Corsair H100 Review

Corsair H100 Review

 Corsair H100 Review  

Introduction

So we finally have the Corsair H100 in the OC3D labs. You all know it's the range topper in the Hydro series and you really don't need us to waffle on with needless introductions. Mainly because we have been inundated with requests to test the H100 since pictures were first leaked a few months back. So lets not waste time and get straight on with the specifications and testing. 

Specifications

Radiator Dimensions

122mm x 275mm x 27mm

Fan Dimensions

120mm x 120mm x 25mm

Fan Speed

(+/- 10%): up to 1300 RPM (Low Noise), 2000 RPM (Balanced), and 2500 RPM (High Performance)

Fan Airflow

46 - 92 CFM

Fan dBA

22 - 39

Fan Static Pressure

1.6 - 7.7mm/H20


Package Contents

  • Corsair Cooling H100 CPU Cooler
  • Two 120mm fans
  • Multi-platform mounting kit (Intel ® LGA 1366, 1155, 1156, and 775, AMD®  AM2/AM3)
  • Thermal compound (pre-applied)
  • Quick Start Guide

Testing

Test Setup

Gigabyte UD3R V2
Intel i7 950 @ 4GHz 1.25v
Mushkin Radioactive 2000MHz
HIS 6850
Corsair Carbide 400R
Corsair AX750w

Testing

For the first test we set our i7-950 overclocked to 200x20 @ 1.25v for a clock speed of 4.0GHz. We allow the system to idle for 10 minutes and then run Prime95 'maximum heat maximum stress' setting for a further 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes we note the temperatures of all cores and the ambient temperature of the room. An average of all cores is taken, then the ambient temperature is removed from this figure and this gives us the delta temperature. Delta is the temperature difference above ambient which is a truer reflection of the heat-sink performance rather than mere maximum figures. Testing in an Igloo or the Sahara would give vastly different maximum temperatures, yet the Delta could be the same.

 

The second test follows all steps from above but with a 200x21 @ 1.35v for 4.2GHz overclock, the extra voltage in this test allows us to see if the heat-sink can cope when extreme loads and overclocks are applied. 

 

Moving on to the 4.4GHz tests which we run at 200x22 with a 1.45v Vcore. The reason why there are not many results in these  graphs is because these are the ONLY coolers we have tested that have passed this hardcore test.


 

Video Review




Conclusion

So you've seen the graphs, possibly watched the video and are bound to have noticed a Gold Award at the bottom of the page. "You best explain this and fast" I'm hearing you say in your strictest voice, thanks for not using the motherly one because we are all out of cougar jokes this week.

Fitting the H100 is easy, if you are capable of fitting any other CPU cooler then you are capable of fitting this. All you need to consider is where and how you are going to fit the radiator. An easy and very loose guide would be you'll need 50mm of room above the top of your motherboard is fitted. There is obviously too many variables to go beyond this.

The tests we carried out with the adjuster on the main body of the pump at both minimum and maximum levels to test the difference between the two in both temperatures and noise levels. I am happy to report that in my eyes the option of having this Jekyll and Hyde option for a Corsair unit is brilliant. Before you had to set fan profiles or use fan speed controllers because, let's face it, the fans Corsair supply are far from quiet at 12v. The simplicity of just being able to press that button is brilliant. Another positive note is even if you have the dial all lit up and everything set to max when the system is at idle of low temperatures the unit will still slow the fan speeds down with them only ramping up once the temperatures start to rise.

So when testing at 4GHz the H100 was just over 2c warmer than the NH-D14, that was the only test it lost though. I say that in honest shock and I did retest  each one several times to make 100% certain. So yes as the graphs suggest when running the H100 at maximum in both the 4.2GHz and 4.4GHz the H100 was cooler than the NH-D14 and only beaten by full on watercooling kits. The trade off of these temperatures is some quite high noise levels, indeed it's far from silent. There's no taking away from the fact when testing the H100 does sit quite nicely between the air coolers and "proper" watercooling kits. 

The fact you can still turn the H100 down easily is in my eyes its trump card, because its roughly a 4-6c increase but with a massive reduction in noise. So you can set your system up with some hefty over-volts and overclocks for 24/7 and still be able to keep things cool and quiet but with a flick of a switch you can unleash the full cooling power for those silly bench runs and even higher over volts that you would not want to be running 24/7.

So the recap is yes on max the H100 is still noisy like ALL of the Hydro series has been. The clever thing is though is that the fans can easily be set to spin much slower without temperatures rocketing. At around £90 the price does sting a bit, also unless you buy a Corsair case you may find this difficult to fit so its far from perfect. Taking everything into account though I think the H100 deserves the OC3D gold award and I'll openly admit this is the only Hydro I would actually recommend people buy. I just hope Corsair keep working on this range because they are definitely heading in the right direction now.

      

Thanks to Corsair for the H100 we tested today, you can discuss the results in our forums.  

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-08-2011, 05:15:36

tinytomlogan
With an ever expanding range of products its time for the range topping H100 cooler to go through the OC3D torture tests.



Continue Reading

12-08-2011, 05:16:58

sheroo
Been looking forward to this one.

12-08-2011, 05:22:36

SieB
Better than expected but I personally still wouldn't buy one.

12-08-2011, 06:51:14

Zeals
Pre-made watercooling beating the Noctua? The price of bacon better not sky rocket when the pigs escape from their pens.

On a side note, can't wait until you review the Corsair 400R and maybe the 500R later on

12-08-2011, 07:01:37

SieJoe
Is it me or does it just look cheap?!

You could change the fans for push/pull arrangement but more adding additional cost to an already expensive product!

12-08-2011, 07:29:48

badtaylorx
im kinda surprised they went this far with the H series.......nice product tho

12-08-2011, 08:20:38

trazomfr
Very interesting test again. I have some questions:

-Is it possible or even advisable to buy 4 other fans best to mount this type of cooler in a push / pull? Do you think the gain in temperature is interesting?

-Do you think the inverted mounting fans (fresh air which enters the case) can be a good option without this increase over the temperature of other components of the PC?

-Do you think the fans are good or should it consider replacing them for better?

Thank you.

12-08-2011, 08:51:00

Natashaful
I love you.

12-08-2011, 08:51:40

Natashaful
Ups i didn't mean to type that, Love the review, Tell it like it is, Wonder what this H100 can do with Gt AP-15's ?

12-08-2011, 09:11:21

hmmblah
Unbelievable. If this wasn't a review from Tom, I'd call BS.

12-08-2011, 09:18:26

nothingspecial
The two big problems for me are the fans and the price.

Firstly, the fans. Yes, not quiet, but they're shifting 92CFM on full! Even with aftermarket fans you're going to struggle to push that through without Scythe Slip Streams, which still put out 35dBA+ anyway. In fact, to get below the magic 20dBA mark you're going to have to go Noctua NF-S12B FLX, which firstly only push 59.2CFM, and secondly are around 20 each.

Which brings me to the price. 90. First thing people will say, and Tom pointed out in the vid, is "That's 25 more than the D14". Factor that in, plus a pair of Noctuas to make it anywhere near livable with, and you're looking at 130. Exactly the price of the XSPC Rasa 240 kit on Specialtech, which will give much better temps than a heatsink or an all-in-one unit every day of the week.

Still, never a bad thing to have the option there. For me, and for the above reasons, I'd go with a solid silver.

(Before anyone starts, I completely understand Tom giving it gold, as it heavily outweighed his expectations. And I think it's fair to say the expectations of many of us)

12-08-2011, 10:13:10

sheroo
I remember watching your review of the H70, and you could tell he thought it was crap - just by the way he was handling it - like a fake antique someones given you that they bought from a car boot - in fact at one point I remember it nearly fell off the table.

I'm totally amazed that TTL likes this - but then not having preconceived ideas going in and giving everything a fair whack (apart from ThermalTake obviously) is what I love about your reviews.

For me it needs to be thicker and have less dense fins so that it can be super quiet... Nice review - I think they'll sell like hot cakes...

12-08-2011, 10:39:42

marsey99
Quote:
Originally Posted by nothingspecial View Post

Which brings me to the price. 90. First thing people will say, and Tom pointed out in the vid, is "That's 25 more than the D14". Factor that in, plus a pair of Noctuas to make it anywhere near livable with, and you're looking at 130. Exactly the price of the XSPC Rasa 240 kit on Specialtech, which will give much better temps than a heatsink or an all-in-one unit every day of the week.
i know what you mean dude but i have one big point, well its mhaaaasiiive for some people, ease of use. this is as easy to install as anything while the rasa 240 aint for everybody and for those people that can be worth the cost.

love your reaction ttl

12-08-2011, 11:45:04

steve30x
This puts my H50 to show. I see many people saying , but a full WaterCooling kit would be better. Well I had a full watercooling kit before and I wont go there again in a hurry.

At least with the H100 you install the kit and your done , but with watercooling you have the task of leak testing and an hour or two of installation. Then there is the added cost of cooling fluid etc each time you need to clean the loop and the extra work every six to twelve months of cleaning out the loop.

The only thing you need to do with the H100 is take the rad off the case every once in a while to clean it from dust.

I will sure as hell upgrade to the H100 when I am replacing my CPU and motherboard.

12-08-2011, 13:39:34

DT-525
Nice product from corsair. Was think about putting one of these in my Christmas rig but ill pass for now. The one major problem with this H100 is the thickness. All corsair needed to do is make the rad 5mm thicker. As for the fans they are a bit disappointing, sure they move s**t loads of air on full but the noise would drive me mad.

I would get one if it was a bit cheaper but 90

12-08-2011, 13:40:55

Natashaful
If you set your custom loop up right you can remove the mother board without draining the loop and the CPU, Just like the H100.. Just saying.. Removeable motherboard trays, Best thing ever.

12-08-2011, 14:07:38

S_I_N
ok, so now, how to figure out how to wc a D-14 and we have it beat This makes me wonder lol if it'll hang with helping me go for the gold with my 2600K lol

12-08-2011, 14:43:10

sheroo
Here's the Corsair demo vid of the "Corsair Link Cooling Kit". You can set it up so that the fans speeds change depending on the temps, but you can also control leds. So if the temps go up you can change the colour of your rig from say blue to red - now that is cool.

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5auv8UvYn0&feature=player_embedded[/media]

I wonder if they will produce a range of fans that can change colour?

12-08-2011, 14:56:31

kilobravo
H100 with akasa viper or high rpm scythe gentle typhoons,5-10 db less noise These are audible fans,but not as noisy as stock fans.

If i were to add other fans,the xspc rs360 kit is within 30.

But corsair is going right direction with the H100.

12-08-2011, 15:33:28

Critical
Rofl this pic really says it all....

http://i2.sqi.sh/s_3/9KL/l_tomsface.jpg

first the jaw dropped, then the eyebrow raised and then it dawned lol. You looked trully shocked Tom.

12-08-2011, 15:47:39

sheroo
^^^^ Nice one.

12-08-2011, 16:34:15

badtaylorx
what im waiting for personally is for corsair to start spitting out "one size fits many" gpu coolers in this style......when that happens sign me up

12-08-2011, 16:48:11

Ya93sin
Hmm, I'm not sure I'd buy this, though the performance does look good, the fan noise would turn me off, and to get decent replacements is going to make the price look obscene.

But then I do value quietness

12-08-2011, 17:11:02

yassarikhan786
This would be a good solution for a noob like me. But the Hyper 212+ is enough for me as I'm not going to overclock my CPU over 4.5GHz.

12-08-2011, 18:52:36

sheroo
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post

what im waiting for personally is for corsair to start spitting out "one size fits many" gpu coolers in this style......when that happens sign me up
Coolit, who are one of Corsairs partners, and I think make most of the "H" series range for them already have...

http://www.coolitsystems.com/index.php/omni.html

13-08-2011, 04:54:27

SamVdB
I have my H70 outfitted with 2 Coolermaster SickleFlow fans, it reduced noiselevels and increased performance and I'm realy happy with this setup. I wonder what this H100 could do with 2 better fans or maybe even 4

13-08-2011, 11:12:00

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheroo View Post

Coolit, who are one of Corsairs partners, and I think make most of the "H" series range for them already have...

http://www.coolitsystems.com/index.php/omni.html
Coolit make the H60, H80 and H100. The H50 and H70 were made by Antec I believe.

How did the fan manufacturer manage to squeeze 7.7mm/H2O of static pressure? Noctua NF-P12 120mm Fan only give out 1.68 and they were designed with static pressure in mind!

13-08-2011, 12:58:45

mayhem
ops

13-08-2011, 12:59:26

mayhem
They should ship that with a external fan controller as standard not as a addon on. A small bracket with a button would be better than having it on the top of the cpu block. how many people gonna keep opening up there case to get dust in just to change the fan speed. I thought that would have make is a silver not a gold award.

Good idea, good product , bad execution of the fan controller ...

13-08-2011, 14:41:01

AxJaWz
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem View Post

They should ship that with a external fan controller as standard not as a addon on. A small bracket with a button would be better than having it on the top of the cpu block. how many people gonna keep opening up there case to get dust in just to change the fan speed. I thought that would have make is a silver not a gold award.

Good idea, good product , bad execution of the fan controller ...
Yeah I would prefer to have a fan controller as well. Too noisy the fans at full whack.

13-08-2011, 16:12:35

Sp33d Junki3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Coolit make the H60, H80 and H100. The H50 and H70 were made by Antec I believe.

How did the fan manufacturer manage to squeeze 7.7mm/H2O of static pressure? Noctua NF-P12 120mm Fan only give out 1.68 and they were designed with static pressure in mind!
The H50/H70 are made by Asetek. Which now make the Antec Khuler 620/920. Also they are coming out with there own 240mm rad setup to go against the H100. One of the biggest difference is that will come with software, 1.5" rad vs H100 1" and four 120mm fans.

So I'm waiting for that one to see how well it beats out the H100.

14-08-2011, 04:28:09

Casmund
I would be interested to see the results with 4 fans in a push/pull configuration on the H100. I picked up a H80 last week when I did some upgrades to my system (wasn't ready to rebuild my custom loop) and I was suprised that after running Prime for a few hours on the medium setting on a I7 960 @ 4GHZ (25x160) 1.325 core Voltage at an ambient temp of approx. 25C the average temp was around 69-71C range. This was with a push/pull with stock corsair fans bringing air in from the front of the case. It is reasonably quiet on the medium setting also when running prime or playing games Like LOTRO and Star Trek Online, have not tried it with a shooter or car/plane sim yet.

14-08-2011, 07:04:11

UkGouki
i would only get this with push pull fans on it then it would not sit so nicely at the top of a corsair case it would fit nicely into a haf x though.

i saw another review using 4 quiet fans in push pull and the temps dropped even more a good -4 to 6c at full load using 1.35v at 4.5ghz on a core i7950 the user highly reccomended it but did comment on the fins being bent as the supplied screws were slightly too long corsair aparently have fixed this issue.

he did state that the 4 fans he bought cost him a further 80 uk 20 each for highflow 17db at 12v and it would of worked out cheaper to get a full water kit.

14-08-2011, 07:07:44

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by UkGouki View Post

i would only get this with push pull fans on it then it would not sit so nicely at the top of a corsair case it would fit nicely into a haf x though.

i saw another review using 4 quiet fans in push pull and the temps dropped even more a good -4 to 6c at full load using 1.35v at 4.5ghz on a core i7950 the user highly reccomended it but did comment on the fins being bent as the supplied screws were slightly too long corsair aparently have fixed this issue.

he did state that the 4 fans he bought cost him a further 80 uk 20 each for highflow 17db at 12v and it would of worked out cheaper to get a full water kit.
Was it this guy? I just posted this vid in a thread about the fans he was using but I might as well post it here as well seen as it's relevant.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BbH1mhZWRn8&feature=player_embedded

14-08-2011, 07:47:49

Casmund
Those are neat looking fans Orange ..that would go good with a Gigabyte X58A-OC build

14-08-2011, 08:32:41

jonowee
I guess there will be no more complaining about the price of the NH-D14 right?

14-08-2011, 19:52:47

UkGouki
@ sieb yes that was the video review i was on about he shows you the fins being bent cause the supplied screws were too long.. linus also commented on it before with corsair at least there warrenty is really good...

14-08-2011, 20:17:08

clonazepam
Excellent review. I bought into the closed loop system with the H50. With 2 aftermarket rosewill fans it works quite nicely on the Q6600, 3.6ghz, 1.45 volts, about a 45 degree delta. I have been curious for some time how the H100 would stack up. Now I know; thanks.

Maybe they'll figure out there might be more value in a thicker radiator that has some sort of "quick disconnect" feature so people can mount the radiator on the outside. If they can't do it cheaply for $100 US or less, its probably pointless though.

14-08-2011, 20:35:55

clonazepam
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post

what im waiting for personally is for corsair to start spitting out "one size fits many" gpu coolers in this style......when that happens sign me up
PNY's got a closed loop cooling system on their gtx 580s. It's a 120mm job. I personally wouldn't even consider it b/c you run into the problem of "wtf do I mount this shit?" - especially if you did sli hehe

I haven't seen it for sale anywhere except bestbuy.com but its been atleast a week since I looked around for it... purely out of curiosity.

23-08-2011, 09:20:09

Tenu
Quote:
Originally Posted by clonazepam View Post

PNY's got a closed loop cooling system on their gtx 580s. It's a 120mm job. I personally wouldn't even consider it b/c you run into the problem of "wtf do I mount this shit?" - especially if you did sli hehe

I haven't seen it for sale anywhere except bestbuy.com but its been atleast a week since I looked around for it... purely out of curiosity.
Personally I wouldn't use one of the enclosed systems for GPU, especially if you were going to use one for the CPU aswell. By the time you've bought both of those, you might aswell have invested in a decent watercooling setup.

And yeah, I agree with your concerns about mounting, I imagine it'd have to go on the rear exhaust mount, and the CPU Rad would have to go in the roof. It'd make a case messy.....
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.