Corsair Obsidian 800D

Testing

Testing
 
Idle temperatures were taken after thirty minutes of sitting idle, and load temperatures after thirty minutes of torture tests using Prime95 to max out the 4 cores. Ambient temperature during testing was 22°c controlled by an air conditioner. The 800D was tested against a Cooler Master HAF 922 for comparison.  The hard drive temperatures were tested by cutting and pasting a 100GB random text file between the 2 hard drives 4 times and recording a maximum temperature over the course of the test. All fans in the both systems were run at 12v.
 
• HW-Monitor - record and monitor all temperatures
• Prime95 - CPU & Ram testing
• 100GB Random text document copied & pasted 4 times between the 2 drives
• ATI Tool - GPU testing
 
The excited kid with a new toy inside me soon calmed down when I booted the case for the first time, I let the system idle for 30minutes before taking these readings. The temperatures just kept rising, 8 degree's alone on both of the GPU's was enough for me to wonder what the hell was going on. So I popped the door open to inspect. The fans were moving hardly any air! I first thought they were wired wrong and were running at 7v, but no they were at maximum speed and running off a 12v molex correctly. The other big area of difference is the hard drive temperatures, I had worried the complicated layout would not work all that well, and compared to the 922 even at idle there is 8c difference on the Velociraptor and 7c difference on the Samsung. I did disconnect the fan and temperatures went up another 5-8c, so its the design thats making the drives this much hotter.
 
 
Moving on to Load testing things didn't get better they got a lot worse, the GPU's again suffering the most with the 922 coming in at 68/70c the Corsair was running at an egg cooking 85c on both the GPU's. The CPU was much the same, the 922 ran at 58c but the Corsair struggling to keep it at 75c. Even the motherboard was running a whole 8c hotter.
This would normally be the point Id move on to the conclusion and say that this case has terrible airflow, but as many of us do like to make changes to upgrade performance. I'm pretty sure that the problem with the temperatures is just airflow, because the fans that are shipped with the case are just too quiet and move next to no air. 
 
 
So throwing tradition aside I set about making some changes. The bottom intake fan was swapped out for a 140mm Xigmatec, as was the rear fan but rather than exhaust I had it feeding air into the case, this is the way Corsair say their H50 all in one water cooling unit should be mounted also, so as its a Corsair case I thought it would be good to see this as a comparison as well. The only other change was I added a pair of 120mm Xigmatec fans into the roof as exhaust fans.
The results speak for themselves, the temperatures plummeted, bringing the difference between the Corsair to the 922 down to a much more acceptable level. I suspect this case was designed for water cooling systems all along and relies on the rear intake and a radiator in the roof to act as an exhaust.
 
 
Testing over with some wild differences in the results, lets move on to the conclusion.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-09-2009, 13:37:27

tinytomlogan
We finally get our hands on Corsair's long awaited Obsidian 800D, but is it as good as all the hype suggests? Continue Reading to find out more.

18-09-2009, 14:05:02

I Hunta x
well ive got to say... that does look nice.... but why was the hdd loading from the front not a +? just have the cables ready and stick a new one in without having to fiddle with anything else.

the price is a huge let down tho imo

18-09-2009, 14:10:47

PeterStoba
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='I Hunta x'
well ive got to say... that does look nice.... but why was the hdd loading from the front not a +? just have the cables ready and stick a new one in without having to fiddle with anything else.
I'd consider it both, it's faster, but for the lower ones you need to remove the front panel and stuff.

I am dissapointed in the temperatures though, I expected better.

18-09-2009, 14:27:29

tinytomlogan
The hard drives get hot hunta, and tbh taking a side panel off is nothing for the few times they need to come out. Id prefer cooler drives tbh matey.

The price is what we expected aswell, its a top end case so 200 is the right money, it just needs a few refinements and its worth it tbh.

18-09-2009, 14:48:00

zak4994
This looks really similar to another case I saw.

Great review none the less.

18-09-2009, 15:20:25

bentleya
Great work on the review Tom, Great read, and Vid

18-09-2009, 15:28:31

jiffz
I dont have a full read of all the reviews tbh :stickpoke, but I did read this 1 (even though I would never spend 200 on a case) and enjoyed it. I know it's their 1st case, but surely they would have tested it thoroughly and realised the problem with the airflow - I wonder if they will amend anything after seeing your solution?

Good job with the review and the vids too. I was surprised when you said it was the 1st video review you did as I thought it was well done and very in depth. Hope to see more video reviews in the future and hope it gets OC3D more publicity!

18-09-2009, 16:09:58

theelusiveyoda
good case, hopefully they will deliver more higher end cases, the only real comparison for cases like this are the likes of lian li and silverstone

18-09-2009, 16:44:39

VonBlade
Wow. Staggeringly disappointing. Considering this is priced at the extreme end of the market where it has to compare with TJ07, TJ09, Lian Li X etc etc. And if we discount price it has to go up against the king, the daddy (with a pool ball in a sock), the Coolermaster 840.

Failure. Hideously expensive failure. For 200 notes I don't want a single thing missing, a single thing needing improvement. If you're playing with the big boys who've got years of proven excellence and brand loyalty you've got to be amazing.

I waited months for this?!

Great review though Tom. And video review stylee too. Top stuff.

19-09-2009, 10:12:16

meticadpa
I really, really like this case.

It looks like a cable management dream... and people saying that it has worse temps than they wanted, well, I'm pretty sure that this case was designed with water cooling in mind.

Although, if it came down to it, I'd probably still take a TJ07, or something from Lian Li over this case.

19-09-2009, 10:36:33

Solaris
Great review! I am pretty much in consensus with the others here, personally I'd like to know what Corsair was thinking, like did they have two teams battling over the final design that raged for years until the board finally got tired and stepped in and the Corsair Obsidian 800D is the "awkward" result?

Yes, I am being mean as there are much to like about the case, as Tom mentioned in both his reviews. But I think what puts me off from this case the most aside from its poor air cooling performance (if on air, which I am) is the whole lack of a modular approach when its evident that Corsair drew their inspiration from a number of other cases.

21-09-2009, 18:51:47

Gymreaper
I have been scouring the web for information on a new case to upgrade from the Antec 300, and here is my shortlist or rather was my shortlist:

Corsair Obsidian 800D

Silverstone Raven

CM Storm Sniper Black Edition Window Version

As you can see I am after an aircooled gaming case.

So far the Corsair was going to the case to buy and after 5 days of comparing reviews it hit the top of my shortlist.

However I stumbled on your site and it was the most HONEST review I have seen. I loved the style and how you discovered the case in the video... very charming and made me smile. If all you reviews are like this then you are going to be infamous on the web for videos.

Frankly I am disgusted with the fact that the case has been doing the rounds for the last 6 months and no-one mentioned the bad aircooling performance of the 800D to corsair.

This surely needs to go back to the drawing board.

Tomorrow is when I get a new case and I wont be wasting my money on this white elephant, which is what the reward should be for the case.

I would leave a tip, due to your service... this weeks hero!

21-09-2009, 20:30:19

tinytomlogan
Sniper Black eddition case is up for video review next mate, keep an eye open

21-09-2009, 21:25:57

Gymreaper
There are 3 versions:

The mesh, window or amd dragon.

The window and amd dragon has lost a fan addition which the mesh has now got on the side window, so if you review it please make sure you add a fan to the bottom of the case, which I am planning to add.

Also can you give a date for when the review will be please so I can hold out for my purchase?

21-09-2009, 21:52:44

tinytomlogan
Ive got the mesh one, review will be as soon as I get time matey, next week at some point Id think.

22-09-2009, 20:19:41

Gymreaper
As you are getting the mesh version of the black edition can you mod it so that it covers the window versions. To do this:

1) Cover Mesh Up to block air

2) Dis-able side case fan

3) Test without bottom fan which is optional with the case

4) Test with aditional bottom fan added, ie 120mm fan.

This should firstly tell us whether the window version needs the bottom fan or not and also if the case is worth getting. This of course is for a high end rig with at least a SLi configuration.

22-09-2009, 21:22:33

tinytomlogan
Ill try my best dude.

23-09-2009, 09:43:29

Freak
whats the price of the case? 229 or 209. check last page and price at top of each page ;D

23-09-2009, 09:49:48

tinytomlogan
Changed it tyvm, its 229.99 at Novatech so thats the price we have listed.

29-09-2009, 18:27:31

Bungral
Great review mate... Only just got around to reading it.

After reading it though, to see 5 more videos or something took a bit of will power to click play, but I did and it's a great addition to the review as well as your YouTube channel.

It's is a bit of a sucker, or not as the case (pun central) may be when it comes to air flow which would make me shy away from it, but everything else seems to have been done amazingly well..

Aaah well, still waiting on the perfect case to be released.

02-10-2009, 05:03:00

nunzio
Aye, great review. Lovely looking case, well out of my price range. And not so great for the lan gamer like me.

Now, if Corsair could make a mATX version of that case, then I would buy it.

09-01-2010, 07:46:28

|Classified
Awesome looking case, although it is out of my price range aswell...

and if only they had a mid tower version...

09-01-2010, 07:57:03

killablade
Great case. Only flaw it has is the airflow which isn't optimal

09-01-2010, 07:59:29

|Classified
Just luv the looking

09-01-2010, 08:44:44

killablade

09-01-2010, 08:51:06

|Classified
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='killablade'
Yeah. Cyberpower now uses these cases for their black mamba system. Looks nice

Would love one of those
Holy hell, those look just fantastic , just dont like the logo on sidewindow

09-01-2010, 08:55:30

tinytomlogan
I think that looks pretty bland for the price they expect for it

09-01-2010, 08:57:17

|Classified
yeah, lol

btw, killablade, could you post the like to the 'black mambe' I can't find it on the site

09-01-2010, 10:01:38

killablade
Umm I don't think it's on the site yet. Not sure though. I'm a regular visitor(visit them multiple times every day) of a couple of websites that provide me with news of all the latest in hardware, and one of em came up with this (Hardware.info, Dutch website)

09-01-2010, 10:10:51

|Classified
Oh ok

yeah, I didnt even know them :shame_on_me:

Yeah, I know hardware.info, although I dont visit it so much

*IK WIL DIE CASE* (sorry english users)

I think me gonna add ya on steam (ID=Maupi95)

09-01-2010, 12:23:02

cl0ck_ed
As soon as i saw this case I feel in love with it, but the price and the steel construction lets it down not to mention the air flow problems. This case is very large and the mountain mods pinnacle24 is the same size! Inside the pinnacle case is ridiculas and the space for watercooling is a world away from this corsair case. I just need to find a uk seller for the MM case and let TTL do his magic and create a wicked anodized case with a laser cut window.

09-01-2010, 14:45:11

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'
As soon as i saw this case I feel in love with it, but the price and the steel construction lets it down not to mention the air flow problems. This case is very large and the mountain mods pinnacle24 is the same size! Inside the pinnacle case is ridiculas and the space for watercooling is a world away from this corsair case. I just need to find a uk seller for the MM case and let TTL do his magic and create a wicked anodized case with a laser cut window.
Yeah well he'll need to work a whole load of magic to make that case look good

09-01-2010, 15:08:18

|Classified
mountain mods pinnacle24 versus Corsair...

I prefer the looks of the corsair tbh, but I have no idea if the Corsair is better in performance etc...

09-01-2010, 15:30:48

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='|Classified'
mountain mods pinnacle24 versus Corsair...

I prefer the looks of the corsair tbh, but I have no idea if the Corsair is better in performance etc...
The cooling ability of the MM Pinnacle 24 is far superior to that of the Corsair 800D, but the 800D has far more features, except for WCing

12-01-2010, 15:26:49

Charlaweyd
This case is just perfect. The way they thought out the airflow is also great. Only indeed it is pretty expensive and they should('ve) make a mid size tower case of this.

13-01-2010, 17:30:22

Havark
i would love this case, is perfect for what i want but for now i have my HAF 932

16-01-2010, 10:09:15

denis114
the case doesnt look bad but its kinda expensive(for me)

but from what i heard its really good

i think its worth the price because its a high end case and im pretty sure its future proof
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.