Corsair Obsidian 800D

Introduction

Corsair Obsidian 800D
 
In 1994 Corsair emerged as a Performance Memory Manufacturer forging their way with innovative performance products making Corsair the brand we know and trust today. In the last few years Corsair have broadened their horizons venturing in to making power supplies as well. The team at OC3D are all in agreement that at the time of writing the best PSU's available today are made by Corsair see the HX850w review here. Still not happy Corsair have made budget all in one water cooling unit the H50 which trades punches both in performance and price with the T.R.U.E and has split opinions down the middle.
 
March this year was the first time I heard about Corsairs plans on attacking the Case section of the market. The photos and hype surrounding this news had every Internet forum and news site online buzzing with questions and speculation on what Corsair had planned for us. With the case now released to the public OC3D has been lucky enough to get the Obsidian 800D in for review. Its not very often I actually get excited about review samples arriving in the post, but the Corsair was promising so much I couldn't wait to get the box open and see if it could man up to these claims.
 
Here's what Corsair say about the case:
 
Designed for Years of Performance
Three Isolated Cooling Zones
Advanced Features for Extreme Flexibility 

Features include
Four easily accessed hot-swap drive bays
Removable CPU back plate panel for easy heat sink installation
Isolated cooling zones prevent heat build up
Unique cable routing holes guarantee a clean and clutter-free installation
Three fans included, with the ability to add four more 120mm fans
Tool-free optical drive installation makes building a system faster than ever
Two year warranty with Corsair’s world-class customer service and technical support
Dimension 24" (H) x 24" (L) x 9" (W) - (609mm X 609mm X 229 mm)

Specifications
Dimension 24" (H) x 24" (L) x 9" (W) - (609mm X 609mm X 229 mm)
Material Aluminium Faceplate, Steel Structure
Colour Black
Model CC800DW
Drive Bays (x5) 5.25"
(x4) 3.5" SATA Hot Swappable
(x2) 3.5" Internal
Cooling (x3) 140mm Fans
Up to 4x 120mm Fans (not included)
Expansion Slots 7 (+1 vent)
Motherboard ATX, mATX, EATX
 
Head over the page for our long awaited first look..
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

18-09-2009, 13:37:27

tinytomlogan
We finally get our hands on Corsair's long awaited Obsidian 800D, but is it as good as all the hype suggests? Continue Reading to find out more.

18-09-2009, 14:05:02

I Hunta x
well ive got to say... that does look nice.... but why was the hdd loading from the front not a +? just have the cables ready and stick a new one in without having to fiddle with anything else.

the price is a huge let down tho imo

18-09-2009, 14:10:47

PeterStoba
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='I Hunta x'
well ive got to say... that does look nice.... but why was the hdd loading from the front not a +? just have the cables ready and stick a new one in without having to fiddle with anything else.
I'd consider it both, it's faster, but for the lower ones you need to remove the front panel and stuff.

I am dissapointed in the temperatures though, I expected better.

18-09-2009, 14:27:29

tinytomlogan
The hard drives get hot hunta, and tbh taking a side panel off is nothing for the few times they need to come out. Id prefer cooler drives tbh matey.

The price is what we expected aswell, its a top end case so 200 is the right money, it just needs a few refinements and its worth it tbh.

18-09-2009, 14:48:00

zak4994
This looks really similar to another case I saw.

Great review none the less.

18-09-2009, 15:20:25

bentleya
Great work on the review Tom, Great read, and Vid

18-09-2009, 15:28:31

jiffz
I dont have a full read of all the reviews tbh :stickpoke, but I did read this 1 (even though I would never spend 200 on a case) and enjoyed it. I know it's their 1st case, but surely they would have tested it thoroughly and realised the problem with the airflow - I wonder if they will amend anything after seeing your solution?

Good job with the review and the vids too. I was surprised when you said it was the 1st video review you did as I thought it was well done and very in depth. Hope to see more video reviews in the future and hope it gets OC3D more publicity!

18-09-2009, 16:09:58

theelusiveyoda
good case, hopefully they will deliver more higher end cases, the only real comparison for cases like this are the likes of lian li and silverstone

18-09-2009, 16:44:39

VonBlade
Wow. Staggeringly disappointing. Considering this is priced at the extreme end of the market where it has to compare with TJ07, TJ09, Lian Li X etc etc. And if we discount price it has to go up against the king, the daddy (with a pool ball in a sock), the Coolermaster 840.

Failure. Hideously expensive failure. For 200 notes I don't want a single thing missing, a single thing needing improvement. If you're playing with the big boys who've got years of proven excellence and brand loyalty you've got to be amazing.

I waited months for this?!

Great review though Tom. And video review stylee too. Top stuff.

19-09-2009, 10:12:16

meticadpa
I really, really like this case.

It looks like a cable management dream... and people saying that it has worse temps than they wanted, well, I'm pretty sure that this case was designed with water cooling in mind.

Although, if it came down to it, I'd probably still take a TJ07, or something from Lian Li over this case.

19-09-2009, 10:36:33

Solaris
Great review! I am pretty much in consensus with the others here, personally I'd like to know what Corsair was thinking, like did they have two teams battling over the final design that raged for years until the board finally got tired and stepped in and the Corsair Obsidian 800D is the "awkward" result?

Yes, I am being mean as there are much to like about the case, as Tom mentioned in both his reviews. But I think what puts me off from this case the most aside from its poor air cooling performance (if on air, which I am) is the whole lack of a modular approach when its evident that Corsair drew their inspiration from a number of other cases.

21-09-2009, 18:51:47

Gymreaper
I have been scouring the web for information on a new case to upgrade from the Antec 300, and here is my shortlist or rather was my shortlist:

Corsair Obsidian 800D

Silverstone Raven

CM Storm Sniper Black Edition Window Version

As you can see I am after an aircooled gaming case.

So far the Corsair was going to the case to buy and after 5 days of comparing reviews it hit the top of my shortlist.

However I stumbled on your site and it was the most HONEST review I have seen. I loved the style and how you discovered the case in the video... very charming and made me smile. If all you reviews are like this then you are going to be infamous on the web for videos.

Frankly I am disgusted with the fact that the case has been doing the rounds for the last 6 months and no-one mentioned the bad aircooling performance of the 800D to corsair.

This surely needs to go back to the drawing board.

Tomorrow is when I get a new case and I wont be wasting my money on this white elephant, which is what the reward should be for the case.

I would leave a tip, due to your service... this weeks hero!

21-09-2009, 20:30:19

tinytomlogan
Sniper Black eddition case is up for video review next mate, keep an eye open

21-09-2009, 21:25:57

Gymreaper
There are 3 versions:

The mesh, window or amd dragon.

The window and amd dragon has lost a fan addition which the mesh has now got on the side window, so if you review it please make sure you add a fan to the bottom of the case, which I am planning to add.

Also can you give a date for when the review will be please so I can hold out for my purchase?

21-09-2009, 21:52:44

tinytomlogan
Ive got the mesh one, review will be as soon as I get time matey, next week at some point Id think.

22-09-2009, 20:19:41

Gymreaper
As you are getting the mesh version of the black edition can you mod it so that it covers the window versions. To do this:

1) Cover Mesh Up to block air

2) Dis-able side case fan

3) Test without bottom fan which is optional with the case

4) Test with aditional bottom fan added, ie 120mm fan.

This should firstly tell us whether the window version needs the bottom fan or not and also if the case is worth getting. This of course is for a high end rig with at least a SLi configuration.

22-09-2009, 21:22:33

tinytomlogan
Ill try my best dude.

23-09-2009, 09:43:29

Freak
whats the price of the case? 229 or 209. check last page and price at top of each page ;D

23-09-2009, 09:49:48

tinytomlogan
Changed it tyvm, its 229.99 at Novatech so thats the price we have listed.

29-09-2009, 18:27:31

Bungral
Great review mate... Only just got around to reading it.

After reading it though, to see 5 more videos or something took a bit of will power to click play, but I did and it's a great addition to the review as well as your YouTube channel.

It's is a bit of a sucker, or not as the case (pun central) may be when it comes to air flow which would make me shy away from it, but everything else seems to have been done amazingly well..

Aaah well, still waiting on the perfect case to be released.

02-10-2009, 05:03:00

nunzio
Aye, great review. Lovely looking case, well out of my price range. And not so great for the lan gamer like me.

Now, if Corsair could make a mATX version of that case, then I would buy it.

09-01-2010, 07:46:28

|Classified
Awesome looking case, although it is out of my price range aswell...

and if only they had a mid tower version...

09-01-2010, 07:57:03

killablade
Great case. Only flaw it has is the airflow which isn't optimal

09-01-2010, 07:59:29

|Classified
Just luv the looking

09-01-2010, 08:44:44

killablade

09-01-2010, 08:51:06

|Classified
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='killablade'
Yeah. Cyberpower now uses these cases for their black mamba system. Looks nice

Would love one of those
Holy hell, those look just fantastic , just dont like the logo on sidewindow

09-01-2010, 08:55:30

tinytomlogan
I think that looks pretty bland for the price they expect for it

09-01-2010, 08:57:17

|Classified
yeah, lol

btw, killablade, could you post the like to the 'black mambe' I can't find it on the site

09-01-2010, 10:01:38

killablade
Umm I don't think it's on the site yet. Not sure though. I'm a regular visitor(visit them multiple times every day) of a couple of websites that provide me with news of all the latest in hardware, and one of em came up with this (Hardware.info, Dutch website)

09-01-2010, 10:10:51

|Classified
Oh ok

yeah, I didnt even know them :shame_on_me:

Yeah, I know hardware.info, although I dont visit it so much

*IK WIL DIE CASE* (sorry english users)

I think me gonna add ya on steam (ID=Maupi95)

09-01-2010, 12:23:02

cl0ck_ed
As soon as i saw this case I feel in love with it, but the price and the steel construction lets it down not to mention the air flow problems. This case is very large and the mountain mods pinnacle24 is the same size! Inside the pinnacle case is ridiculas and the space for watercooling is a world away from this corsair case. I just need to find a uk seller for the MM case and let TTL do his magic and create a wicked anodized case with a laser cut window.

09-01-2010, 14:45:11

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'
As soon as i saw this case I feel in love with it, but the price and the steel construction lets it down not to mention the air flow problems. This case is very large and the mountain mods pinnacle24 is the same size! Inside the pinnacle case is ridiculas and the space for watercooling is a world away from this corsair case. I just need to find a uk seller for the MM case and let TTL do his magic and create a wicked anodized case with a laser cut window.
Yeah well he'll need to work a whole load of magic to make that case look good

09-01-2010, 15:08:18

|Classified
mountain mods pinnacle24 versus Corsair...

I prefer the looks of the corsair tbh, but I have no idea if the Corsair is better in performance etc...

09-01-2010, 15:30:48

killablade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='|Classified'
mountain mods pinnacle24 versus Corsair...

I prefer the looks of the corsair tbh, but I have no idea if the Corsair is better in performance etc...
The cooling ability of the MM Pinnacle 24 is far superior to that of the Corsair 800D, but the 800D has far more features, except for WCing

12-01-2010, 15:26:49

Charlaweyd
This case is just perfect. The way they thought out the airflow is also great. Only indeed it is pretty expensive and they should('ve) make a mid size tower case of this.

13-01-2010, 17:30:22

Havark
i would love this case, is perfect for what i want but for now i have my HAF 932

16-01-2010, 10:09:15

denis114
the case doesnt look bad but its kinda expensive(for me)

but from what i heard its really good

i think its worth the price because its a high end case and im pretty sure its future proof
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.