX mate. Other than do they fit. lol

We would have to change the board to a better one to do any decent heat temps. Unless we get sent one that stays Im not buying anything.
Yeah that makes sense. Problem is loads of people are moving to ITX now for powerful overclocked rigs.

I guess this case would be pretty useless for that. Quite surprised you've not been sent a ITX board for review though given that there are quite a few around now (Giga and Asrock make loads).

I went to PC world (gob spit) the other week and PCs are most definitely shrinking. The PC section looked completely pathetic.

04-03-2013, 10:31:30

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Yeah that makes sense. Problem is loads of people are moving to ITX now for powerful overclocked rigs.

I guess this case would be pretty useless for that. Quite surprised you've not been sent a ITX board for review though given that there are quite a few around now (Giga and Asrock make loads).

I went to PC world (gob spit) the other week and PCs are most definitely shrinking. The PC section looked completely pathetic.

Most review stuff is on rotation. We have not done much ITX for a while anyways. Most ITX stuff is generally low power low heat.

Its still a tiny market for enthusiasts and something we will get too but ATM Im not sending Ian a high end cpu and gpu to use 3 times a year. Makes no business sense at all. Especially as Haswell is out in a few months.....

Need to think business matey

04-03-2013, 10:45:50

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Most review stuff is on rotation. We have not done much ITX for a while anyways. Most ITX stuff is generally low power low heat.

Its still a tiny market for enthusiasts and something we will get too but ATM Im not sending Ian a high end cpu and gpu to use 3 times a year. Makes no business sense at all. Especially as Haswell is out in a few months.....

Need to think business matey
Fair enough.

04-04-2013, 04:03:03

Vlada011
Nice Little Case.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.