Corsair H50 Review

Introduction

Corsair H50 Review

Introduction

Heat.

Heat is the bane of the overclocker. More than almost any other factor you can think of, heat is what limits the potential of your hardware. Even if you prefer to leave your hardware at stock then heat can still contribute to the lifespan of your components. With fiscal considerations being up-most in most peoples mind then getting the most you can out of every item is a primary consideration.

Not so long ago we would all gladly trade any amount of noise for good temperatures because the speed increase from overclocking was so large as the stock speeds were so low. As technology brought rapid improvements in the stock speed of processors, as well as the introduction of digital media, more and more people sought silence as their primary focus rather than absolute performance.

Thankfully with the invention of tower heatpipe coolers it was possible to have great temperatures and, because you can choose your own fan, silence as well.More and more companies have taken this method of CPU cooling and produced their own varieties. However due to the nature of the design they're all very similar.

The alternative, apart from LN2 or other very esoteric cooling types, is to go water cooling. However water cooling can be a bit of a minefield if you're new. Many types of tubing, fittings, radiators etc etc all mean that, assuming you've got the room in your case and the time to leak test and the swathes of cash necessary, it's still a bit adventure.

So what if you want something different from the norm? What if you could combine the qualities of a water-cooling setup, with the price of a good air-cooler?

Enter Corsair with the H50, designed in combination with Asetek. Does it really offer everything?

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-05-2010, 04:45:44

tinytomlogan
VonBlade takes a good long look at the Corsair H50.

Coninue Reading

21-05-2010, 07:46:12

Junglerog
I've noticed Noctua cooler was tested in push & pull configuration. I'm quite sure H50 wasnt. I've been reading the reviews on other websites and actually have H50 myself installed in my CM 840 along with case own rear 120mm fan in Push and Pull configuration and this actually makes a noticable difference. I thought it's worth mentioning.

21-05-2010, 11:05:25

Diablo
Great review. Kind of mirrors my feelings of it (I have one on my Dad's PC). On the down side, there are ways of getting things cooler, and quieter, but on the other hand, it is quite quiet and allows it to be installed in a larger number of cases. For instance a small Lian Li case looks great, but with the PSU directly over the CPU socket, there is no way to fit a big tower heatsink, especially the sort needed to cool a hot running quad.

Overall the build quality is good, and it allows mounting in a case which is prohibitively small for a big tower.

31-05-2010, 17:44:12

pazman4
nice review. Exactly my own impressions on it tbh. Convenient but a bit expensive.

EDIT: Got mine for 50 from ebuyer

13-06-2010, 18:25:14

F-alienware
Wow 60 !! I paid 48 for mine from Scan with free delivery. No wonder you lot don't rate it as highly as I do.

Mine must use an older retention though because it's totally different and plastic. It can be a bit of a sod to install on AM2/3 also unless you stick the back bracket on (which I don't reccomend).

Also I have noticed that the Noctua review does not cover AMD at all (unless of course I have missed it) and if it performs anything like Noctua's other coolers do on AMD then I would have the Corsair hands down. I would be very interested to see if the Noctua performs well on AMD tbh. If so then I just may be persuaded to try one out.

13-06-2010, 20:30:27

tinytomlogan
The Noctua rapes the H50 on any socket and any cpu mate.

14-06-2010, 06:39:51

F-alienware
So it has been tested on AMD then? Hmm.. Might have to make the investment

14-06-2010, 06:47:16

tinytomlogan
I used it on an 1090T recently fella, it wasnt monitored like we do a full review but 100% that cooler is the top of the pile. If you have the space you'll love it. That and the fact its sooooo much quieter too.

14-06-2010, 06:48:20

F-alienware
Yeah could definitely do with less noise. The twin 92mm fans on my current Noctua drive me crazy :S

15-06-2010, 09:06:25

Junglerog
I am also using it with my 1090T with 2x120mm fans in push & pull blowing the fresh air in as recommended by Corsair and I couldnt be happier. I tried with fans blowing the air out of the case but it wasnt as effective, temperatures were about 3-4 degrees higher. I have it installed in CM840 case so I ve got quite a lot of space, just keep in mind that if you have smaller case you might be forced to place on of the fans outside the case.

25-06-2010, 10:25:35

sli_guy
good and symple

01-07-2010, 10:49:56

AMDFTW
what noctua are we talking about the U12P or the dual rad huge thing

01-07-2010, 11:58:22

tinytomlogan
Yeah the big NH-d14
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.