Corsair H70 Review

Conclusion

Corsair H70 Review

Conclusion

So does bigger mean better?

At the risk of giving a vague answer, sort of. Bear with me.

The H70 has many improvements over its smaller brother the H50. The tubing isn't as rigid and the addition of flexible mounts on the block itself certainly makes the installation of the actual cooler much easier than it was before.

The packaging is greatly improved too. Whilst we appreciate that not everyone is likely to want to re-box the cooler at any point, given the versatility it provides thanks to its brilliant mounting system, you can certainly move it from system to system and so it's not beyond possibility that you'd like to put it somewhere between upgrades. It's also much more likely to protect the cooler prior to arrival than the H50s paper-thin plastic effort.

Cooling capacity and physical size though present a more difficult area to nail down.

Starting with our overclocked i7 results, assuming you're not spending your days using Prime then the H70 can certainly handle even a 4 GHz overclock. When you take into consideration the LGA1366 i7 generates far more heat than a LGA1156 chip, and WAY more than any AMD you care to mention, the results are even more impressive. At stock speeds it's up there with the very best coolers around, keeping everything nice and cool even using the low-speed, and much quieter, fan settings.

This however is exactly the thing that makes it an odd choice. One of the primary benefits of the H50 was the amount of space it left around your CPU socket to help give good airflow across the rest of your components such as the northbridge, MOSFETs and RAM. The H70 though, despite it's much smaller heatsink and pump, is enormous in comparison. The radiator is twice as wide and with two fans you're almost taking up the same room as a tower cooler.

If you run an AMD system and so have much less heat to disperse therefore, the H70 isn't really the one to go for because the H50 will cool equally as well and yet take up less room. Not to mention it is around £30 cheaper.

If you run an Intel i7 system, then up to a point the H70 can handle a heavy usage overclock with aplomb. But again the price bites it somewhat as it's still substantially more expensive than an average air-cooler, and a good twenty notes more than the class-leading Noctua NH-D14, without providing the same level of cooling.

So if you have you heart set on a plug and play water-cooled CPU, or have fierce brand loyalty to Corsair, then the H70 can be recommended. The build quality is great. Installation is a breeze and it will fit anything you want to attach it to. If you just want something that cools your CPU then there are better, cheaper, air alternatives around.

 

  

Thanks to Corsair for proving the H70 for todays review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-08-2010, 20:57:44

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the new all-in-one CPU cooler from Corsair.

Continue Reading

10-08-2010, 21:28:15

F-alienware
Nice one Tom. Thanks for the review !

Looks like it will be another cult-esque success tbh, ideal for people who want water cooling for its cool factor (*groan*) but don't want to get into something that may leak and needs constant attention.

Hopefully one day (cough cough hint hint) Corsair will consider making something similar for GPUs. I would rush out to get something like this that fitted my 5770s.

I do have a criticism with this unit though. The hoses.

With my specific case (the Alienware Predator 2) the unit really needs to be in the front. The hoses simply are not long enough. Corsair know this too as many people have a similar issue to myself. Maybe in the future they can make two models. One for front mounting and one for rear.

11-08-2010, 06:33:17

equk
Cool review

Sounds like you were suffering a bit with man-flu tho

The radiator seems massive and it sounded pretty loud when you put the camera near the test station.

For nearly 100 it seems pretty expensive

I have seen the H50 for 50-60 so would guess a lot of people would just buy that instead.

I'm thinking of building a custom watercooled rig at the moment so seeing this review has made me think a little more (in favour of getting a proper custom loop)

Also the H50/H70 don't seem to have the ability to compete with any proper watercooling setups, if anything they seem to be a replacement for air coolers.

11-08-2010, 08:15:35

silenthill
Not much an improvement over the H50 and it takes a big chunk out of your case, to be honest the NH-D14 is still king of the game anyway hope you get better Tom and drink lots of liquids it reduces the time the flu virus can stay in your body.

12-08-2010, 06:51:07

AMDFTW
the h70 beats the h50 lol and even the dh14

12-08-2010, 08:33:27

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

the h70 beats the h50 lol and even the dh14
No where near the D14 mate sorry.

12-08-2010, 08:34:35

AMDFTW
did it not beat it a little in your review.hmm sorry fella i thought i saw it

so the dh14 is still the better AIR cooler?

12-08-2010, 08:59:33

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

did it not beat it a little in your review.hmm sorry fella i thought i saw it

so the dh14 is still the better AIR cooler?
No mate the NH-D14 still rocks it... and its almost silent too.

12-08-2010, 09:02:33

AMDFTW
yer your right i ught i saw it on another review that it beat it by 3c (h70 at 12v push/pull) but it wasent lol

o well

EDIT- i have just read another review and when overclocked to 4.1 (980x) the h70 does beat the dh14 at full load by 8c,not quite shure how impartial the review was but still

12-08-2010, 09:23:53

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

yer your right i ught i saw it on another review that it beat it by 3c (h70 at 12v push/pull) but it wasent lol

o well

EDIT- i have just read another review and when overclocked to 4.1 (980x) the h70 does beat the dh14 at full load by 8c,not quite shure how impartial the review was but still
Aye thats bull tbh.... Cant lie with my temps its in the video

12-08-2010, 12:08:09

silenthill
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

Nice one Tom. Thanks for the review !

Looks like it will be another cult-esque success tbh, ideal for people who want water cooling for its cool factor (*groan*) but don't want to get into something that may leak and needs constant attention.

Hopefully one day (cough cough hint hint) Corsair will consider making something similar for GPUs. I would rush out to get something like this that fitted my 5770s.

I do have a criticism with this unit though. The hoses.

With my specific case (the Alienware Predator 2) the unit really needs to be in the front. The hoses simply are not long enough. Corsair know this too as many people have a similar issue to myself. Maybe in the future they can make two models. One for front mounting and one for rear.
Doesn't CoolIT have something like that, I think they teamed up with BFG and made a GUP water cooled enclosed system for the GTX 295 correct me if I'm wrong.

12-08-2010, 15:29:15

AMDFTW
i have only seen zotac make a all in one loop for GPU's

15-08-2010, 19:29:20

andyvee
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

No mate the NH-D14 still rocks it... and its almost silent too.
Just playing devils advocate here and i may have missed something but your review seems to have been tested on an open system ( unless someone actually bought an antec skeleton not your normal user setup ) so a good air cooler should win out . Put the coolers in a case ( and in the case of the h70 setup as per Corsair as an intake ) and the results would be very different , another review even had the 980x ref cooler better than the dh-14 when tested in a case .

15-08-2010, 20:00:51

Complex!
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyvee View Post

Just playing devils advocate here and i may have missed something but your review seems to have been tested on an open system ( unless someone actually bought an antec skeleton not your normal user setup ) so a good air cooler should win out . Put the coolers in a case ( and in the case of the h70 setup as per Corsair as an intake ) and the results would be very different , another review even had the 980x ref cooler better than the dh-14 when tested in a case .
The 980x ref cooler better than the Noctua NH-D14? Well obviously that website has no idea what they're talking about.

16-08-2010, 04:00:20

andyvee
Quote:
Originally Posted by Complex! View Post

The 980x ref cooler better than the Noctua NH-D14? Well obviously that website has no idea what they're talking about.
Well they at least bothered to actually put the coolers into a case , they also stated that the dh-14 was not mounted in what would be its best position due to its size - well you can house a family of 5 in that things footprint - , lastly the 980x heatsink is a fair bit better than the normal i7 jobby .

16-08-2010, 08:12:39

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyvee View Post

Well they at least bothered to actually put the coolers into a case , they also stated that the dh-14 was not mounted in what would be its best position due to its size - well you can house a family of 5 in that things footprint - , lastly the 980x heatsink is a fair bit better than the normal i7 jobby .
The only heatsink it makes any difference on would be the H50/70 and thats why Corsair want it tested differently.

I have the NH-D14 in my own rig IN a case and it makes all of 1-2c difference. taking that in to account combined with the time and ease of using a test bench means we will continue to test this way. All of our readers are bright enough to make their own conclusions on in case temps if they wish.

I might add a LARGE selection of our members and readers have bought the NH-D14 and all also report within 1-2c the temps I stated in the review.

So, must be fairly accurate eh

16-08-2010, 08:29:11

FragTek
Tom - 1

Andy - 0

16-08-2010, 11:17:28

andyvee
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

The only heatsink it makes any difference on would be the H50/70 and thats why Corsair want it tested differently.

I would suggest they want it tested this way as it is the recommended installation method

I have the NH-D14 in my own rig IN a case and it makes all of 1-2c difference. taking that in to account combined with the time and ease of using a test bench means we will continue to test this way. All of our readers are bright enough to make their own conclusions on in case temps if they wish.

Viewers of this site may be intelligent but are'nt mind readers , you don't specify either in the typed review or the video that it is an open test , also although you use the stock fans with the H70 you dont specify the type and number of fans fitted to the dh-14 which brings it all down to guesswork , feel free to check hexus or hardware canucks reviews that list in detail exactly what they are testing with .

I might add a LARGE selection of our members and readers have bought the NH-D14 and all also report within 1-2c the temps I stated in the review.

I had an prolimatech a while ago and found that even the H50 ( push/pull ) outperforms it when you factor in a couple of sli'd toasters ( average of 9-12 degrees cooler on a 930 after an evening of BC2 ) I would add that i am neither a fan or hater of either the d14 or the h70 and have enjoyed a lot of the reviews from here over the last year or so but the type of person who buys these coolers will generally be running high end kit which generates heat and therefore would like to see these tested in real world environments

So, must be fairly accurate eh

My machine is based on a i7-930 ( 3.4 mildly o/c'd )yet in a closed case with its back against the wall i idle at ~ 33 and running prime overnight will only hit just over 60 ( ambient ~ 18-20 ) , not really in line with your results
.

16-08-2010, 12:53:16

tinytomlogan
You need to remove your reply fromt the quote above^^^

And we test all sinks with the fans that they come with unless specified. Funny how you are the only one with any kind of problem, everyone else knows

16-08-2010, 13:08:40

AMDFTW
OC3D's reviews rock and are far the best i have written and are very impartial

and

Tom - 2

Andy - 0

16-08-2010, 14:27:05

andyvee
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

You need to remove your reply fromt the quote above^^^

And we test all sinks with the fans that they come with unless specified. Funny how you are the only one with any kind of problem, everyone else knows
My bad on the quotes .

So NOW you tell me you test with fans as the units come ( why make a song and dance about installing h70 as intake then when that is the recommeded install method ) , now please show me where in either your typed review or in your video where you state that ( back to mindreading/guessing again ) .

I have no problem with any of the above but you still seem either unable or unwilling to note that if you have 1 , 2 or more graphics cards in your machine - not normally more than a couple of inches away from the cpu - then a heatpipe cooler will be more affected than any of the rad type coolers from corsair/coolit/asetek ( running them as intake ) due to them pulling in cooler air from outside the case , again not something you'll notice as much running on an open system

16-08-2010, 15:24:54

equk
Has anyone taken the H70 appart yet?

Was looking around and found some pics of the H50 block



Also didn't even realise this:

Radiator Material: Aluminum

09-03-2011, 06:57:14

fraghappy245
Andtvee If Tom test both coolers in our outside a case it wont make on bit off difference because then the h70 will be getting even more cooler air than it would sat inside the case so should work even better than corsair say so both coolers would have the same advantage or disadvantage as each other which means it comes down to which cooler is best and we all know that don't we
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.