Corsair H105 AIO Watercooler Review

Conclusion

Corsair H105 AIO Watercooler Review


Conclusion  

So the big question that has been on a great deal of peoples lips was could it beat the H100i performance wise? And the answer is yes. Even with lower fans speeds. This most surprising point is looking around its going to cost about £90 so in most retailers its also cheaper than the H100i.

With a lower cost and higher performance it may lead you into thinking have they cut corners to make savings, but it is made by a different OEM to the H100i and because of this doesn't feature the Corsair link software which allows the user to control fans speeds and LED colour on the desktop plus monitor temperatures. With the H105 the LED is just white so its a great neutral colour that should fit in with most systems and the lack of fan control just makes things easier for those of your out there wanting to run a manual fan controller. Utilise the motherboard fan header and control or even like we favour in the office setting your fan speeds up via fan speed controllers wired direct to molex.

The interchangeable coloured rings on the pump face are a nice touch for easy customisation but these can be difficult to remove. A quick heads up for anyone doing this just jamming a screw driver in to pry the ring out will probably damage the pump housing, it wont be enough that it stops it from working but you will definitely be able to see some physical damage where the screw driver has push onto the plastic of the pump housing. We are fully aware of this because J our intern did exactly that, he soon learned the trick about wrapping some insulation tape around the end of the screwdriver that touched the edge of the housing stops the chance of this (he also got sent in the rain to the coffee shop as punishment)

The main things most potential purchasers need to be aware of is the clearance you will need above your motherboard for that 38mm radiator. Once you take fans in to consideration you will need 65mm of clearance between the top of your motherboard and the roof of your case. We make a point of covering this measurement in everyone of our reviews and/or videos so if you are not sure just look back if you are not sure. If you do decide to measure for yourself please remember to turn your system off and remove the power cable before waving a metal tape measure around inside your rig.

All in all with the thicker radiator you can have better temperatures with lower fan speed and therefore a quieter system for less outlay than if you were to buy a H100i. You just need to be very careful about your case choice because this is much more limiting than the thinner H100i. All in all a thoroughly well deserved OC3D Gold award.
 

       

Thanks to Corsair for sending the H105 in for review, you can discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-01-2014, 11:50:48

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...092156607l.jpg

Corsair is back with a new Hydro series cooler, this time named the H105 and it comes boasting a new 38mm thick 240mm radiator

Continue Reading

21-01-2014, 12:12:16

Dicehunter
This review has me tempted I must say, Now only if Corsair came out with a 360mm version but with the control of the H100i and maybe a bit thicker, I can dream

21-01-2014, 15:49:33

MrWizard
WTF is corsair trying to pull. The core of the 105 is the same thickness as the 100 and 100i all the did was wrap the same core with a thicker mounting shroud. Look at 2:07 in the vid you can see how far away the fins are now away from the screw holes. Its the same way on both sides.

21-01-2014, 15:56:26

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWizard View Post
WTF is corsair trying to pull. The core of the 105 is the same thickness as the 100 and 100i all the did was wrap the same core with a thicker mounting shroud. Look at 2:07 in the vid you can see how far away the fins are now away from the screw holes. Its the same way on both sides.
If this is correct how does the h105 beat the H100i in temps ? Better pump ?

21-01-2014, 16:34:07

MrWizard
I cant speak on the pump. but there are a lot of contributing factors in testing rad temps, ambient temp, humidity, TIM thickness,hardware in the case.

Just look here
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/800...0/835/9xfh.jpg

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/800...0/202/jx3w.jpg

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/800...0/202/c325.jpg


He said the outer shroud is 38mm and a h100 is 27 mm that gap on both sides is 10mm all day long

21-01-2014, 16:40:45

litchu

21-01-2014, 16:49:31

MrWizard
Yes the H100i also has a thicker shroud than the H100 but the CORE and TANKS is still the same thickness this is also the case with the H105. All they did was make the shroud bigger.. Just look at the pic's

21-01-2014, 19:26:31

NeverBackDown
The core is bigger.. hence the better temperatures. Same pump but different aesthetic iirc as well.

21-01-2014, 20:11:39

MrWizard
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
The core is bigger.. hence the better temperatures. Same pump but different aesthetic iirc as well.
Then explain the gap on both sides of the core on the 105.. look at the gap.
Do the math it's the same core. It's just made to look bigger

22-01-2014, 00:15:52

cmasupra
This sounds like something Tom could figure out in a few minutes since he has both the H100i and H105 (unless he had to return the H105). Hopefully he does figure out the thicknesses of the fins in both radiators.

Just to mention it, there is a chance that Corsair decided the fins needed to be away from the edges of the casing because of screws going into the fins and damaging them on RMA'd coolers. It might cost Corsair more to fix the screw damage on all the RMA'd coolers than it costs them to just use a thicker casing.

22-01-2014, 05:53:25

ShaunB-91
Don't know if to buy this or not. Was looking for my case review but can't find it, I'll keep searching for what space there is between the Motherboard and top of the case.

Got the H100i sat in my basket right now though, might be worth me just buying that since I've been looking at new cases so it will be safer to just get the H100i really.

27-01-2014, 23:12:10

jackjack
38mm thick rad for AIO cooler..... COOL! Definitely in my buy list

05-02-2014, 06:12:08

Khills
Just splashed out on this unit. Did a quick measure and yes the shroud is 38 mill
But the Rad is not. About 6 mill in on either side. That makes it about 26 mill
Good old truth in advertising!.

05-02-2014, 06:34:23

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khills View Post
Just splashed out on this unit. Did a quick measure and yes the shroud is 38 mill
But the Rad is not. About 6 mill in on either side. That makes it about 26 mill
Good old truth in advertising!.
Was this not mentioned in Toms review video ?

05-02-2014, 07:16:46

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Was this not mentioned in Toms review video ?
Its always like that to allow for screws. The H100i is even thinner - its just people picking at stuff they dont fully understand

05-02-2014, 08:16:19

McGill2009
are they even available to buy yet? overclockers still say preorder

05-02-2014, 10:10:50

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Its always like that to allow for screws. The H100i is even thinner - its just people picking at stuff they don't fully understand
Very true, I'll stick with my H100i until I move house, Again, And then install my 360 rad and XSPC gear

09-02-2014, 07:42:55

smilertoo
The real question is how much thicker is the actual radiator in the 105 compared to the 100i.

15-03-2014, 10:41:41

ThePCEnthusiast
Just a few mm thicker. 11mm thicker if I am not mistaken.

15-03-2014, 15:47:25

kenny01924
why as corsair gone back to a h50 pump head.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.