Corsair H105 AIO Watercooler Review

Testing Results

Corsair H105 AIO Watercooler Review


Testing  

Normally with our heatsink testing we would test with our 3960X undervolted and at a selection of overclocks. This time we have heard nothing but people asking about its performance compared to the H100i so we have tested using our usual 4.6GHz specs at 1.45v so we can compare it directly to the cream of the crop in our elite test. In addition to this in the second graph we have retested (our original H100i) with the H105 fans and also a set of SP120 PE fans both sets being run at 12v and with the (FSR) Corsair fan speed reducer added.

As you can see in the graph below (now JPG for all you mobile users!) there isn't a single air cooler in this graph, even the NH-D14 does not have enough cooling potential to be featured here. So all that has made this graph so far are the AIO big players and dedicated custom watercooling kits.

Couple things to point out is in the first graph the H105 is using its standard fans and even with the fan speed reducer added and running quiet enough to please pretty much ever silence freak it still out performed the Swiftech H220 and H80i even when they were running 12v fans. It also puts up a galant effort falling just behind the 140mm fan cooled H110.
 

Corsair H105 AIO Watercooler Review  

Moving on to our H100i - H105 head to head test the first thing to point out is the H100i when run with stock fans and the FSR added failed our upper temperature limit of 80c. It did this when run on 'quiet mode' in our original test and the FSR really does slow these fans right down. What this does prove though is that the thicker H105 radiator does allow you to run slower fan speeds and yet achieve better temps than its anorexic brother - that in our eyes is a perfect combination!

Corsair H105 AIO Watercooler Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-01-2014, 11:50:48

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...092156607l.jpg

Corsair is back with a new Hydro series cooler, this time named the H105 and it comes boasting a new 38mm thick 240mm radiator

Continue Reading

21-01-2014, 12:12:16

Dicehunter
This review has me tempted I must say, Now only if Corsair came out with a 360mm version but with the control of the H100i and maybe a bit thicker, I can dream

21-01-2014, 15:49:33

MrWizard
WTF is corsair trying to pull. The core of the 105 is the same thickness as the 100 and 100i all the did was wrap the same core with a thicker mounting shroud. Look at 2:07 in the vid you can see how far away the fins are now away from the screw holes. Its the same way on both sides.

21-01-2014, 15:56:26

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWizard View Post
WTF is corsair trying to pull. The core of the 105 is the same thickness as the 100 and 100i all the did was wrap the same core with a thicker mounting shroud. Look at 2:07 in the vid you can see how far away the fins are now away from the screw holes. Its the same way on both sides.
If this is correct how does the h105 beat the H100i in temps ? Better pump ?

21-01-2014, 16:34:07

MrWizard
I cant speak on the pump. but there are a lot of contributing factors in testing rad temps, ambient temp, humidity, TIM thickness,hardware in the case.

Just look here
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/800...0/835/9xfh.jpg

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/800...0/202/jx3w.jpg

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/800...0/202/c325.jpg


He said the outer shroud is 38mm and a h100 is 27 mm that gap on both sides is 10mm all day long

21-01-2014, 16:40:45

litchu

21-01-2014, 16:49:31

MrWizard
Yes the H100i also has a thicker shroud than the H100 but the CORE and TANKS is still the same thickness this is also the case with the H105. All they did was make the shroud bigger.. Just look at the pic's

21-01-2014, 19:26:31

NeverBackDown
The core is bigger.. hence the better temperatures. Same pump but different aesthetic iirc as well.

21-01-2014, 20:11:39

MrWizard
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
The core is bigger.. hence the better temperatures. Same pump but different aesthetic iirc as well.
Then explain the gap on both sides of the core on the 105.. look at the gap.
Do the math it's the same core. It's just made to look bigger

22-01-2014, 00:15:52

cmasupra
This sounds like something Tom could figure out in a few minutes since he has both the H100i and H105 (unless he had to return the H105). Hopefully he does figure out the thicknesses of the fins in both radiators.

Just to mention it, there is a chance that Corsair decided the fins needed to be away from the edges of the casing because of screws going into the fins and damaging them on RMA'd coolers. It might cost Corsair more to fix the screw damage on all the RMA'd coolers than it costs them to just use a thicker casing.

22-01-2014, 05:53:25

ShaunB-91
Don't know if to buy this or not. Was looking for my case review but can't find it, I'll keep searching for what space there is between the Motherboard and top of the case.

Got the H100i sat in my basket right now though, might be worth me just buying that since I've been looking at new cases so it will be safer to just get the H100i really.

27-01-2014, 23:12:10

jackjack
38mm thick rad for AIO cooler..... COOL! Definitely in my buy list

05-02-2014, 06:12:08

Khills
Just splashed out on this unit. Did a quick measure and yes the shroud is 38 mill
But the Rad is not. About 6 mill in on either side. That makes it about 26 mill
Good old truth in advertising!.

05-02-2014, 06:34:23

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khills View Post
Just splashed out on this unit. Did a quick measure and yes the shroud is 38 mill
But the Rad is not. About 6 mill in on either side. That makes it about 26 mill
Good old truth in advertising!.
Was this not mentioned in Toms review video ?

05-02-2014, 07:16:46

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Was this not mentioned in Toms review video ?
Its always like that to allow for screws. The H100i is even thinner - its just people picking at stuff they dont fully understand

05-02-2014, 08:16:19

McGill2009
are they even available to buy yet? overclockers still say preorder

05-02-2014, 10:10:50

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Its always like that to allow for screws. The H100i is even thinner - its just people picking at stuff they don't fully understand
Very true, I'll stick with my H100i until I move house, Again, And then install my 360 rad and XSPC gear

09-02-2014, 07:42:55

smilertoo
The real question is how much thicker is the actual radiator in the 105 compared to the 100i.

15-03-2014, 10:41:41

ThePCEnthusiast
Just a few mm thicker. 11mm thicker if I am not mistaken.

15-03-2014, 15:47:25

kenny01924
why as corsair gone back to a h50 pump head.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.