Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers

NZXT Kraken X40 & X60, Corsair H90 & H110 Review

Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers  


Introduction

Who would of guessed 3 years ago when Corsair released the H50 they would become as popular as they are today. It was a slow start but things really kicked in when the H100 was released. In our eyes the H100 was the first of the viable performance AIO water coolers, the fans were far from great but that just made things easy when Corsair released the SP120 fans. One of the OC3D work stations was cooled with a H100 and a pair of SP120 QE's, temps were great but most importantly the system was quiet.

So in 2012 and NZXT start talking about their new Kraken AIO's, an Asetek design based around a 140mm and a 280mm radiator. If things look familiar with these then that's because the CPU block housing at least is the same as the H70. We would hope the internals have changed but the main unit and the mounting procedure is the same fiddly affair we disliked back then, time hasnt made us think any different!

When the Kraken X40 & X60 arrived our original i7 950 test rig decided to pack up, so we have been forced to make the switch to a 2011 3930K system. The main problem with a new test rig meant none of the old tests would be comparable any more and graphs with just the NZXT units in wouldn't be much of a review! So we decided to bring out the H100, H100i H80i and just for good measure as a baseline we chucked the NHD14 in too. That would have been plenty for the initial graphs but just as the testing was complete the Corsair H90 and H110 AIO's arrived. We got these tested too as they are nearly identical to the NZXT's and it seemed a great chance to compare them.

So with the first review on our new test rig we will be comparing the:

Noctua NH-D14 

Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers  

Corsair H100

Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers  

Corsair H80i

Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers  

Corsair H100i

Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers  

NZXT Kraken X40

Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers  

Corsair H90

Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers  

NZXT Kraken X60

Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers  

Corsair H110

Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers  

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-01-2013, 10:22:57

tinytomlogan
With all these new AIO's being released we put the two 140mm versions from both Corsair and NZXT head to head on our new test rig.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084811398l.jpg


Continue Reading

31-01-2013, 10:31:12

JMMP
Once again, an excellent review Tom!
an 100% thumbs up review!!!! lol

31-01-2013, 10:45:16

UkGouki
thanks for this tom

31-01-2013, 22:49:23

airdeano
excellent review and comparo.

now to fend off the trolls, because Tom said Corsair.. jeez
i see another troll video.. 4 stacked H100i rads with only 20 fans because we
want it believable... sub-zero cooling anyone? LOL

01-02-2013, 01:55:30

Vlada011
I love CORSAIR.
But I would stay at 2x120mm, 240mm radiators.
They are always better for me.

01-02-2013, 06:51:06

Smoke2049
Very helpful and the timing couldn't be better i was literally just going over which cooler would be best for my new build , Thanks Tom

01-02-2013, 07:58:53

SPS
All this testing and re-testing with 2011 must have been painful. But that's why we respect your reviews - no corners cut!

01-02-2013, 08:16:11

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
All this testing and re-testing with 2011 must have been painful. But that's why we respect your reviews - no corners cut!

Was a complete nightmare!

01-02-2013, 08:20:06

Smoke2049
Well it is very much appreciated Tom thanks mate

01-02-2013, 08:27:12

mArTyN


VERY pleased I got the 100i after watching the review.

Regards,

mArTyN

01-02-2013, 14:27:02

mastercrim
Great review sad to see the DH 14 fail at 4.6 because I loved the one I put in a friends rig.

01-02-2013, 14:50:58

jamesriley94
Interesting that the H80i beats the H100.

Also:
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/c...watercoolers/2

The test rig says 3930k, but all of the graphs say 3960x. Just wanted to point that out

03-02-2013, 11:10:01

murphy7801
cant wait for either company to do coolit version of dual 140mm rad

14-02-2013, 09:37:43

eminus
I got the X40 after the review..just because I got an Arc Midi lol...2x 1000rpm(push/pull) easily beats the 1x 2000rpm(push or pull)...in performance both cooling and noise

20-02-2013, 16:12:19

Greenback
It would be interesting with your new test rig to see how a proper watercooling setup would compare to these AIO, I know it will come as you do a lot of watercooling gear reviews.

On a side note you mention how long your video reviews go on for but from my side I'd rather watch a 40 minute review with all the info good and bad, then a 10 minute with the info I can go to the items website and get or in some cases 30 minutes with less info then what is on the website.

and for that I would like to thank you

29-05-2013, 17:02:13

Willzzz
Any news on the retesting with the Noctua fans?

01-06-2013, 13:31:54

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willzzz View Post
Any news on the retesting with the Noctua fans?
Not had time and tbh the moment has passed

20-07-2013, 12:58:09

loglog
Excellent review, although just having purchased an H100i i dont regret my purchase at all, nor will i be switching. But kudos to NZXT and their x60.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.