Corsair H60 AIO Review

Up Close: The Cooler

Corsair H60 AIO Review

 

Up Close:  The Cooler

The H60 treads the now familiar AIO route of a radiator and fan attached to a combined pump/cold plate assembly.  But as we know from looking at Air coolers, just because a cooler may look similar, or share an almost identical specification to another manufacturers unit there can often be significant margins between their levels of performance.  The Pump/cold plate and Radiator of the H60 are connected via 2x30omm runs of flexible rubberised tubing, having a larger diameter than the older H60 and potentially offering better flow as well as greater flexibility and less propensity to kinking as the image below right shows.

   Corsair H60 AIO Review     Corsair H60 AIO Review

 

Designed to accommodate a 120mm fan on either of it's surfaces the H60 comes with one of Corsair's 2000RPM fan units.  The fan appears to be one of Corsair's SP120s, but with Green/Grey blades.  With the SP series offering greater static pressure than their AF (Airflow) range it makes great sense for Corsair to choose this as the partner for the Radiator.  The keen eyed amongst you will also pick up on the fact that the fan comes pre drilled for the fitting of 5mm LEDs should you wish to add in a little modding bling (but please don't as we quite like the rugged simplicity)

 Corsair H60 AIO Review     Corsair H60 AIO Review

 

Taking the fan away now to enable a closer look at the Radiator we can see that unlike the H80i the H60 has a single width rad.  Measuring just 120x152x27mm the Radiator is only a little bigger than a standard 120mm fan, the main differences being the end tank extensions. 

 Corsair H60 AIO Review     Corsair H60 AIO Review

 

The tubing attaches to the larger of the end tanks either side of the centre-line, and although little flexibility is offered here the tubing is quite pliant and should not cause any problems in being bent over the to CPU area in even the smallest of cases.  Although only a single fan is supplied the radiator assembly does have threaded fan mounting holes on each side, which with the addition of the correctly threaded and correct length screws (available from Corsair) will enable you to configure a push pull set up should you so desire.

 Corsair H60 AIO Review     Corsair H60 AIO Review

 

The cold plate/pump assembly looks almost identical the to both the H80i & H100i the H60 but does however lack the LED lighting behind the Corsair logo and the Corsair Link software which enables the setting of cooling profiles from the desktop.  The cold plate comes coated in pre applied thermal paste with a protective plastic guard preventing the TIM getting smudged before you're ready for installation.        

Corsair H60 AIO Review     Corsair H60 AIO Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2013, 05:59:47

tinytomlogan
The second generation H60 AIO watercooler from Corsair offers entry level water cooling at price similar to some midrange Air coolers. But is it any good?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141945926l.jpg


Continue Reading

28-03-2013, 06:14:05

FTLN
Been waitin for this one, might have to rma my original to get one of these back

28-03-2013, 06:30:38

Lystfiskern
Link missing?

EDIT. Refreshed the page and there it was - BOOM

28-03-2013, 06:41:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lystfiskern View Post
Link missing?

EDIT. Refreshed the page and there it was - BOOM

I need the thread here before I can put the review live dude. Just need to be patient

28-03-2013, 07:04:03

Blackbeard
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Been waitin for this one, might have to rma my original to get one of these back
You ain't seen me, right?...

28-03-2013, 07:10:59

Lystfiskern
Aaah! Ok, I just happened to open thread just before you provided the link then.

Thx for a clean honest review as we have come to expect from OC3D.

1 thing - I really would mind the graphs being sorted by best performance cooler (delta -load) if at all possible?
Although its not to much of a hassle comparing with the other logical contenders so not that big of a deal if rearranging graphs is a large job.

28-03-2013, 07:14:06

tinytomlogan
We need a new graph program to sort them, our current one is old and needs to be done manually

28-03-2013, 07:18:55

FTLN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackbeard View Post
You ain't seen me, right?...

Well I been living with clunk clunk brrrrrr of the pump for a while so I can jsutify the rma

Dont even let me get on to the subject of the flock of birds that live in my ax650

28-03-2013, 08:02:37

Lystfiskern
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
We need a new graph program to sort them, our current one is old and needs to be done manually
I hear ya - would receiving a simple excel-macro with how-to instructions do do the job? If your not on to a spesific program already maybe open a thread for suggestions and possible help on the subject?

28-03-2013, 08:23:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lystfiskern View Post
I hear ya - would receiving a simple excel-macro with how-to instructions do do the job? If your not on to a spesific program already maybe open a thread for suggestions and possible help on the subject?
No mate it needs to look nice and we dont want our to look the same as every other excel user.

28-03-2013, 09:02:31

kenny'sghost
and with that I'm back in 2 minds.. Air cooler or this..

I want a H60.. well I want a H100 but my budget does not allow it..even the H60 is abit over budget I want to spend on a cooler..

28-03-2013, 09:09:14

Lystfiskern
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
No mate it needs to look nice and we dont want our to look the same as every other excel user.
Point taken. Will let u know if I come across possible options/sdolutions.

28-03-2013, 12:01:26

F-alienware
I'm running one of these. Well, I'm running the Coolit Eco II but it's basically identical it just doesn't have any branding. Mine uses the older type flexi hose that the old H60 used IIRC.

A good cooler. I dialed in the fan using my Alienware control board and it's very quiet and does an admirable job on my Xeon (I6, basically).

My load temps are usually under 50c and sometimes just over but more than controlled enough.

This cooler is ideal for non K CPUs IMO. You can really down the fan speeds and dial it in to be super quiet

Another fine review chaps, thanks !

02-04-2013, 03:25:27

Dexo
Overall a great cooler, stock fan is a bit noisy, but I replaced them with 2 Corsair quiet series and now the pump on full is loder

The pipes for me seemed a bit stiff and it was a bit of struggle to bend cooling unit into proper angle. I'm still not sure if the unit is properly covering cpu, temps are ok though- 3570k @ 4.4 ghz not a swet

04-04-2013, 04:08:07

Vlada011
CORSAIR always make best looking pump/block part.
And for H60, H100, H100i.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.