Corsair H60 AIO Review

The Build

Corsair H60 AIO Review

 

The Build

For the purpose of the review we'll be mounting the H60 to the 2011 platform as this is the chip we now conduct all our testing on.  The lack of a need for a back plate makes mounting to 2011 a much easier option for all coolers, but backplates aside it's hard to see how Corsair could have utilised a simpler mounting mechanism than the one they have chosen.  Four bolts, threaded at each end screw into the motherboard (if you're using any other platform then they screw through to the backplate).  The cold plate is then placed over the CPU with a mounting bracket being placed over the top of it, the slots at it's 4 corners being lined up with the protruding bolts you previously placed in the motherboard.  Knurled thumb bolts are then tightened over the top of each thread and can be further tightened with a screw driver if desired.  The fitting for AMD is similarly simple utilising  the lever type mechanism that will be familiar to those with AMD chips.  A novel innovation is the embedding of magnets into the corners of the cold plate assembly which serve to hold the mounting bracket in place as you screw it down.  On the face of it this might seem like a bit of a gimmick, but believe us when we say it makes quite a difference to the fitting process, preventing as it does the bracket wandering off as you attempt to secure it with the knurled bolts

Corsair H60 AIO Review     Corsair H60 AIO Review  

 

The instructions indicate that the H60 should be installed with the fan on intake, the idea being to pull in cool fresh air and have it exhausted by a roof fan.  It's a simple enough job to install the fan the other way round to have it extracting in pull configuration, however, if you want to set things up for extract in push configuration you will have to be careful of the amount of clearance you have in your case between the rear fan area, the roof of the case and the expansion card rebate.  Remembering that if you have the rad up against the interior of the case the end tanks increase it's footprint over that of a standard 120mm case fan.  Once you've chosen your configuration, it's a simple matter of passing bolts through the case, a set of washers and the fan, leading them to holes in the 4 corners of the rad where they are tightened.  Both the fan and the pump have fan headers, the pump having a  3 pin and the fan a 4 pin enabling PWM.  For the purpose of testing we always attach to 12v straight out of the PSU, we would always advise wiring the pump straight to the PSU so you get a true 12v and not risk you motherboard slowing the pump down unnecessarily, we are happy to point out the pump makes little to no noise so running it at 12v isnt a problem.

Corsair H60 AIO Review     Corsair H60 AIO Review  

 

We've installed the kit into our trusty Cooler Master "Test Trooper".  The flexibility of the tubing and the rotating junctions where the tubing joins the Cold plate enable easy manipulation of the tubing route and should offer kink free installation  Should your case provide the flexibility, it's entirely possible to mount the H60 in the place of a roof fan.

Corsair H60 AIO Review     Corsair H60 AIO Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2013, 05:59:47

tinytomlogan
The second generation H60 AIO watercooler from Corsair offers entry level water cooling at price similar to some midrange Air coolers. But is it any good?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141945926l.jpg


Continue Reading

28-03-2013, 06:14:05

FTLN
Been waitin for this one, might have to rma my original to get one of these back

28-03-2013, 06:30:38

Lystfiskern
Link missing?

EDIT. Refreshed the page and there it was - BOOM

28-03-2013, 06:41:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lystfiskern View Post
Link missing?

EDIT. Refreshed the page and there it was - BOOM

I need the thread here before I can put the review live dude. Just need to be patient

28-03-2013, 07:04:03

Blackbeard
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Been waitin for this one, might have to rma my original to get one of these back
You ain't seen me, right?...

28-03-2013, 07:10:59

Lystfiskern
Aaah! Ok, I just happened to open thread just before you provided the link then.

Thx for a clean honest review as we have come to expect from OC3D.

1 thing - I really would mind the graphs being sorted by best performance cooler (delta -load) if at all possible?
Although its not to much of a hassle comparing with the other logical contenders so not that big of a deal if rearranging graphs is a large job.

28-03-2013, 07:14:06

tinytomlogan
We need a new graph program to sort them, our current one is old and needs to be done manually

28-03-2013, 07:18:55

FTLN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackbeard View Post
You ain't seen me, right?...

Well I been living with clunk clunk brrrrrr of the pump for a while so I can jsutify the rma

Dont even let me get on to the subject of the flock of birds that live in my ax650

28-03-2013, 08:02:37

Lystfiskern
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
We need a new graph program to sort them, our current one is old and needs to be done manually
I hear ya - would receiving a simple excel-macro with how-to instructions do do the job? If your not on to a spesific program already maybe open a thread for suggestions and possible help on the subject?

28-03-2013, 08:23:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lystfiskern View Post
I hear ya - would receiving a simple excel-macro with how-to instructions do do the job? If your not on to a spesific program already maybe open a thread for suggestions and possible help on the subject?
No mate it needs to look nice and we dont want our to look the same as every other excel user.

28-03-2013, 09:02:31

kenny'sghost
and with that I'm back in 2 minds.. Air cooler or this..

I want a H60.. well I want a H100 but my budget does not allow it..even the H60 is abit over budget I want to spend on a cooler..

28-03-2013, 09:09:14

Lystfiskern
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
No mate it needs to look nice and we dont want our to look the same as every other excel user.
Point taken. Will let u know if I come across possible options/sdolutions.

28-03-2013, 12:01:26

F-alienware
I'm running one of these. Well, I'm running the Coolit Eco II but it's basically identical it just doesn't have any branding. Mine uses the older type flexi hose that the old H60 used IIRC.

A good cooler. I dialed in the fan using my Alienware control board and it's very quiet and does an admirable job on my Xeon (I6, basically).

My load temps are usually under 50c and sometimes just over but more than controlled enough.

This cooler is ideal for non K CPUs IMO. You can really down the fan speeds and dial it in to be super quiet

Another fine review chaps, thanks !

02-04-2013, 03:25:27

Dexo
Overall a great cooler, stock fan is a bit noisy, but I replaced them with 2 Corsair quiet series and now the pump on full is loder

The pipes for me seemed a bit stiff and it was a bit of struggle to bend cooling unit into proper angle. I'm still not sure if the unit is properly covering cpu, temps are ok though- 3570k @ 4.4 ghz not a swet

04-04-2013, 04:08:07

Vlada011
CORSAIR always make best looking pump/block part.
And for H60, H100, H100i.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.